petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Extra tall dog gate is right for big or jumping dogsTough chew-proof metal constructionExpands for extra wide spacesFeatures an easy-to-use small pet doorQuick and easy pressure mounting systemConvenient one-touch metal walk through dog gate
Average Customer Rating:
3.901 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
9
57 out of 71(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gate but.....

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from MA
my 40 pound lab mix can fit through the little door! We've added zip ties so the cat can still go through but the dog can't. The latch can be a little difficult to open as well. However, the install was super easy and the gate seems pretty durable so far given it is metal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great features

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from atlanta,ga
not easy to install-------------------------------
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent!

PostedJune 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chesapeake, VA
Finally, a solution to the typical dog-vs-cat food and litter problem! Keeping our dog from the cat's territory had become such a hassle, but this tall gate with a small pet door was the answer. It was easily assembled and is sturdy in its construction. My cat can access his food and litter, while the dog merely whines on the other side! Our hound-mix pooch can climb or scale most obstacles, but she respects the height on this gate. The swing, walk through gate feature makes it convenient for the two-legged family members to access the room as well. We are VERY pleased with our purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas
The gate is tall and the bars are perfect to keep my 7 lb. Chihuahua from entering. Good quality. I wish the gate door was a little wider but works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Gate

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
Really like this gate. We unexpectedly inherited a second dog. With two cats and one dog, we were not sure if everyone would get along. We purchased this because of the cat door. We and the cats love it. We removed the cat door so the pass through door could be swung in either direction.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This gate is great.

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
The gate fits perfect, I love the little door for the smaller pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, easy to use, great value

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
For the price this gate is a great value. It is tall enough to keep my little jumpers from getting over it, and fits securely in the small space it's needed. I haven't had issues with the locking mechanism.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Needed

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
I am very satisfied with the gates I bought. They are working just as I expected. We have 3 good-sized dogs (50-80 lbs), and the gates have held up fine against bumping and pushing. They were pretty easy to install, especially with a power screwdriver. Definitely worth what I paid for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gate!! Very pleased with this purchase!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from AZ
This gate is sturdy and well constructed, and also very easy to install. The extension included makes this gate fit at the top of our stairs perfectly! It is easy enough to open and close, just be advised, the gate opening itself is rather narrow. All in all, I am very pleased with this purchase, it keeps the peace in my house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is not durable

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I have had this pet gate for 5 months and I am very disappointed with it. The handle/lock is already broken and has been broken since month #3. The handle/lock is not the same one pictured in the item description. Disappointed that I now have to purchase a whole other gate just because the handle doesnt work and I really dont want to spend that kind of money again on a product that was so easily broken.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Huntsville, AL
As a puppy foster, we have to be able to contain the little ones and this gate does the job. It doesn't shift or tilt and stays exactly where we want it to, even with 20+ puppies jumping against it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second purchase

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Williamsburg, VA
I'm a fairly old woman, and even I had no problem installing it. Now I can dog sit for my grandchildren's Golden - and not worry about the living room carpets and furniture! I have two large entry ways and, after the first purchase trial, I got a gate for the second. I can easily get into the room and keep the dog out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from PA
This product arrived on time and was easy to assemble and install. We needed to keep the dog out of the cat food/litter box and this gate is the perfect solution to it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Things to think about...

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
This product seems to be well made but after living with it for a few weeks I am of the opinion, and it's only my opinion that;
A. The gate opening (17") is too narrow for anyone other than Twiggy Larger framed men and women are going to have to walk sideways through this opening. Loose clothing is going to get snagged... If it's not in a high traffic area it may not be an annoyance to you.
B. The latching system is hardly "one touch". You have to depress two buttons AND slide the mechanism back in order to disengage the locking bolt from its opening. A simpler design, similar to a simple gate latch would be easier to open and over time, less likely to break than this over engineered latch.
Aside from those two concerns, I would say this is a good product and would purchase another one if I had to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New sliding Latching mechanism impossible to open

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ottawa, Ontario
We purchased our second Expandable Gate assuming it would be the same as our first one. Unfortunately, the latch at the top of the gate is no longer a guillotine style but a slide latch. Most in our household and visitors have difficulty and many cannot apply sufficient pinch pressure to open it. Can I purchase the old style latch and replace it?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Carlson Extra Tall Expandable Gate

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City MO
Nice sturdy gate, easy to install. Unfortunately
it did not work for me. My cat walked right thru the
bars. She is a 10 lb cat in good shape. Of course,
I assumed the gate would work for regular sized cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gates with Pet Doors

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
My daughter had her first child last year and is living with us. We have several cats, which are our "babies" also. What to do so cats have complete access while still being able to corral our granddaughter in safe spaces. We found the gates with the pet doors and bought a couple to try out. They are wonderful. The cats and baby adapted quickly to these gates. While not made for children, the construction of the gates is mostly safe. The pet door, when open, does have a sharp corner on the top which should be wrapped with some sore of padding if you're leaving it open for long periods of time though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tall

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lawrence
I actually returned this gate to the store as it was
taller than I needed for the size of my dogs at 41"
but got the exact gate at 30.5" and is working perfectly.......easy exchange at the north andover store they were awesome....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Midland, Texas
This product worked well for my house. It is tall enough to keep my GS in the designated area I wanted her to stay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Tall Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Carlson Pet products extra tall gate

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Prosper, TEXAS
LOVE LOVE LOVE this gate. Just what I needed. My brother is about to order one for his home as well. Thanks Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>