petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher

Original cat scratcher house is fun for pets and pet parentsCaters to your cat’s natural scratching instinctsEncourages scratching appropriate items and not your furnitureCorrugated cardboard helps to groom cat clawsIncludes catnip to entice your kitty to playSustainable cat scratcher furniture from Planet Petco
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Review 1 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good idea

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
BunnyDaddy
from GA
the top level floor for the tower has nothing to hold it in place. Still a good pet play place, EXCEPT it isn't made anymore. I actually had friends who saw mine and wanted one of their own, but it isn't available now.
Also I have bunnies, not cats. I thought the scratch pads would make the playhouse a little less subject to "bunstruction", but they didn't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats LOVE it

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatCrew
from St. Louis, MO
Easy to assemble and hello...it's a box they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
KelsVA905
from Blacksburg, Virginia
My cat absolutely hated every scratcher I had gotten her in the past, and this one is by far the best. Once the catnip was applied it was impossible to resist!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too flimsy

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sasha3
from Cle Elum,Wa.
Everytime my cats jumped up on the scratcher or played in it, it kept falling apart. I would not recommend this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for rabbits too!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdoptNotShop
I thought this was a clever and cute design and HAD to have it! Cardboard is actually ideal play material for rabbits, so I bought this specifically for my bunny. She loves hanging out on the top floor to survey her area. The cat also loves using the scratch board and lounges on it when the rabbit isn't around. It is very sturdy and comes it fun medieval theme stickers to decorate with. VERY happy with this purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My bf said overpriced box, but my cat sure loves it!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
seeyao
from North Olmsted, Ohio
I got this castle for my cat's 2 year old birthday.
My cat never used cardboard scratching box before but as soon as my bf unbox the scratching borad he jumped on scratching it right away.
The castle is quite sturdy for my 12 lbs cat and he plays in it very frequently, either scratching on second floor hiding in the castle for hide and seek.
And it comes with cute stickers, a bonus plus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

all three LOVE it

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
lfrancesn
from omaha
my cats all love this thing. I have one 16lb Norwegian forest cat and a 18 lb tom cat and both of them can sit on the perch part without any trouble. they have such a blast with this. easily the best thing I've ever bought for them. hours of entertainment and relaxation.
also loved that it came with catnip - when i first brought it home that seemed to really spark their interest with the castle. once they had explored a bit, they were in love!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love to play in this castle

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
cmcinc
from New York, NY
All three of my cats love this castle. I'm a little confused reading the reviews regarding the top piece of the castle as there is none. The piece for the tower is the floor just to keep the tower open. The top perch of the castle, the scratcher, which sits in front of the tower is super strong as it rests on the two side pieces.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just okay

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
KittyKatMeow
My cat played in it for about 10 minutes and never went back. My other cat didn't even give it the time of day. I ended up throwing it in the recycling bin after a week.
I bought because of the good reviews, but I guess it's just a matter of personal preference of your cat. I could see kittens enjoying this though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strongly Recommended

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
JFerny725
from Las Vegas, NV
I bought the castle for my two cats in hopes that they would play and get along better. It has turned out to be a HUGE success! I have a large Maine Coon, who is usually pretty lazy and enjoys lounging around the house. Her personality is very calm and she is the little princess. I also have an orange tabby. He is the trouble maker of the house and always trying to annoy the little princess. Before we were even able to put the castle together they were already investigating their new toy. Since it's been up they haven't stopped playing in it together. It's so comical to watch them jump out at each other. Even after they tired themselves out playing in it all day they decided to curl up and go to sleep in it.
The catnip that was included also enhanced the entertainment. Both are my cats are on the larger side and the castle has proven to be very durable. They haven't discovered the scratching posts on the side yet because they have been to preoccupied playing king of the castle but I'm sure it's just a matter of time.
This is the best money we have ever spent on cat toys. I highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
familypets
from Topeka, Ks.
We have 3 cats & they LOVE this! Our cats are always lying in boxes at our house so I thought I would try this castle. 2 of our cats can't get enough of it, while one is scratching on the top scratcher the other is sitting next to it waiting for his turn. The only down side it the very top platform, it isn't strong enough to hold the weight of our cats. We added some duct tape to the under side & it seems to be holding for now. Well worth the money in my opinion, they play with this more then any other toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute, but do not expect it to last forever

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
pippapippa
I have two cats and I bought them this castle for Christmas. I thought it was adorable, and since one of my cats is the queen of my apartment, I thought it would be appropriate for her to have her own throne from which to reign.
The castle was very easy to set up and relatively durable. My cats did knock it down multiple times during rough play. They absolutely adored it though, particularly the bigger scratcher.
I expected to get maybe a few weeks out of the castle, but instead, it lasted about two months. I threw it out the other day, after my cat threw up on it, so it was not any fault of the castle itself.
It did have some wear and tear near the end- I had to tape two pieces at the bottom.
I feel like I got my money's worth. The scratchers themselves would probably be at least $10, and I definitely got a lot of adorable pictures of my cats in their castle.
So as long as you don't expect cardboard to last forever, you should not be disappointed. Depending on how active your cats are (and mine are extremely active), you could have it for a few months to much longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatCrazy8
from Pittsburgh, PA
This is a great toy for cats, they can claw, chew and hide in it. Mine love it and sit on the top "deck" or hide inside the castle. We've also paired it with a cat tunnel going into one entrance which they really like. It's just cardboard, it's nothing spectacular, but if you have cats that like to chew things, this is great for them to destroy rather than your furniture or clothes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShawnaA
My husband and I got this for our 2 cats a few months ago and they LOVE it. They went on it immediately and we love that they can both be on some part of it at the same time. Sometimes one is on the top and the other one is underneath inside the castle. Everyone knows that cats love boxes, so what better way to entice your cat! I think this is VERY well made, our cats each weigh about 10-12 pounds each and it looks as fantastic as it did when we first got it. Our cats also like to sleep on it. Never have I felt like it was at risk of collapsing and it is overall a very well made product and SUCH an adorable castle. It is a very nice size but not too big that it will take up too much room. We put our castle in the corner of our living room and it looks adorable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fun!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Breshiki
from Topeka, KS
I bought this for my new 9mo old cat I just adopted. I was skeptical at first as he didn't want to play with it but after a few minor adjustments he LOVES it!
My only real concern/complaint is the top piece of the tower just sits there and not supported by anything. He's jumped up there and fell through more than once, so I took the piece off. Besides that it's rather sturdy.
As far as adjustments, the inside was divided into two sections which were too small for him (he's a 10 lbs fluff ball). I simply torn the front part of the tower inside the castle and made on giant room. I added a feather toy to hang off the tower and now he won't stay away from it! He uses the scratch boards a lot especially is a sprinkle a little bit of cat nip on it!.
Overall worth buying, and i'll probably another one (or one similar) after this one gets ripped apart!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aini
Both of my cats love this piece of furniture. Sometimes they compete for who gets to be queen of the castle, and other times they just take turns hanging out on the top part. One of my cats weighs 13 pounds, but the structure has held under her weight. I did reinforce the inside of the back portion because sometimes the cats' wrestling knocked the pieces apart (not that it's hard to put them back together). I'm not sure why it has the cardboard scratcher on the side as it's at an awkward angle and the cats don't use it, but they definitely use the top one. The cats are getting great use out of it and when they wear the whole thing down to pieces, I will get them a new one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best toy ever

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatLadyAZ
from Phoenix, Az
My cats to only scratch it, but chew it, sleep in it, play in and around it, and just generally love this toy! I highly recommend it, as do my pack of cats!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cats love it

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
FallenAngel
from Beavercreek, OH
We have 5 cats and were looking for something that would satisfy hiding/scratching and just playing for them. We came across this in the store and decided to get it for our cats for Christmas. It's a lot sturdier than we had thought it would be and the cats absolutely love it! It's really easy to assemble, the only problem is it's not really meant to be taken apart again. The cats love to hide inside or attack each other through the openings and they like the scratching parts rather well too. It's become one of their favorite places to nap. Now we just need to get more since they tend to fight over who gets it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT KITTY CASTLE

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BJNCFN
My cats LOVE this castle!! They got it as a Christmas gift and loved it immediately. They use the scratching surfaces and like playing both inside and on top of the castle. Fit for kings! So cute!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Castle Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My cats love this!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
gabbycakes
from San Francisco, CA
My one cat actually prefers this over his other scratchers. They both love sleeping in it. They both love cardboard boxes and are always using this castle scratcher, so for me, it was worth the money. My only complaint is that there is only one real scratcher on it (on top). The other is on the side (window) which makes no sense and you'd think it would be on the bottom/inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>