petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs

Lightweight, breathable meshVelcro belt allows easy adjustment for a custom fitReflective stripes and fluorescent color provide maximum visibilityPerfect for hunting and outdoor activities
Average Customer Rating:
3.357 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
8 out of 14(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Vest

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Otley, IA
The product was as stated. The velcro does get stuck on the mesh of on the vest.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product- Perfect for Summer or Winter-Great Reflective Stripes!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Williamsburg, Virginia
We have owned this visibility vest for over two years! Today I just went online to buy two more as back-ups. This vest has the best reflective stripes of any of the dog equipment I've owned (if light shines on it at night, the stripes glow bright just as if the stripes were battery charged!). Best of all, this vest can comfortably be worn in even the hottest weather because the mesh holes in the light-weight fabric breathe and do not cause additional insulation or heat. If necessary, for dogs with less fur, in the winter I think this vest could be worn right over the top of a dog's winter jacket. My Australian shepherd (who runs HOT year-'round) is red colored and fades into and become invisible in EVERY outdoor background! (forest, side of the road, lake-side, etc.) in summer or winter. This vest ends that problem. This vest has been such a blessing and a must-have for my dog who is off-leash trained, but who would otherwise become "invisible" even just ten feet away from me on the roadside or into the forest! My dog also runs along side of my bicycle, and this vest (along with my yellow-neon colored leash or light-up leash for night-time) causes her to stick out for drivers to see way up ahead on the road. The vest's fabric does NOT pick up burrs, grass, or other debris that often sticks to dog apparel, it does not get discolored or stain,and it comes in nice BIG sizes that offer enough coverage so that it does NOT look like my big dog is comically walking around with a tiny cape on or a silly bib on her. The vest can be washed easily... but be sure to place in a delicate-laundry bag or in a tied-off pillow case, and then drop into your washer on its gentlest cycle (otherwise the stripe's thread may begin to fray - I learned this from lazily washing it loose in the regular cycle). If your dog is off leash at the lake or the park or beach, you WILL be able to keep an eye on them with this vest, and the vest will NOT add heat in the summer time! My dog is a 65Lbs. Australian shepherd and is a rugged, high activity dog that has given its first vest a real work out - yet it has held up (after 2 years, just a few tiny poke-holes in it, likely from running through the forest and branches and shrubs). Our first vest for our dog was a Large-XLg, and it fit okay and covered enough. But now that we know the fabric coverage of the vest will not add to the summer heat, we are ordering another one in the very largest size (because that way we'll have even more body coverage which will equal even more visibility/safety for our dog). But over-all, we have been very satisfied with the Large-XLarge size on our breed/sized dog. The product is priced right too! At night, the vest works perfectly to help on-coming cars see your dog, and/or a flashlight or other light will also immediately cause your dog's vest stripes to become like a beacon. Obviously, I can't say enough good about the vest. I take the time to write because I want this product to prosper and be there when I need to order more!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great visibility

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
nice and light weight vest, makes dog very visible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

safety first

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mass.
This vest is probably one of my smartest purchases .Since it gets dark so early now walking her cars can see her
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good quality but tough to fit

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Great quality and reflection. But sizes were tough. The xs/small was too small and there was a big jump to the med/large. I had to return both, 2 trips to the store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too small

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Amherst, NH
I ordered the Large/Xlarge for my German Shepherd. She does not have a broad chest and is slender. I could not even fasten this around her. I ended up pinning it to another vest I had for her because I needed something bright for her due to hunters in my area.
It wasn't even remotely large let alone extra large.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not reflect at all. Size and return procedure at the store was good

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu. HI
Terrible product. Does not reflect at all. Size and return procedure at the store was good
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to see, day or night - stays on the dog

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Folsom, Louisiana
The XXL fits my Great Pyranees just fine. Stays in position, is highly visible day or night. Light weight, lets air/breezes thru, dog does not get hot from it, but it will not keep him warm either. It does not do anything other than make him "Stand-Out" visible, which is what I wanted. Dries fast after romp in rain or pond.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light Weight

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hartselle, AL
I use these on my dogs when we go running. It's very light weight so it's not going to overheat them and the orange and reflectors make them much more visible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impractical construction

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Omaha, NE
Neck size and body length were fine. The waistband was too small to be practical for most dogs, not much bigger than the collar. This might be suitable for dachshunds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product runs way too small

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from AZ
I ordered the L/XL size for a 87 lb dog. It didn't even go around the sides of the dog. That is probably why it is so inexpensive.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

straps too short

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from maine
Like the material & visibility but the straps are too short. Bought the med/large for 40 lb. dog and extra large for 95 lb dog. Length of vest was fine for both dogs but straps don't meet around chest/belly. Straps need to be at least 2" longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Large is not big enough

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CT shoreline
The Velcro straps that go around the waist just barely touch. I don't think of my dog as very big. He weighs about 90 lbs. Hopefully the vest will stretch out after using it or we'll need to buy something else. This will not work with a big a dog.
Otherwise, it seems fine for the purpose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Reflective Orange Safety Vest for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safety First

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Anchorage, AK
I bought this and keep it in my car at all times. My thinking is that if I ever have car trouble, especially during the night, and my dog is with me, he will be highly visible to other drivers if we have to cross the street or walk to the nearest gas station.
The color and reflective strips are VERY visible and the material is good and light weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.