petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager

Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager

Water sprayer with adjustable pressure for complete wash & rinseConnects easily to showerhead, spigot or hoseIncludes flexible 8 foot hose for use with any dogOne-hand control lever with non-slip handleShower head massage nubs help remove trapped dirt from fur
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
4 out of 9(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Review 1 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't even work once!

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
SwissyMom
from Pittsburgh, PA
Well, bought this today while buying shampoo and conditioner for my dogs. Was very excited to come home and try it since I bathe my giant dogs in the tub with a shower head and hose that is not long enough. Got it all hooked up, turned the water off and the nozzle blew off from the pressure. Reattached it, turned the water on again, and it blew off at the top, getting water everywhere! Repeat this about five or six more times…it will be coming back to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so great

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
dankamus
from Louisiana, US
It worked fine for a while, then the valve that switches b/w the dog shower and regular shower broke and now the entire thing is useless. I tried to email the company that makes these to find out if they sell a replacement diverter valve by itself but no one has responded to my email so I guess I'll try to find another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not too Bad

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
VIIIXXIXXC
from AZ
Well I'm a review reader. Before I buy anything, but I have to ability to try and return I will.. I read all the previous reviews and knew what to expect with this product. Lets just start off saying I have two mix breed dogs about 60 lbs. each. One is a Chocolate Lab pit mix the other Sheri Pei pit mix completely different coats. They spend most of the day outside when I'm at work and even though my yard is competently landscaped with rocks they get dirty pretty quick. When I'm home they're inside and I was looking for something that I can make washing more frequent and easy. In the summer months no problem I can use the hose, winter months in AZ not so good. I felt bad for them and I hated having cold hands the whole time and being in the cold with them. So I tried showering them, it was messy and they were a little scared. Then I tried filling a cup then dumping it on them, takes fooooreverrr and I don't feel they get very clean because I'm impatient and my back starts to hurt. So I just sucked it up but would put off washing them because I hated it.
Installing easy, down side, yes I did have leakage between my shower head and the valve I hope to address that today, even if it doesn't work will still use this and recommend this to my fellow dog lovers. In my bathroom I can control the water temperature and pressure separately. If need be I can handle wimpy shower pressure so I can keep my dogs clean. Another thing the hose makes clean up sooo much faster.
Yes, as read in one other review the hand piece did pop off when I was starting out. I just found it best to leave the hand piece valve all the way open so the pressure doesn't build up. I just popped that sucker back in and adjusted my water pressure.
Washing, my goodness so n.i.c.e. that "massger" I'm not 100% sure that's what its for buutt... I rubbed my dogs with it to wash and I got three times as much hair in my drain catcher then usual! (Maybe its winter coat, maybe its the scrubber I don't care it's not going to end up all over my house.) Yes, I pretty much redo my bathroom for dog washing time. Hang the curtains up high and put a hair catcher in the tub I don't tolerate plumbing problems well.
Expensive, No worth every penny I have tried pricing out how much it would cost me to make something similar from the hardware store and what parts I need exactly need to make something like this lets just say unless your a creative plumber its not going to happen.
Side note I can't wait to use the hose attachment in the summer.
Thanks for reading a overfilled review I just hope you understand
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product is great

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
labsucker
from Mississippi
Bought 2 different products at the same time because I wasn't sure which one would work the best. Kept this one it worked great. Fit on the shower head & worked good, couldn't put it on the bathtub faucet because it has a diverter knob on it to change to shower from bathtub. Our lab weighs 97 + lbs and had never had a bath, this product saved the day! It even massages she loved that!! You can turn it off & lather up your pet etc. without turning off the water so you don't have to redo the temp of the water which is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
nmz481
from Denver, CO
I just took it out of the package, installed it and the first time turning the water on, the hose that attaches to the main valve at the top of the shower head popped off and sprayed water everywhere. The attachment mechanism that attaches the hose to the valve is not strong enough to hold. In fact if you tug it slightly, it pops right off. Poor design... apparently many others have experienced this exact same problem based off of other reviews. This seems to be a manufacturer's defect across the board and definitely not worth $30. Can't even use it once.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product! Came with free cat food though (?)

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
teenpower87
from Springville, Ut
I am super stoked that I got this thing to help me bath my dog! This tool makes it so that I don't have to take nearly as long in the shower with her. The only problem: It came with free cat food...Um, hate to say this, but it says right on the item "Dog shower"... not cat. I'm lucky we have a cat.
I also noticed that there were better prices for items that are similar online, but I got some money back anyway through ebates.
Thanks for the items!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

failed within 30 seconds

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alex2shadow
hose will not stay plugged in. Hose is tight on sprayer end but very loose at splitter. water sprays out slightly at connection then pops off. cheap plastic and poorly made. Do not buy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor material

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronj
from Ogden, UT
This is the second of these showers I've had. The first we used off an on for a year until the valve popped off. We were able to get a replacement and after the third use the valve attachment that screws onto the water pipe popped off. The plastic of the valve is not strong enough to hold the threads
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Furbuster Dog Shower Massager
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Beaverton, OR
Great product! I have used this with my dogs for over a year now and it's still working perfectly. My dogs love the message and it makes bath time less stressful for them! It also saves water which is also a nice plus. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.