petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Extra tall dog gate is right for big or jumping dogsTough chew-proof metal constructionExpands for extra wide spacesFeatures an easy-to-use small pet doorQuick and easy pressure mounting systemConvenient one-touch metal walk through dog gate
Average Customer Rating:
3.736 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
9
40 out of 53(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Midland, Texas
This product worked well for my house. It is tall enough to keep my GS in the designated area I wanted her to stay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Carlson Pet products extra tall gate

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Prosper, TEXAS
LOVE LOVE LOVE this gate. Just what I needed. My brother is about to order one for his home as well. Thanks Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely functional

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
I have two dogs and two cats, and I wanted to separate the area designated for the cats from the dogs (to keep the dogs out of the cat food and litter box). The area I have designated for the cats is the laundry room, and before we had a baby gate that we had to step over or wrestle up and down - which was very inconvenient. Plus, occasionally, the two dogs (which are Siberian Huskies) jumped the gate. This gate solved all those problems, it is too tall to jump and has a small door for the cat. It was very easy to install, and instead of taking it up and down or trying to step over it, it has a little latch. My only complaint is that the latch occasionally sticks, but not badly.
The baby gate has since been given to a friend who has actually has a baby.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

some good features

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from seattle
This gate fit our large hallway opening and the small cat
door works fine. The walk-through door lever required two hands to open. My husband adjusted the tension on the lever according to the instructions and it works easier now. Not bad looking for a pet gate. Keeps our standard doodle sequestered and gives the cat an escape hatch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
Sadly disappointed. This gate is identical to another one we purchased except for the closing latch. Our previous one has a lift latch, this one has a slide latch that you need to press a button to operate. The slide parts are so tight it took two hands and a lot of frustration trying to get it to open. We returned it thinking it might be defective, but the next gate we purchased with the same latch was the same way. We need the small gate at the bottom, so we're still looking for something that meets our specific needs. The lift up latch previously used is easy to operate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product great. Nice tall. Love cat door. Definitely need. Easily open.

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Commerce twp MI
Great product. Ordered two ! Very handy. Love expansions. And cat door Recommend to all nice height
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Amarillo, TX, United States
This gate has worked great so far. My cat can get through the small door and our puppy cannot climb the gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for our needs

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Akron, Ohio
We have a new cat which has not become acquainted with our dog yet. We bought this gate to keep them apart and it has worked fine for this purpose. It has a cat door that we may want to use in the future so it was a factor in choosing this gate. The gate was easy to put up and seems to be sturdy enough to last for quite a while. The only feature that I think could be improved is the latch. It does not open easily. You have to push buttons on both sides of the latch and slide it back to open the door in the gate. I sprayed WD40 into it from the end and it seems to have helped a little bit but it's still not smooth. I guess that's just how it's going to be. Overall. it seems to be a good gate and I would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gate!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
We have a very large Pyrenean Mastiff puppy who is now seven months old. Our two cats have not completely warmed up to her yet, though they are acclimating. This gate is perfect for them to come and go as they please and allows them a litterbox/food area that is off limits to our pup, Willhamina. The handle was a little tough at first to open and close, but after loosening the tension of the wall grip, it has become a lot easier to maneuver. I installed the gate within 3 minutes--the instructions were spot on. I did not require the two extensions that were added in the box, but they would be beneficial to someone that has a wider door. I've had the gate now for almost two weeks and we and our furry family is much happier now. The gate is made of strong and sturdy materials and I would recommend this to anyone needing a tall and convenient walk through gate. I only wish the cat door could be permanently removed, though we solved that issue by using velcro tape to keep the small door open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ny
Materials are of good quality and design is very good. Our Great Pyrenees (77 lbs) is safely contained behind these gates and our family finds them easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is the perfect height for large dogs

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fullerton, CA
I am totally satisfied with this product. It was very easy to install. The only thing I wud change if I cud wud be that the opening is pretty narrow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

gate door is small

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
I like this gate, but door needs to be bigger . :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works great

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Halethorpe, MD
Love how versatile it is. Works very well and love the little door on it. Very happy with this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Up and Sturdy

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne FL
We installed this gate in a couple of minutes to keep the dogs out of the laundry room where we feed the cat. My cat does not need the little cat door because she can fit between the wall and the first slat of the gate. I like that the gate latches securely, and adjustments in tension are easy to make. My bigger dog would open a gate that gave way without the easy-to-use (for people) latch. If you need a gate with a little height because you have a dog who looks at shorter gates as toy hurdles, this gate is a good choice. We did not need the expansion sections that come with the gate, and buyers should pay attention to the directions if they plan to use the extensions or put the gate near stairs--there is an extra safety step to take in the installation. Excellent price for a metal gate of this quality. Very happy with our purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for keepimg the cats in or out of rooms

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from STL Metro Area - Illinois
We have 5 cats. One is a Tomcat that spends most his time outside. When he comes into the kitchen to get fed we have to keep the indoor only cats away from him. This is our 2nd gate, for the downstairs (Timeouts for disruptive indiviuals). Highly reccomend these type of gates for these reasons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gate no worth it

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Indy
We installed this gate a few weeks ago. It has been nothing put trouble. Nothing with manufacturing durability, but it shrinks the size of your door in half or more than half. Adults and some kids have trouble squeezing through the door opening when the gate is open. We thought when you open the gate for a person it would be the width of the door and are sadly mistaken.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent gate for the price.

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester N.Y.
It contains my 70lb puppy. Need I say more? Only negative is I had to adjust tension to allow gate to open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oak Forest, Il.
We got this to supposedly keep my cat in a "safe" place when we introduced a new dog. What it did do, was keep the dog from being able to access that area of the house on his own. The cat was not blocked, as we had hoped, as she was able to work around it. But, it did it's job and the cat did have a safe place while meeting and getting used to the dog. Worked very easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE PRODUCT

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg PA
The gate doesn't swing in both directions and is hard to pull closed. I can't open it with one hand and have to put down whatever is in my hands and use both hands and it still hurts. I got it to keep my schnauzers separate from a stray cat I took in and thought the cat door meant it would be good for that. The cat walks right through the bars so between that and being so hard to open, it's useless. I'm taking it back and figuring out something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly easy, difficult latch

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mississippi
Easy to install, after letting go of the vague instructions. The latch isn't like one I've seen on this product before and requires pressure to open using stiff buttons. Hard on arthritic hands.
Older version was much easier, simpler to open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>