petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher

Helps satisfy your cat's natural scratching instinctsEncourages appropriate scratching behaviorTrains your cat away from scratching furnitureCorrugated cardboard helps to groom cat clawsIncludes catnip to entice your kitty
Average Customer Rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
2 out of 8(25%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Review 1 for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Little Tape and They Love It!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
SFCats
from San Francisco, CA
I really don't care for cat furniture. The only thing I've seen that I like cost about $1500 dollars. Not in the budget.
We bought this and like others, our cats collapsed it the first time they jumped on it. HOWEVER, we used clear packing tape and it's been great. The cats scratch, chew, sit and scoot through the structure. I'm ordering 4 more. The awesome thing is that as it wears out I just get another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for rabbits!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lagomorphette
from Minnesota
I bought this for two of my rabbits that enjoy playing in cardboard boxes. They have really enjoyed running through the cardboard city, and I love that it is completely safe for them to chew on and earth-friendly, too.
I have read the other reviews about it falling apart...I'm not sure how that is happening. I suspect they put it together wrong, because my 6 & 7-lb. rabbits go barreling through it without so much as a wobble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Agree with others

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
jrrboomer
from New york state
Since this wasn't too much more than the other scratchers at the store, thought the cats would enjoy it. As with other reviewers, my 8 lb cat collapsed it immediately. It's OK held together with duct tape, but seriously, don't buy it. Choose another product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
whabap01
from Seattle
This contraption is ridiculous! Our kitten, who weighs 4 pounds!, jumped up right away on it, just as she was supposed to, and the whole thing came crashing down. Thought maybe I'd put it together wrong, but nope! What a piece of garbage! Returned it the next day. Don't waste your money on this! What a ridiculous design -- I wish I'd shopped for it online so I would've seen the comments here before buying (I shopped in person instead!).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unstable

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beccaluvskittehs
from Atlanta, ga
My cats love the castle version, so I thought this smaller version would be just a good in another room. I was wrong, maybe my cats are just too large (15ish lbs) but this things collapses on itself. I'm returning tomorrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Duct Tape to the Rescue

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Neko413
from Oxford, MA
At first my cat was very excited about sitting on top of this, which may have been the influence of some catnip. However, as soon as she rolled a bit, the whole thing fell apart. Luckily I had some duct tape handy, and now it stays together. She likes to sit on top of it, but doesn't seem to be a fan of scratching or sitting inside. That might just be her, though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Structurally Sound

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
aubreyskingdom
from Massachusetts
I love the idea of this product but it wobbles and tips over when my cat sits on it, so I had to use some glue and duct tape in order for it to stay standing up. I wouldn't purchase this again, even though I love the idea of it. If the product were to be improved in some way I would definitely revisit it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Cityscape Cardboard Cat Scratcher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Structurally unsound

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
CatManAndRobin
from Providence, RI
Putting this together was fairly easy, but it is structurally unsound. The top is not connected to the bottom, so if any weight at all is put on the top the thing just leans over and collapses. Maybe mine was manufactured incorrectly and some tabs are missing or maybe the base is supposed to be more snug. I ended up using some twine from the packing materials that it shipped with to tie the top to the base to make it stable. Maybe with this the thing might be able to support the 20 pounds it claims. Without it, it would not support anything.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.