petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Extra tall dog gate is right for big or jumping dogsTough chew-proof metal constructionExpands for extra wide spacesFeatures an easy-to-use small pet doorQuick and easy pressure mounting systemConvenient one-touch metal walk through dog gate
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well, easy setup

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChickenGirl
from Kaufman, TX
The title says it all. Sets up easily. It takes a little bit of adjusting to get the walk-through to swing easily (the instructions say not to overtighten the top screws to prevent this). None of the dogs have even attempted to clear this tall gate, and the cats go through the little door without hesitation. Exactly what I needed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gate, but won't stop a motivated dog

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
FranksmomMN
from Minnesota
This gate exceeded our expectations. Was easy to install and we liked the optional wall mounts (screw in for added stability) if you use it at its widest settings. The width extenders are nice. Height is great. Child proof latch means you will always need two hands to go through (bummer if you are carrying groceries or a bag). Gate opening is fairly narrow. The smaller kitty door was still big enough for our puppy to wriggle through, and he even figured out how to pull the release with his mouth and open the door that way.
Soooo, bottom line is that the gate works well and is built well, but if you have a motivated pet, it won't hold them back. Our 4 1/2 month old 32 pound lab mix went through the kitty door until he grew bigger. Then, he began jumping up on the gate. I was surprised the gate held securely. So well, in fact, that our pup was able to do a pull up, hoist himself up to the top (41") (like a pull-up) and tumble over. Within a week he was clearing the gate no problem.
We haven't had a dog with separation anxiety like this before. The gate works just like it should, but we've concluded that there isn't much an owner can do to keep a seriously motivated pet from getting over or around any hall or doorway gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gate

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grandbingo
from Burkburnett Texas
Our Son bought us the same Pet Gate that we purchased from your company. We like it so much we were thinking of getting another like it for our back door, to get a 'breeze' through the house in the summer. When I opened my email with the gate about $20 off the regular price. I immediately ordered it!! Thank you for having it on sale!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Dog Gate

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
SMT4013
Do NOT recommend for large bread dog. My dog has broken through this gate 3 times and destroyed my front door!
Serenely, VERY UNHAPPY CUSTOMER!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karneychick
from Dallas, TX
Really like the height on this, however it pops off the door fairly easily. One of my cats uses his paw and pulls it out from the bottom. So I could just imagine what a big dog could do. Overall could be better. Just fair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gate

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
sdmimzy
from Virginia
I bought this gate to keep my medium sized, jumpy dalmatian out of the upstairs when I'm not up there but to allow my cat free reign of the upstairs, and it works for the most part. Although to my surprise, she is so small she can squeeze through the small pet door... which kind of defeats the purpose. Now I just keep it closed when I'm home and just open and close for my cat and leave it open when I'm gone and the dog is crated. It is tall enough that she can't jump over it, which says a lot considering she can clear three feet on a jump.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Baby Gate

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
kpappas53
from Las Vegas, Nevada
I actually do not have a dog, but I do have a baby grandson and cats. I looked everywhere for a baby gate with a pet door but could not find one, until I found this dog gate with the cat door. Works perfectly. My only issue is that I wish the opening for people could be wider.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gate. Works for my x-lg dog

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pyreneesmomma
from Los Angeles, CA
We adopted a 11 month old Great Pyrenees (90+ pounds) and needed to keep him out of the living room for now. We bought two gates and they are great. If him jumps up on them they don't budge! They are easy enough to latch and unlatch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth the Money

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
nikichik76
from Ohio
I have a year and a half old Chocolate Lab and purchased this gate in late November in an attempt to keep him out of trouble when he was on his own. Two months later and I'm ready to throw it out. It is impossible to get the tension tight enough to keep the gate up without making it so tight that the door won't open. My lab has knocked it down several times, breaking the wall mounts that came with it. Definitely disappointed in this waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
WestPointma
from Altoona, Pa
Sturdy, easy to install, a great buy for the money and it looks nice too!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for us

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Axil
from Boston, MA
We have 7 cats and three dogs and gates all over the place to keep the dogs from getting to the cat food and cat waste. None of our previous gates have lasted. This gate is finally a solution. I would recommend this product. We plan on ordering another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MagCaro
from Stillwater,OK
I have 2 dogs that love to jump and push on previous gates. and sometimes even jump over previous gates. I have hd this gate for a couple of weeks now and they are yet to do so. the way it is set up to be secure works great and the fact that it is really tall they can hardly get their paws to the top. I would recommend this gate for others who have high jumpers or strong dogs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good gate didn't fit my needs

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MomofMac
from Arlington, TX
The gate is well built and easy to install. Sadly I had to return mine since my little 6.5 pound jumper/climber could squeeze through the bars at one place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

rods broke

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
tdd3
rods are not welded together very well they break off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatWrangler
from Fuquay-Varina, NC
We purchased this gate recently to separate two housecats who do not always get along well. It required only minimal assembly and works as advertised. It is easy to open even with only one hand free while carrying something. We would not hesitate to recommend this product to anyone who has a similar need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lilcrittert
from Yulee, FL
The product includes a 6" and 12" expansion but not the 4". The 4" has to be ordered online with no guarantee it will fit. I returned the gate to the store and bought another brand which has better construction for the same price. Very disappointed with the Carlson product....big waste of my time, effort, and gasoline driving it back to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.