petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Sturdy, durable, all metal pet gateExpands extra wide to close off large spaces and doorwaysMetal walk through dog gate lets owners pass easilyQuick and easy pressure mounting systemSmall gate allows small pets to passIncludes two different-sized extensions for an even better fit
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works . . .

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
CajunBear
from Lancaster, WI
The need for a pet gate was to seperate the Kittens and mama from our puppy, a samoyed of 5 months old & already 40 lbs. We got it with the smaller pet door in it and the larger door for us to walk through, but it gave a safe haven to the kittens.
You have to know that the pup just loves those kittens, but he is just too big and they need a place to run for shelter. What is funnier still is that the kittens love our pup and play with him, but still run for cover when he gets a little too rough. Great gate!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect gate!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shillo
from Honolulu, HI
We have two dogs and four cats in the house. The dogs love to get into the cat food and all the litter boxes (and whatever else they find interesting) all the time, so we use baby gates to keep them on the first floor when we aren't home. The baby gates make it difficult for the kitties to get around the house though. Our Aussie Shepard/Heeler mix also loves to knock the gates over, but this gate has completely stopped her from being able to! It holds very securely in door frames and on the stairs. The little door is perfect for the cats to go up and down the stairs as they please and the extensions make for a perfect fit at the bottom of our wide staircase. The big door on the gate latches securely and is easy to open, so no need to take the gate down and put it back up or awkwardly climb over it every time you want to go up or down the stairs. I couldn't be happier with this gate. I highly recommend this gate homes with multiple pets of varying species!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome gate

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
ritapita
from Florida
We are very happy with this gate. Easy to put up and works wonderful especially since we were needing a gate for a 4 foot opening.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
likeit
from New Iberia, La
We have cats and dogs. In an effort to keep the dogs from eating the cat food and getting into the litter box, we tried the pet security gate with a small pet door. We were able to segregate a small area in our utility room between a base cabinet and the wall. The dogs can not get to the cat things and we don't have to put the cat food above the reach of the dogs. Our 15 year old cat is very glad that she doesn't have to make the leap
to eat now. The dogs are not as happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
phaecochew
Like, but would have liked more detail before ordering.
The size of the "people walk-thru would have been helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wynter
from Beaverton, OR
We went through three other "swing gate" type gates from other companies before purchasing this one. Wish we had started with this one because it turned out to be perfect! Easy to set up, sturdy and durable! Love the locking feature for added security.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for Very Small Dogs

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loveourmitzi
from Northern California
The product is of high quality, but our Maletese/ShiTzu was contained for onlyt about threee days. Then, being intelligent, walked right through the gate. We needed to install additional wire at the base. Excellent for larger dogs, for certain, but needs smaller opening on the lower 25% for small dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Labmother
from cal
After stepping over a baby gate for 8 months, this gate with a gate is fabulous. Wish we had purchased it long ago. Easy to install and easy open/close and lock. Also love that there are no screws in the woodwork.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable Construction

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
MelW
from Sunset Beach, NC
Very pleased with this Carlson pet gate. The metal construction is sturdy, holds up well against our rambunctious puppy. We just have to wait for puppy to get a little bigger as he can currently squeeze himself through the small pet door, which we wanted so our cat can still navigate between rooms. Easy to install, and I really like the one-touch lift handle for easy human enter/exit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gate

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bella0303
from Sunrise, FL
Absolutely love our pet gate. It's perfect for our cat to roam free and for our puppy to stay where she needs too. We love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Petluvr36
from New Ulm, Tx
This gate is extremely versatile. With extensions, fits in almost any doorway, hallway, etc. very easy to install. Our cats immediately knew how to use the small pet door. Glad we got this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gate Around

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BassetCorgisRule
from Colorado Springs, CO
The Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door is the best gate for use in a hallway that I have ever bought. This gate went together very quickly with great instructions. While we do not use the Small Pet Door; I could see a small dog or cat being able to use the door without a problem. This gate is the best gate we have ever had. With two extension pieces this gate will fit a large area.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the product.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leen1
from Shoreham, New York
I love the metal gate because my dog has chewed through several wooden ones. Easy to install, but the extensions fall off when you try to take it down. Some of the spaces between the bars are wider than others, so you have to be careful with very small dogs and puppies going through them. Would have liked to see an option of screwing the extensions onto the gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carlson Gates

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
BooDawgMom
from PA
Bought 2 Carlson extra wide gates with small pet doors at bottom. Great purchase, one is used to block living rm/kitchen, 56" and the other foyer/ br, 38". Have a new English BD in the process of training that gets a little out of control and on occasion needs some time away from the pack, so to speak. Gate has walk through gate for the humans w/lock and small pet gate at the bottom for the 2 resident cats, (our Frenchie also squeezes through). No hardware needed, it's tension fit and very tight w/o damage to walls. Also a plus for my small grandsons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Carlson expandable gate

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
2dognight
from Orlando area
We bought 2 of these gates. The gates work, but seem cheaply made. The metal gate and frames are lightweight and not as sturdy as other similar gates we own. These are expandable gates, and although we measured carefully our spaces, we discovered only one gate fit as listed. They come with 2 extension pieces, which offer limited space usage. We had to force the other gate to fit and it is up, but not correctly. We almost returned these but we needed gates and didn't want the hassle. The control that opens the gate is somewhat difficult to use, and if the small bar next to it happens to get in the "lock" position, you need two hands to open it. Our other metal gate opens with a push of your knee against the door - these you need to use your hand to lift up a lever and open the door.
All in all, not the best Gates but we are making them work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Description confusing.

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Les52
from NE Pa.
It says the gate is expandable, but as received it was too wide for my opening. I had to cut approximately 2" off the 12" extension in order for it to fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My Shih Tzu Escaped and then got his head stuck in it

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
famished
from Los Angeles, CA
We adopted a Shih Tzu and he always manages to give us a good laugh. This gate just wasn't for us. We were trying to acclimate our little guy and the first thing he figured out was to turn the bottom pressure bolts and escape. The next time, I tightened the bolts, he was unable to undo them but then pushed his head through the bottom curvature of the gate and got stuck. At this point I thought, "Surely, he must have learned his lesson as he is clearly uncomfortable and possibly choking." My wife replied with "If anything, he just learned he could do that." Sure enough, he did it again (my wife is always right is the real lesson here.) So we returned this and bought the Richell which is working for us. This gate is bad for puppies and small dogs but is probably good for any dog with a large head and is medium sized. Better bet, spend a bit more and get the Richell.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.