petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Extra tall dog gate is right for big or jumping dogsTough chew-proof metal constructionExpands for extra wide spacesFeatures an easy-to-use small pet doorQuick and easy pressure mounting systemConvenient one-touch metal walk through dog gate
Average Customer Rating:
3.899 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
10
63 out of 79(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pet gate

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
The only drawback is that the access door doesn't swing both ways like the small cat door does.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggy gates

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Washington
Works great - I like that you can add more gates together
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This gate does the job

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Akron OH
We have 4 cats and 3 dogs in our home. They are of all assorted sizes. We are finally able to be alone while we are eating. Only one cat can jump over the gate but it's not easy for her. The others are too fat! The small door works for keeping the 2 large dogs out but still allowing the cats and 1 small dog through.
The gate is very sturdy and attractive. We are all very pleased with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's a good fence but it's not as adaptable as You May think.

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL
The Range it has depends on removable pieces with a fixed length. And it doesnt bring all the pieces that You need. i.e.: the instructions show that there is a 4" piece that I actually need but wasnt included.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for strong dogs

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I bought this for my 6 month Akita and she pushed through the gate on the first day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product was everything I expected

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, Missouri
I purchased two of these gates to confine my dog to a certain room and they work great... Only problem I had was that one of the gates had been damaged in shipping, the box was trashed and the gate was bent... I fixed it myself to the best of my ability and am choosing to just deal with it...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pictured gate not the gate shipped

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
The gate in this picture is a strong gate with a secure closure. However, the "new and improved" gate that is being shipping in place of this gate is NOT. The red latch system you see in the online picture has been redesigned and can easily be forced open by pushing against the gate. See picture in this post as an example. The "old" red latch system was secure and could be locked such that the latch could not be accidently released. The new system has buttons on two sides of the gate that simple push in and slide. Be aware that it is NOT SECURE.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extra tall gate for door ways

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from G. Iowa
This was excellent for our little escape artist. By not having cross bars she can not climb it or jump it. The door that opens to walk thru is great. We have 2 of them now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gate but.....

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from MA
my 40 pound lab mix can fit through the little door! We've added zip ties so the cat can still go through but the dog can't. The latch can be a little difficult to open as well. However, the install was super easy and the gate seems pretty durable so far given it is metal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great features

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from atlanta,ga
not easy to install-------------------------------
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent!

PostedJune 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chesapeake, VA
Finally, a solution to the typical dog-vs-cat food and litter problem! Keeping our dog from the cat's territory had become such a hassle, but this tall gate with a small pet door was the answer. It was easily assembled and is sturdy in its construction. My cat can access his food and litter, while the dog merely whines on the other side! Our hound-mix pooch can climb or scale most obstacles, but she respects the height on this gate. The swing, walk through gate feature makes it convenient for the two-legged family members to access the room as well. We are VERY pleased with our purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas
The gate is tall and the bars are perfect to keep my 7 lb. Chihuahua from entering. Good quality. I wish the gate door was a little wider but works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Gate

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
Really like this gate. We unexpectedly inherited a second dog. With two cats and one dog, we were not sure if everyone would get along. We purchased this because of the cat door. We and the cats love it. We removed the cat door so the pass through door could be swung in either direction.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This gate is great.

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
The gate fits perfect, I love the little door for the smaller pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, easy to use, great value

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
For the price this gate is a great value. It is tall enough to keep my little jumpers from getting over it, and fits securely in the small space it's needed. I haven't had issues with the locking mechanism.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Needed

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
I am very satisfied with the gates I bought. They are working just as I expected. We have 3 good-sized dogs (50-80 lbs), and the gates have held up fine against bumping and pushing. They were pretty easy to install, especially with a power screwdriver. Definitely worth what I paid for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gate!! Very pleased with this purchase!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from AZ
This gate is sturdy and well constructed, and also very easy to install. The extension included makes this gate fit at the top of our stairs perfectly! It is easy enough to open and close, just be advised, the gate opening itself is rather narrow. All in all, I am very pleased with this purchase, it keeps the peace in my house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is not durable

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I have had this pet gate for 5 months and I am very disappointed with it. The handle/lock is already broken and has been broken since month #3. The handle/lock is not the same one pictured in the item description. Disappointed that I now have to purchase a whole other gate just because the handle doesnt work and I really dont want to spend that kind of money again on a product that was so easily broken.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Huntsville, AL
As a puppy foster, we have to be able to contain the little ones and this gate does the job. It doesn't shift or tilt and stays exactly where we want it to, even with 20+ puppies jumping against it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second purchase

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Williamsburg, VA
I'm a fairly old woman, and even I had no problem installing it. Now I can dog sit for my grandchildren's Golden - and not worry about the living room carpets and furniture! I have two large entry ways and, after the first purchase trial, I got a gate for the second. I can easily get into the room and keep the dog out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>