petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Sturdy, durable, all metal pet gateExpands extra wide to close off large spaces and doorwaysMetal walk through dog gate lets owners pass easilyQuick and easy pressure mounting systemSmall gate allows small pets to passIncludes two different-sized extensions for an even better fit
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 out of 25(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for the $

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
PetLover1955
from Spring Valley, NY
I recently purchased this pet gate and am very happy with it. It looks nice, extremely functional, safe, as it fits securely in the doorway, and has the added feature of the small pet door which allows my dog or cat to pass through at my discretion. The gate also comes with an expandable gate should you need it for wider areas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good gate but pet door is too big

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
CatandCorgi
from portland OR
My 35 lb (corgi) dog strolled right through the pet door. I need the gate to keep him out and let the 10 lb cat in.
If only there were a gate with an adjustable pet door.
Another comment here suggested keeping the door shut and taking out one of the bars. I that could work for me if only I had the tools/strength/knowledge to perform the task.
But it is a good solid gate and installs easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So simple to install

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary89
from Midland Park, NJ
Assembling things is not my strong suit. Any new toy or piece of furniture we get, it's assumed that my husband is going to be the one to do the job. However, when our gate arrived, I was home alone & absolutely desperate to get it set up ASAP, as our new puppy had been running around & reeking havok the past few days. I was actually surprised at how quickly I was able to get the gate up without even needing a single tool! (Another weakness of mine:) ) In addition, the promotional discount we received through my email (on top of the discount simply from ordering online) put us getting the gate at just about half price! Incredible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall a good product

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
KKat08
Love that this gate has a door for people to open and walk through, as well as an additional door for smaller pets. The only problem is that our puppy is now 35 lbs and can fit through the small door. We're hoping that he doesn't fit when he's full grown!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
andysaxon2
from Atlanta, GA
Well made, and works great. Make sure to read the instructions as setting up is a little weird. Great that it also doesn't need any screws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
SoCalRG
from San Diego
I'd been wanting a pet gate since I adopted my dog ~3mos ago, and this one really works perfectly.
It was very easy to assemble, and easy to install. I chose not to install w/the screws, and the pressurized installation works just great. I put it up the minute I received it, and it totally serves the purpose of keeping my dog downstairs when I'm away or outside.
Recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Carlson Expandable Gate

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mombaum
from NC
Convenient and easy to assemble. Unfortunately my daughters dog was able to jump over it.
It will be fine for my three dogs however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My New Gate

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
JustJill
from New Brighton, MN
It was just right. I used it to section off a small hall downstairs to let the cat in and keep the dogs from feasting out of the litter box buffet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works . . .

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
CajunBear
from Lancaster, WI
The need for a pet gate was to seperate the Kittens and mama from our puppy, a samoyed of 5 months old & already 40 lbs. We got it with the smaller pet door in it and the larger door for us to walk through, but it gave a safe haven to the kittens.
You have to know that the pup just loves those kittens, but he is just too big and they need a place to run for shelter. What is funnier still is that the kittens love our pup and play with him, but still run for cover when he gets a little too rough. Great gate!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect gate!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shillo
from Honolulu, HI
We have two dogs and four cats in the house. The dogs love to get into the cat food and all the litter boxes (and whatever else they find interesting) all the time, so we use baby gates to keep them on the first floor when we aren't home. The baby gates make it difficult for the kitties to get around the house though. Our Aussie Shepard/Heeler mix also loves to knock the gates over, but this gate has completely stopped her from being able to! It holds very securely in door frames and on the stairs. The little door is perfect for the cats to go up and down the stairs as they please and the extensions make for a perfect fit at the bottom of our wide staircase. The big door on the gate latches securely and is easy to open, so no need to take the gate down and put it back up or awkwardly climb over it every time you want to go up or down the stairs. I couldn't be happier with this gate. I highly recommend this gate homes with multiple pets of varying species!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome gate

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
ritapita
from Florida
We are very happy with this gate. Easy to put up and works wonderful especially since we were needing a gate for a 4 foot opening.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
likeit
from New Iberia, La
We have cats and dogs. In an effort to keep the dogs from eating the cat food and getting into the litter box, we tried the pet security gate with a small pet door. We were able to segregate a small area in our utility room between a base cabinet and the wall. The dogs can not get to the cat things and we don't have to put the cat food above the reach of the dogs. Our 15 year old cat is very glad that she doesn't have to make the leap
to eat now. The dogs are not as happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
phaecochew
Like, but would have liked more detail before ordering.
The size of the "people walk-thru would have been helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wynter
from Beaverton, OR
We went through three other "swing gate" type gates from other companies before purchasing this one. Wish we had started with this one because it turned out to be perfect! Easy to set up, sturdy and durable! Love the locking feature for added security.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for Very Small Dogs

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loveourmitzi
from Northern California
The product is of high quality, but our Maletese/ShiTzu was contained for onlyt about threee days. Then, being intelligent, walked right through the gate. We needed to install additional wire at the base. Excellent for larger dogs, for certain, but needs smaller opening on the lower 25% for small dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Labmother
from cal
After stepping over a baby gate for 8 months, this gate with a gate is fabulous. Wish we had purchased it long ago. Easy to install and easy open/close and lock. Also love that there are no screws in the woodwork.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable Construction

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
MelW
from Sunset Beach, NC
Very pleased with this Carlson pet gate. The metal construction is sturdy, holds up well against our rambunctious puppy. We just have to wait for puppy to get a little bigger as he can currently squeeze himself through the small pet door, which we wanted so our cat can still navigate between rooms. Easy to install, and I really like the one-touch lift handle for easy human enter/exit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gate

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bella0303
from Sunrise, FL
Absolutely love our pet gate. It's perfect for our cat to roam free and for our puppy to stay where she needs too. We love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Petluvr36
from New Ulm, Tx
This gate is extremely versatile. With extensions, fits in almost any doorway, hallway, etc. very easy to install. Our cats immediately knew how to use the small pet door. Glad we got this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gate Around

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BassetCorgisRule
from Colorado Springs, CO
The Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door is the best gate for use in a hallway that I have ever bought. This gate went together very quickly with great instructions. While we do not use the Small Pet Door; I could see a small dog or cat being able to use the door without a problem. This gate is the best gate we have ever had. With two extension pieces this gate will fit a large area.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>