petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Extra tall dog gate is right for big or jumping dogsTough chew-proof metal constructionExpands for extra wide spacesFeatures an easy-to-use small pet doorQuick and easy pressure mounting systemConvenient one-touch metal walk through dog gate
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
30 out of 42(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

gate door is small

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
I like this gate, but door needs to be bigger . :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works great

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Halethorpe, MD
Love how versatile it is. Works very well and love the little door on it. Very happy with this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Up and Sturdy

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne FL
We installed this gate in a couple of minutes to keep the dogs out of the laundry room where we feed the cat. My cat does not need the little cat door because she can fit between the wall and the first slat of the gate. I like that the gate latches securely, and adjustments in tension are easy to make. My bigger dog would open a gate that gave way without the easy-to-use (for people) latch. If you need a gate with a little height because you have a dog who looks at shorter gates as toy hurdles, this gate is a good choice. We did not need the expansion sections that come with the gate, and buyers should pay attention to the directions if they plan to use the extensions or put the gate near stairs--there is an extra safety step to take in the installation. Excellent price for a metal gate of this quality. Very happy with our purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for keepimg the cats in or out of rooms

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from STL Metro Area - Illinois
We have 5 cats. One is a Tomcat that spends most his time outside. When he comes into the kitchen to get fed we have to keep the indoor only cats away from him. This is our 2nd gate, for the downstairs (Timeouts for disruptive indiviuals). Highly reccomend these type of gates for these reasons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gate no worth it

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Indy
We installed this gate a few weeks ago. It has been nothing put trouble. Nothing with manufacturing durability, but it shrinks the size of your door in half or more than half. Adults and some kids have trouble squeezing through the door opening when the gate is open. We thought when you open the gate for a person it would be the width of the door and are sadly mistaken.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent gate for the price.

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester N.Y.
It contains my 70lb puppy. Need I say more? Only negative is I had to adjust tension to allow gate to open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oak Forest, Il.
We got this to supposedly keep my cat in a "safe" place when we introduced a new dog. What it did do, was keep the dog from being able to access that area of the house on his own. The cat was not blocked, as we had hoped, as she was able to work around it. But, it did it's job and the cat did have a safe place while meeting and getting used to the dog. Worked very easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE PRODUCT

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg PA
The gate doesn't swing in both directions and is hard to pull closed. I can't open it with one hand and have to put down whatever is in my hands and use both hands and it still hurts. I got it to keep my schnauzers separate from a stray cat I took in and thought the cat door meant it would be good for that. The cat walks right through the bars so between that and being so hard to open, it's useless. I'm taking it back and figuring out something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly easy, difficult latch

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mississippi
Easy to install, after letting go of the vague instructions. The latch isn't like one I've seen on this product before and requires pressure to open using stiff buttons. Hard on arthritic hands.
Older version was much easier, simpler to open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gate needs to be bolted to wall

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Troutdale Or
My german shepherd puppy knocked down the gate, so the only way it will work is if it is bolted to the wall. The screws that come with it are to short.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hard to operate handle

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NH
Product was easy to install, very tall as anticipated, and is sturdy and stays in place. However the handle is very hard to operate. I thought it would get better as it was used more but it's been a couple weeks and it requires using two hands to open -- one to push the button in and the other to slide the piece back. I would have spent a bit more on an easier one because we use it constantly. If it's in a place that doesn't need much opening and closing often it would probably be ok.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this dog gate!

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cypress,CA
I have a 4 month old lab / beagle mix puppy who has seen me climb over her previous 32 inch pet gate. She is very smart and figured out how to get over it herself, with her head cone on one week post being spayed. Alarm company calling me at work as all motions inside house being set off ( did not realize she was part monkey when I adopted her). Love this 41 inch gate with the door! Set up was so simple, extensions for width work great with no give in the gates support. I highly recommend this gate!!! I've been using this gate for a week now and know my beautiful and smart puppy will not be able to climb or jump this gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love it!

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
We had been struggling to find a way to keep our dog from getting into the cat litter box. The box is in a bathroom.
We tried a door stop and weights but even those didn't keep the dog out. And if one needed to use the bathroom, they first had to move everything out of the way or use a bathroom on another floor of the house.
The tall gate with small pet door is ideal. It was easy to install and the cats took to it right away. No more dog eating cat pooh or cats accidentally getting locked out of their room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brodheadsville, PA
I purchased three of these gates and we all just love them!! Our dogs adapted to them immediately, since they are just the right size and height. They were so easy to install the same day we received them!! Also, the two additional extensions per gate were very handy to add onto their width. Thank you for providing us with a wonderful product for us to have in our home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly constructed

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Staten Island, NY
I purchased the Extra Tall expandable gate for my puppy, who is a very high jumper! Unfortunately the tension gate left the sides wide open and my dog just slipped out. I don't understand how Carlson makes a tension gate with that much gap on the sides. It definitely defeated the purpose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good choice

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
We are very happy with this fence, our dog can be outside his crate when we are out of home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montgomery, AL
Works great for me and my dog is a 50lb pitt bull. It was easy to assemble and it isn't an eye sore in the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NYC
This gate is not just for big dogs. It is the perfect height for our jumping dachshund. It looks classy in our NYC apt entry vestibule. The little cat door is cute too! It's easy to install but the instructions make it seem complicated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product was perfect

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from san jose, ca
This product was perfect for our needs. We have 2 dogs and 3 cats. We needed a gate that is easy to enter and exit for the humans but will keep dogs and cats separated. This gate is high enough that neither our dogs nor our cats can jump it but we can pass through easily. Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not so happy

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from IL
I am having trouble getting the top of the gate tight enough so the dogs do not knock it over; but yet loose enough to be able to latch it closed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>