petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Sturdy, durable, all metal pet gateExpands extra wide to close off large spaces and doorwaysMetal walk through dog gate lets owners pass easilyQuick and easy pressure mounting systemSmall gate allows small pets to passIncludes two different-sized extensions for an even better fit
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
53 out of 57(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pittsford, NY
I ordered two gates, then ordered two more. I have a Lab puppy who has destroyed two wing chairs and numerous window sills. I needed a gate to keep him from destroying the rest of the house, but regular gates were very frustrating to open and close all the time. This gate was easy to install and being able to walk freely around the house is great. It's well made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carlson Gate

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wake Forest NC
Well made, sturdy product. Door is easy to operate. I purchased 2 gates and was able to interchange the extensions to create a better fit. Tricky part is if you have toe molding when using the twist adjustments. I used 2 felt pads to create a level contact and avoid damage to the wood. You can select direction of door swing to suit your space. Only suggestion to the company, why not make extended gate package in a brown color? Based upon prior reviews, I did not want to purchase wood gate because of the chew potential for my new puppy. Pup is not interested in the gate, which is also a plus to the product. Petco had quick delivery!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from KC, MO
Extremely easy to put together and not an eye sore! Works perfectly for keeping the dog out of the cat food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Better Options Available

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
We purchased this gate to keep our 10 week old collie puppies contained in the kitchen (34" opening). Unfortunately, they were able to squeeze through the sides since none of the extensions fit in the opening. In order to be mounted properly the extension screws had to be extended so far that a puppy could get through on either side. We returned this gate and went to a toy store and got a higher quality gate that fit properly and prevented puppies from squeezing through the sides.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice gate

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I bought this so my cat could come up and down the stairs without my dogs getting upstairs. Unfortunatly the "Small" pet door is so big all of my dogs can fit through it, even my 32lb Boston Terrier. Fortunalty my cat squeezes through the side instead. I think the door should be smaller for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Westchester county
Easy to install. Nice self locking mechanism on walk through gate. Fits extra wide opening. Clean lines. Pleasant to look at
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Auburn Ma
Gate is exactly as advetised.fits my space of 51.5 inches.Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
I actually bought this gate to keep my nieces from falling down the stairs when they come over, but so that my cats could still go up and down as they please. This hate does just that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gate is hard to open

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu
It took me two hands to open gate door. I loosened the gate and it is a little easier but still requires a lot of effort to open. I have a sister with a disability and am afraid she will not be able to open it with ease in the case of an emergency.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Olean, new york
The gate is great for small children and for pets. The through gate is push to close but it takes a little force to open it. The bars are even wide enough to let skinny cats through but not the dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed!

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
My girlfriend and I moved in together and we needed something to slowly let the cat and German Shepard get acquainted. It was perfect and very easy to assemble!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gate!

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Adrian, Michigan
I'm getting a Shih Tzu puppy in a few weeks and needed a gate that my 90 year old mother didn't have to climb over. This one looked like the best fit for us and I ordered two gates from Petco and a 24" extension directly from Carlson. The gates are working well. It took about 5 minutes to put each of them together. Love that my two cats have the smaller door until the puppy comes home!
I did have an issue with my original order. Petco only sent out one gate and my online account showed the order was filled. I called Petco Customer Service and they rectified the problem. I got the 2nd gate in just a few days. It wasn't a problem for us as we haven't picked up our puppy yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Success

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fallbrook, CA
I am pleased with this door. It keeps the dogs away from visitors at front door. The only complaint is that it's not so finger friendly. I find it not so easy to get lock to slide open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carlson Gate

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Monument, CO
This expandable Carlson gate is perfect! It fits beautifully between our dining room and hallway. It will either keep the dogs inside the house or restrain them to the hallway. Either way it works perfectly. We prefer the tension rod aspect rather than screwing it into the wall. very easy assembly. We have another gate from Carlson that has served us well for the last 7 years. We just needed another to block off another doorway as we have a new, curious pup. Excellent brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pet Door

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas TX.
One thing I didn't know, is that you're supposed to mount 4 "brackets" into your walls or door jams with screws (that are supplied). However, I mounted this gate without using them and it holds very well. There are soft rubber tips that you can tighten into place. maybe if you have a really large heavy dog that jumps on the gate continually, you'd need to mount the brackets but otherwise there's no need. The cat door, and the gate door only open in one direction, and there's no way to keep the cat door open, you'd have to tie it or something if you didn't want it get accidentally closed. Smart cats can pull or push it open, but I think there should be a latch to hold it open. It looks great and works perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this gate!

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from central Maine
This gate is the perfect solution to keeping my dog separated from the cat food and litter box. The small pet door allows my cats to travel through the gate freely while keeping my 30 pound dog on the opposite side. I am very pleased with the quality and the ease of putting it in place. I researched several other gates and highly recommend this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what we needed

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
This was a great fit for our home. The gate fit easily in a standard door frame without any extention pieces. Our 20lb cat fits easily through the small door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gate is sturdy

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Gate is sturdy. But the lock and unlock feature is very stiff and hard to open. Sometimes it is easier to just straddle the gate and walk over it! Hopefully it will loosen up before long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard to climb :-)

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Smith Arkansas
First - read the instructions that explains that the door gap is intentional before installation. My puppy is extra small so even installed the gap was too wide so I fixed it by using a hard cardboard tube and a couple zip ties. The other bars are close enough without help. Other gates we had tried had horizontal bars and allowed her to climb over. The included extensions gave us the extra width needed for the door opening without making it feel flimsy when using the gate. Gate latch is hard enough that small children can't open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for most doorways

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
We love this gate for one of our doorways. It works very easily, moves back and forth without any issue. The kitten door stays open (unless we had reason to lock it which we don't). We and our 7 year old can easily open it, though the 4 year old hasn't mastered it yet as the handle with buttons that need to be compressed on both sides is to big for her hands. The kitties can fit through the bars as well, but they are only 4 months old, so I don't see that happening forever. Our dogs have not tried to jump over or on it. We installed it easily. I only wished it fit 28" doorways as we have several of those and would have liked to gate another doorway that was 28". The minimum these gates do is 29".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>