petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers

The complete care and dispensing kit for cricketsSystem features well-ventilated top with clear viewer/feeding window, two cylinders, and dishes
Average Customer Rating:
4.061 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
28 out of 33(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Review 1 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

*BEWARE* Do Not Buy!!!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas city mo
This item is definitely not a Cricket Keeper, More like a Cricket Halfway House where the cricket stops in for a drink and goes out to explore your home.. My hubby thought he was goin nuts and left the lid open on the thing because so many of them were getting out.. And because they are small and tan colored it wasnt easy to find them since they blend in with everything. If it wasnt for our 3 vigilent cats showing us where they were it would have been very difficult if not impossible to find them all..
OUR FIX: We've taped the larger holes where the flaps connect and placed the whole cricket keeper inside of our empty aquarium...Its better but we still have escapees but they are now contained in the aquarium and not hiding in my carpet...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pretty bad!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Downers Grove, IL
I have this for my Fire Bellied Toad. The 1st night, crickets were able to crawl out of a hole in the tank. A few days later, when we decided it was bad, the case got a crack in it. Do not ever use this! The tubes that go in also are pretty bad! The crickets come out of those too!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Good Choice

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Irvine, CA
You won't regret choosing to buy this cricket keeper. This makes your job so much easier. You just put some cricket food and water gel in there time to time and pour in crickets into the keeper thing.
The crickets will climb into the black circular holed stick and you just need to pull out that stick to drop some crickets into your pet's eating spot.
It was so useful, I bought one small and one big. I bought small one first to test out and bought a big one to allow me buying crickets in bulk. Small one will contain up to 100 small crickets without giving them stress. Big one is about 300-400 small crickets max. I tried putting 500 small crickets into the big one and so many of them died out of stress in a few days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from green bay,wi
This product works great. I have two of them and order 1000 crickets on line and split them between the two and they live a long time. Easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice for feeders

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pemberville, Ohio
As far as a keeper for feeder crickets, this is very nice. For the price, the quality is good. I would like to see some of the pieces made a bit better. For instance the plastic tube caps break very easily and the covers come off to easily. The best feature of this all though is the convenience it provides. I can carry the crickets into the room and pull out a tube and shake some into my gecko's cage. I would recommend this to anyone that feeds geckos or other small reptiles crickets. I however do not care for crickets and will start to feed my gecko dubia roaches. Maybe Petco will start to carry them in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
This product makes cricket keeping easy for me. I haven't had any crickets escape and it has definitely decreased my death rate for crickets. I need things to be easy and this did the trick for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Save your money.

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Spring Hill, KS
I purchased the large container which is small. You would be better off using a rubbermaid tub and egg cartons, so you have room to get what you need inside it and remove without a problem. Also the tubes from paper towels work great to transfer crickets to your reptiles cage. Save you money on this item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its great!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pocatello, Idaho
My gecko's are still young so I have to get small crickets. I had to cover up the vents with some breathable fabric so they couldn't get out. Which was not big deal to me because I knew that I needed to do this with any keep. Works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Oahu, HI
I just got my cricket keeper this morning, it came faster then it said it would so I'm satisfied. It is a good product only Petco has this product in Hawaii comes with 4 trays for food and water and 4 tubes for them to hide in and makes it easy to feed my 2 jackson's chameleons. I've read some of the reviews about the tubes saying they escape and i found it easy to just block the bottom of the tube when i take it out so they don't jump out before they reach my jackson's i would recommend this product to people who keeps live crickets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good Overall

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
This keeper is pretty good. Really the only downer is that the venelation holes are HUGE and there are little holes where the trapdoor is so crickets get out through those to. I had to tape down alot of the holes to make sure they don't get out. So really once your done tapping it it's works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keeper can't keep Crickets

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
I have two large Kricket Keepers to keep crickets for my Bearded dragon. At first, I could not figure out how we were going through crickets so quickly.
Then I saw one the little buggers walk right out the slot where the tube cover flaps clip in. I taped the flaps down, taped over the slots and put the cases in a deep bathtub.
Within 2 days, I had at least 20 crickets loose in the tub! I sealed every opening I could find and left only one low bit of egg crate. Fewer got out, but still a few a day.
It's a little better now that I get bigger crickets but I just saw a pretty large cricket go right though the grille.
Sure, the tubes make feeding easy, and if you don't mind a serious cricket infestation in you house, or you have a spare deep bathtub, this is the feeder for you. If you prefer your crickets contained, keep looking. And let me know when you find a solution, because I'd like the bathtub back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Terrible

PostedMay 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Marietta, Georgia
The idea of the tubes for easily getting crickets is good, but they are awful products. Crickets constantly escape from these.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very useful, only some flaws

PostedMay 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
I got this when i first got 2 leopard geckos, and I still have it. Crickets got out by the dozen, but then i realized that there were a few holes they could escape from. I fill it with apple slices and lettuce for water, climbing, and food. It is built in housing and gut loading. One problem is the crickets wouldn't go in the black tube, so what I do is put it in the refridgerator for 10-30 minutes, and then i grab them with feeding tongs, after which i put them in a plastic bag and add in powder. My geckos can't get enough, and it helps gut loading alot. I am going to get a few more, as 24 crickets don't last long, but I'm guessing 96 will. I can just imagine the look on their faces. " Yes, I'll take 8 dozen large crickets. Yes, I do have a Pals Card. Thank you very much."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Pahrump. Nevada
I needed a cricket keeper when my grandson came to visit with me on weekends with his beared dragon. She is just a baby and needed crickets to survive. First I bought the small one but later realized the big one is much more useful. I also bought cricket food to keep them healthy so, the lizard stays healthy too, great buy and hightly reccomend this item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very helpful

PostedNovember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
this makes feeding and keeping crickets so much easier! i would pay the extra money and get the bigger one if your keeping 25 crickets or more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

<3 it!!

PostedMarch 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I have a pink toe tarantula and all it eats is crickets,,,at first i would just buy 4 a week and put it in its tank.After two months of doing that i found this product. i was afraid it would work but it sure prove me wrong. Now every month i buy 40 to 50 small crickets and just but them in there.I will also suggest to buy "Flukers orange cubes" they are the best and help keep the crickets live longer than usually.Its a two in one combo, water and food , that way the crickets dont die by drowning in the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
the crickets seem to live lots longer after buying this product .... The tubes give them a great pace to hide and make it convenient for dusting with calcium powder as well ..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sanity saver!

PostedAugust 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Westland, MI
With a young and growing bearded dragon, I go through quite a few crickets, and dealing with quite a few crickets is an absolute nightmare! Before, I had them in a container similar to this (no tubes) and lost at least five or so a week to escapes while moving them from the cage to the dusting bag or beardie cage. I've had the Kricket Keeper for a few months now and only TWO escapes! Just slip out the tube and rattle it around with a few good shakes and there's a horde of crickets for my beardie to chase down and devour. With a little practice, I can even pour the crickets into his salad bowl now so I don't have to worry about the beardie ingesting any substrate with his sloppy hunting! I cannot stress how amazing these things are. I definately reccomend them to anyone with reptiles. They're a little small for big eaters like beardies, but still worth the sanity if you must feed crickets.
Not to mention I'm also planning on using this to hold the weeks smaller feeding dubia roaches once I get my colony going! The tubes are great for any feeder insect with a hiding instinct!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lee's Pet Kricket keeper

PostedMay 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Lake Butler,Fl.
I have got 2 kricket keepers now from petco and highly recommend if you have a pet you feed crickets to, then this is a must have item. It makes feeding your pet so easy because all you need to do is slightly tap the tube inside your cricket duster or feed bowl then you are done, no more chasing or having to handle crickets. It is great I use them to store the crickets I feed to all my pet frogs and love how easy/fast it is. The keeper also has your feeding dishes included to make feeding your crickets easy also. The tubes are a little hard to keep clean, but here is a tip for that take the cap off the end and run hot water through them and use a small brush such as a tooth brush or pipe/straw cleaner to scrub the sides. Believe me you will be glad you got this item so you must get one or more today, Enjoy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lee's Pet Kricket Keepers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kricket Keeper

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is a very good item, I have a frog and i need a way to keep my Krickets from excaping. So i bought this and they have never excaped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>