petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate

North States Top-Notch Pet Gate

Keep your pet in his place with a Top-Notch Pet GateThis adjustable pressure-mounted gate with uni-body construction installs easily and securelyHeavy-duty gate includes memory-lock feature that retains locking position when removedMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
2.769 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
11
10 out of 26(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Review 1 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Weak

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
I set it up the first time to secure fit into one entryway. After about 9 months I decided to try and re-adjust it to another entryway, but it didn't fit well on that one for some reason. When I went to put it back on the original entryway IT WOULD NOT LOCK INTO PLACE AS BEFORE; The wedge that the metal latch goes into was suddenly too weak to hold the metal latch into place as needed. I'm having to buy another gate after only a year of using this one...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very sturdy

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City
It was hard to get this gate to fit snugly in the door frame. My 18lb puppy knocked the one side open and escaped. Might work better fitting between two walls.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple Gate

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from El Centro, CA
This gate works for keeping my three month old puppy out of the cats room. I set it up so my cat can jump over it and the dog so far has not tried to climb over it. It woulld get a 5 paw however it outsmarted me for awhile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T BUY IT!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
I wish I had read the reviews before I bought this gate. It doesn't fit in any of my doorways and is awful to try and change the size. I will be returniing it tomorrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate!!!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans,La
I tried one gate before I tried this one. My dog is all of 2 pounds. She squeezed right through that gate with ease. The top-notch gate solved that problem, its lattice gate prevents her from squeezing through. It was a little hard to adjust at first but I got the hang of it. Its a great gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the thing I need

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis
Yes, it's a little tricky to figure out, but once you've go it to fit the doorway, it's an inexpensive way to dissuade my Shih Tzu from trying to go into another room. I wanted to give her more room to roam than just her fence, and this was perfect. We marked the ridge to use with a permanent marker for two different door openings - once you figure it out, it's literally a snap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I read quite a few of the reviews before purchasing this item. It was a little hard to figure out at first and I also thought it was unstable. When I finally figured it out I loved it. It's perfect. I even tripped over it and it didn't budge. Great price, great quality!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just DON'T do it

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
This gate is the hardest thing ever to put up. It did not even fit in my doorway evenly, and if you do want to try it...others have the same "baby gate" for half the price. I will be returning mine asap because I cannot take the time every day to try and put it up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MN
This gate DOES NOT WORK. I tried many times and many different ways. It is uneven and will not stay in a door way. Spend the extra money and get a different one!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gate

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
These gates are great for blocking access of the pet in un-wanted areas of the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps my cat from getting out

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
We have retractable screens on our sliding doors and they are great. The problem was that my indoor cat suddenly discovered that he could squeeze outside underneath the screen. I bought these pet gates to set in the doorway inside the screen and Charlie can't squeeze under anymore. They aren't the most attractive and as some have said they are a pain in the neck to adjust but for me it's no big deal, I keep it at the same setting anyway. Hint - search under "baby gates" for this product and you may find a better price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not very user friendly

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
bought it and then return it the next day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product! 3/6/2009

PostedMarch 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
A gate was needed so our 5 small dogs would be in a certain area of the house while the family was gone. Two of our dogs have jumped any gate we have tried. I purchased two North States Top-Notch pet gates and stacked them. I have no more escaping dogs. The height is great, and you only need to remove the top gate to enter the room. The gates do need to be installed properly, but they are very sturdy in the doorway. They have not fallen or have not been knocked done. If needed, I would purchase the product again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not functional

PostedDecember 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
contrary to what the other reviewers think, i think this gate is actually sturdy. the problem is that it doesn't mount properly no matter how many times my husband and i have tried to rig it. and my 10 lb maltese can easily jump it. i'm returning it to buy a taller gate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do NOT buy

PostedOctober 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
This gate is the cheapest for a reason....do NOT buy. It's really hard to use and does not fit right....I have a 10 week old puppy who can easily knock it down. I'm bringing it back to Petco after I submit this review!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedJuly 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my 10 lb pup and she just tapped it and fell over. It's not sturdy and doesn't lock into place very well. I thought I wasn't adjusting it right but my boyfriend who is an engineer tried it and he also agreed this product was very poorly made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gates for the $$$

PostedJuly 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Chelan, WA
These gates are perfect for keeping your babies at bay or from going outside approved bounds. My puppy is safe and secure thanks to the wonderful and easy to use gates.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy

PostedJune 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
My 10 pound dog can knock this thing down in a matter of seconds. It's difficult to adjuct, and clunky. I repeat... DO NOT BUY!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's GARBAGE!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
I just bought this gate Saturday for my 7 month old German Shepard puppy and it's Tuesday and she's able to scale it and jump over with NO problem...this totally defeats the purpose of buying the gate! I'm exchanging this TONIGHT for a bigger and better gate. It was also a pain to setup...I mean a real pain!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for North States Top-Notch Pet Gate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase This Year

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
from New York
This product isn't not worth the price. It is difficult to adjust and it doesn't lock into place. My 2.5 lb Bichon Frise pup has figured out a way to knock it over.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>