petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy

VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy

Tuff Scale of 7 = a really tough toy but still vulnerableSoft edges won't hurt gumsFloats for added funGreat for interactive play with one or multiple dogsMachine washable for longstanding use
Average Customer Rating:
2.417 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
13
9 out of 24(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Review 1 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for active senior dogs

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Vegas
My 2 dogs, an 11 year old Aussie mix and a 7 year GSP love this toy. I took them to petco and they picked it out for themselves. It's survived all its been put through, which is a lot.
I had low expectations, i was expecting it to last less than a week but it's still kickin' about 3 months later with hard daily use. My dogs are really old, but they managed to destroy every toy I've gotten them so far except for this one. (including strong solid rubber balls). I was worried it would be too hard on their gums but it doesn't seem to bother them.
Not sure how it would do with younger, stronger breeds though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tuffy?

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My year old shepherd mix (65lbs) tore off 3 fins, and ripped a hole in its back to reach the stuffing all within 2 hours...
Had it not been for the $15 price tag, I would not have sewed it up with fishing wire.
Will not buy anything from this brand again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good looking toy

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Silverton, OR
My cute 10 month old bully has destroyed two of these. Each one took only a week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in durability

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Albany, NY
My Dog is a 9 month old boxer. This Toy seemed to be so durable yet my dog got the nose opened down to the cotton and pulling it out after only playing for 5-10minutes. I paid $15.99 for it in the store so was very disappointed. Maybe they are better for a smaller dog. I guess this brand just isn't for him!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's a 7 and started unraveling in a week

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
I've always purchased 9 and 10 rated Tuffy toys before and I love them. They last me several years and I have 2 tuff chewers. The shark was rated a 7. It looked and felt sturdy, but for some reason both dogs took offense at the shark teeth and within a week they teeth had been chewed down to nubs and the thread and the protective webbing around the mouth have been chewed up and are unraveling.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Destroyed

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
My 8 month pitbull destroyed this n under 10 mins :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great chew toy

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cheyenne, Wy
Dogs love it, tail is chewed quick, but nothing lasts forever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for a weim

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ME
My 11 month old Weimaraner had it destroyed within 12 hours and 6 of them he was asleep. Maybe good for smaller dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NOT for dogs who are destroyers!

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WI
This and their similar products are great for chewers and dogs who enjoy "playing" with their toys. We have a Saint. Bernard who after almost a year finally picked his apart enough and got bored enough while we where out to destuff/squeeker this toy. He absolutely loved this toy! Its a great size for L/XL breeds and for the $ well worth it... i've had toys 2/3x this cost not last so long. Its not indestructable... But its a great toy for redirecting chewers! Kept our kids toys very safe! I would not give this toy to a "Destroyer" but a dog that likes to chew the kids toys everytime your back is turned? Absolutely! He will be getting a basket for Xmas including this toy again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great toy with one flaw

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
My 19 week Old English Sheepdog loves this toy as he does all the Tuffy brand toys. And this one certainly stands up to his chewing and throwing around. However, the lining within the mouth of the shark was easily torn apart - it was a good thing it was threads and not a fabric. But I would still recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from riverside ca
My 4month old Siberian Husky destroyed this toy in 5 days. If you want a toy that's gona last a few days then your looking at the right toy for your dog
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharktastic!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
My dogs love this shark. It has held up very well. They are often playing tug with it and we have not had one issue with it coming apart so far. This toy has held up much longer than others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with the Tuffy Shark Dog Toy

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Rochelle, NY
Honestly, to my surprise, this Tuffy Shark dog toy has survived my 3-year old 75 lb. English Shepherd's jaws! As a matter of fact it is her favorite toy and she carries it around like she was transporting a puppy. Yes, she bites on it, but without force. Not a stitch has been broken and she has had this for 3 months. Has she destroyed other 'tough' toys in the past? Absolutely! What's different about this? I don't know. Maybe she has grown past the puppy destructive chew stage. As a toss and retrieve toy, this Tuffy Shark is a winner for us! I'm going to order two more to leave in places we visit often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted 5 minutes

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans, LA
This toy lasted 5 minutes before it was destroyed. Seams chewed off. Stuffing pulled out of the head. Why didn't I read the reviews first?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Edwardsville, Il
Lasted less than an hour and our pup was only about 8 months old.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

get another toy

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from nj
I gave the toy to my beagle . In 90 seconds he had chewed the mouth part and had pulled a lot of the stuffing out. I would recommend getting a rated 10 toy instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, Co
This toy is the only toy we have found that my dog can not destroy in the first 5 min. She loves to play and chew on it for weeks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not "tuff" or anything even close to "tuff"

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, TN
Waste of money. If your product can be destroyed, in 2 play sessions, by a 5 month old, 20lb puppy, it should be illegal to call it "tuff." They put a picture of a Rottweiler holding it and I, like an idiot, assume its gonna be as advertised. It wasn't. Bought it yesterday, today, it doesn't at all resemble a shark. BOOOOO.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT A CHEW TOY

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Helena, MT
Manufacturer obviously doesn't understand that chewing is playing for dogs. Three minutes and the jaw and fins were pulled off and there was a pile of stuffing on my floor. This thing is too stiff to just be a light play toy for your fifteen year old dog who doesn't chew or play anymore. I am not sure what this thing is good for but parting people from their money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for VIP Products Tuffy's Shark Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not bad!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma, WA
My Leonberger puppy chews and chews and chews. These seemed really durable, so we picked him up the shark and he LOVES it! He has been able to get his teeth in the mouth to rip at the material they use to cover the jaw, but can't get into the main body or pull out the stitches. We'll see how long it lasts for him, but I'm very satisfied so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>