petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Sturdy, durable, all metal pet gateExpands extra wide to close off large spaces and doorwaysMetal walk through dog gate lets owners pass easilyQuick and easy pressure mounting systemSmall gate allows small pets to passIncludes two different-sized extensions for an even better fit
Average Customer Rating:
4.378 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
35 out of 37(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from lake worth, FL
My house was built handicapped accessible making the doorways extremely wide. I recently began fostering large breeds but still needed a gate so I could feed my little ones. It fit even without the included extensions. Definitely worth it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product fits wide area

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Holdrege, Nebraska
I wish I had known about this product years ago. It is great for keeping my miniature Eskie contained in the kitchen/dining area or living area while I am gone or just busy. Before this I had to crate him. Needless to say, he is enjoying himself. He can, however, go easily through the cat door. I have to leave it closed, but my 10 year old cats jump right over the gate or squeeze through the bars. It doesn't fit my opening quite right. It's too little without all extensions, but really too tight with them. This allows Blizzard to pull door open! I have figured out that placing a stretchy hair rubber band over hook keeps it closed quite well & very easily. Works with my Grandchildren also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big enough to fit a stairway

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from firestone co
This gate is plenty big for wide opennings but my small dog can get through the rails.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect gate

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ft. Lauderdale Fla
Gate was easy to install with pressure points. No screws necessary. The small gate within the larger gate is perfect for the cats. They had no trouble using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pet Gate

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lampe, MO
This gate is very good quality and really looks good. It's better than I ever expected. The door makes entry to my laundry room so easy and it is so solid that I can leave it there on a permanent basis without any screws into my door frame. Thank goodness I don't have to put the old scissor type gate up every time I want our dogs confined. I would DEFINITELY recommend this gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

"Small" Pet Door is a Little Too Big

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Hadley, MA
The gate stays great in the door way and is relatively easy to open and close, but we have a medium sized lab/border collie mix who weighs 30 lbs and she EASILY fits through the door. We ended up zip tying the pet door so it only opens halfway so our cats could go through it, but they just jump over it anyways...overall, it's still a good gate, but you might want to measure your dog compared to the size of the pet door like I didn't think to do...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Strong gate,

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
This is a very solid gate, but the I find latch to open and close is hard to squeeze. Also, the gate door only opens one way. The little door at the bottom is big enough for a pug to fit through. Although my pup will grow to be 80 lbs he can still squeze through,right now, so had to make adjustment so cat only to go through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Marion, OH
Easy to put up and use. Both cats learned to use the cat door quickly. It keeps our 3 month old GSP away from areas she is not allowed in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love the small door.

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from troy, oh
The built in small door is great for my little ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome sturdy gate

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
I've searched online and in several stores for a sturdy gate that is tall enough and wide enough to keep my dog secure. The pressure mounts work great to keep the gate in place despite my dog's attempts at knocking it down. This gate has endured chewing, jumping, and clawing by my 40 pound chow mix and still holds strong.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the price

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
We have a medium-sized dog and a cat. The dog likes to roam the house at night barking randomly (or so we think!). Installing this gate outside our bedroom door has resulted in all of us sleeping better at night! I think she actually likes the idea that she is contained in the bedroom with us, as her barking has decreased exponentially. The cat likes the little door. We are all happier.
The handle for opening the door is not super easy to maneuver, so I'm glad we don't have to go in and out on a frequent basis.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Gate

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Upstate New York
I needed a gate that covered a 42 or 43" opening. This gate said it covered up to 52". But I believe that's if you have the adjustment screws opened all the way because the gate just covered my opening. So if you really needed a 52" covering, you'd probably have gaps on each end of several inches. Also, the handle to open the gate is difficult to figure out. It looks simple, just press in the blue buttons on either side of the handle and slide the handle back. However, you really have to pull very hard on the handle to slide it back. Once you get the hang of it, it's not a problem, but it's not the easiest latch to open. Overall, the gate serves my purposes - to keep our dog in the family room. So it was a good purchase for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for the $

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring Valley, NY
I recently purchased this pet gate and am very happy with it. It looks nice, extremely functional, safe, as it fits securely in the doorway, and has the added feature of the small pet door which allows my dog or cat to pass through at my discretion. The gate also comes with an expandable gate should you need it for wider areas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good gate but pet door is too big

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from portland OR
My 35 lb (corgi) dog strolled right through the pet door. I need the gate to keep him out and let the 10 lb cat in.
If only there were a gate with an adjustable pet door.
Another comment here suggested keeping the door shut and taking out one of the bars. I that could work for me if only I had the tools/strength/knowledge to perform the task.
But it is a good solid gate and installs easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So simple to install

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Midland Park, NJ
Assembling things is not my strong suit. Any new toy or piece of furniture we get, it's assumed that my husband is going to be the one to do the job. However, when our gate arrived, I was home alone & absolutely desperate to get it set up ASAP, as our new puppy had been running around & reeking havok the past few days. I was actually surprised at how quickly I was able to get the gate up without even needing a single tool! (Another weakness of mine:) ) In addition, the promotional discount we received through my email (on top of the discount simply from ordering online) put us getting the gate at just about half price! Incredible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall a good product

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Love that this gate has a door for people to open and walk through, as well as an additional door for smaller pets. The only problem is that our puppy is now 35 lbs and can fit through the small door. We're hoping that he doesn't fit when he's full grown!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
Well made, and works great. Make sure to read the instructions as setting up is a little weird. Great that it also doesn't need any screws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I'd been wanting a pet gate since I adopted my dog ~3mos ago, and this one really works perfectly.
It was very easy to assemble, and easy to install. I chose not to install w/the screws, and the pressurized installation works just great. I put it up the minute I received it, and it totally serves the purpose of keeping my dog downstairs when I'm away or outside.
Recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Carlson Expandable Gate

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NC
Convenient and easy to assemble. Unfortunately my daughters dog was able to jump over it.
It will be fine for my three dogs however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carlson Pet Products Extra Wide Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My New Gate

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Brighton, MN
It was just right. I used it to section off a small hall downstairs to let the cat in and keep the dogs from feasting out of the litter box buffet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>