petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Extra tall dog gate is right for big or jumping dogsTough chew-proof metal constructionExpands for extra wide spacesFeatures an easy-to-use small pet doorQuick and easy pressure mounting systemConvenient one-touch metal walk through dog gate
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
5
19 out of 26(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kristen218
from Montgomery, AL
Works great for me and my dog is a 50lb pitt bull. It was easy to assemble and it isn't an eye sore in the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
carolofthewinds
from NYC
This gate is not just for big dogs. It is the perfect height for our jumping dachshund. It looks classy in our NYC apt entry vestibule. The little cat door is cute too! It's easy to install but the instructions make it seem complicated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product was perfect

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
rbravata
from san jose, ca
This product was perfect for our needs. We have 2 dogs and 3 cats. We needed a gate that is easy to enter and exit for the humans but will keep dogs and cats separated. This gate is high enough that neither our dogs nor our cats can jump it but we can pass through easily. Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not so happy

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
jshu
from IL
I am having trouble getting the top of the gate tight enough so the dogs do not knock it over; but yet loose enough to be able to latch it closed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking For

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
luvdogz4ever
from Florida
My new rescue dog has great qualities, but one problem was her impulse to chase my cat. Kept my cat in our room with door closed and it just made my cat a mystery and my dog wasn't getting used to having a cat around. This gate is exactly as described and very easy to install. Now I can keep my bedroom door open so they look at each other with no worry of my dog chasing after my cat. Hopefully in time they will get used to each other and it seems to be helping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gate

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stulgy
from Western MA
This gate is great. Really nice and tall and easy to install. The only thing I don't like is that it has caps that are supposed to be nailed into the wall which I didn't want. For now we have it up without the nails and our Golden Doodle puppy hasn't tried to lean on it yet so hopefully it will stay up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a Good Buy

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rose07
from Linwood, MI
Though our door fits within the measurements listed it does NOT truly fit because the larger you make it the less sturdy the gate is. In general the center point is weak so my husband has tweaked it to make it sturdier and he added wood to the sides of the doorway to make it a smaller opening. We only kept it because we couldn't find one any better that we could afford that had the door for our cat. We are doubtful it will hold our dog if she decides she really wants to get on the other side-she hasn't jumped on the gate YET.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extra Tall Expandable Gate

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancysue
from San Diego
We bought two gates and they are very easy to install and the expandable extensions work fine. Be aware if you are trying to confine a puppy. Our 8 week old Border Collie walks right through the bars. We had to add mesh to the gates which sort of work. There should be a gate with puppy pickets. Otherwise good design and they don't screw up the walls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
WPBdoglover
from West Palm Beach, FL
I cant believe how well these work. They look pretty good for gates as well. Easy setup and they do not leave marks on the walls. Make sure to measure your openings before buying. Great value. I have a large dog and doesnt try to break through it. They will not stop a dog that really wants to bust through them, but they do create a barrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT STRONG ENOUGH for a medium sized dog that wants to get out

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
reviloa
from Edmonds
My medium size dog bent the metal bars on the extensions and they came apart at the welding. And amazingly squeezed through the small opening which was meant for my 2 smaller dogs. Now looking for a stronger/tougher gate to replace this!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well, easy setup

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChickenGirl
from Kaufman, TX
The title says it all. Sets up easily. It takes a little bit of adjusting to get the walk-through to swing easily (the instructions say not to overtighten the top screws to prevent this). None of the dogs have even attempted to clear this tall gate, and the cats go through the little door without hesitation. Exactly what I needed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gate, but won't stop a motivated dog

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
FranksmomMN
from Minnesota
This gate exceeded our expectations. Was easy to install and we liked the optional wall mounts (screw in for added stability) if you use it at its widest settings. The width extenders are nice. Height is great. Child proof latch means you will always need two hands to go through (bummer if you are carrying groceries or a bag). Gate opening is fairly narrow. The smaller kitty door was still big enough for our puppy to wriggle through, and he even figured out how to pull the release with his mouth and open the door that way.
Soooo, bottom line is that the gate works well and is built well, but if you have a motivated pet, it won't hold them back. Our 4 1/2 month old 32 pound lab mix went through the kitty door until he grew bigger. Then, he began jumping up on the gate. I was surprised the gate held securely. So well, in fact, that our pup was able to do a pull up, hoist himself up to the top (41") (like a pull-up) and tumble over. Within a week he was clearing the gate no problem.
We haven't had a dog with separation anxiety like this before. The gate works just like it should, but we've concluded that there isn't much an owner can do to keep a seriously motivated pet from getting over or around any hall or doorway gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gate

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grandbingo
from Burkburnett Texas
Our Son bought us the same Pet Gate that we purchased from your company. We like it so much we were thinking of getting another like it for our back door, to get a 'breeze' through the house in the summer. When I opened my email with the gate about $20 off the regular price. I immediately ordered it!! Thank you for having it on sale!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Dog Gate

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
SMT4013
Do NOT recommend for large bread dog. My dog has broken through this gate 3 times and destroyed my front door!
Serenely, VERY UNHAPPY CUSTOMER!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karneychick
from Dallas, TX
Really like the height on this, however it pops off the door fairly easily. One of my cats uses his paw and pulls it out from the bottom. So I could just imagine what a big dog could do. Overall could be better. Just fair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gate

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
sdmimzy
from Virginia
I bought this gate to keep my medium sized, jumpy dalmatian out of the upstairs when I'm not up there but to allow my cat free reign of the upstairs, and it works for the most part. Although to my surprise, she is so small she can squeeze through the small pet door... which kind of defeats the purpose. Now I just keep it closed when I'm home and just open and close for my cat and leave it open when I'm gone and the dog is crated. It is tall enough that she can't jump over it, which says a lot considering she can clear three feet on a jump.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Baby Gate

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
kpappas53
from Las Vegas, Nevada
I actually do not have a dog, but I do have a baby grandson and cats. I looked everywhere for a baby gate with a pet door but could not find one, until I found this dog gate with the cat door. Works perfectly. My only issue is that I wish the opening for people could be wider.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gate. Works for my x-lg dog

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pyreneesmomma
from Los Angeles, CA
We adopted a 11 month old Great Pyrenees (90+ pounds) and needed to keep him out of the living room for now. We bought two gates and they are great. If him jumps up on them they don't budge! They are easy enough to latch and unlatch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth the Money

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
nikichik76
from Ohio
I have a year and a half old Chocolate Lab and purchased this gate in late November in an attempt to keep him out of trouble when he was on his own. Two months later and I'm ready to throw it out. It is impossible to get the tension tight enough to keep the gate up without making it so tight that the door won't open. My lab has knocked it down several times, breaking the wall mounts that came with it. Definitely disappointed in this waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
WestPointma
from Altoona, Pa
Sturdy, easy to install, a great buy for the money and it looks nice too!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>