petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness

PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness

Discourages pulling on a leash and never causes choking, gagging, or coughingRequires little acclimation time or special techniqueQuick snap buckles on the shoulder and belly strapsSoft but strong nylon and 4 adjustment points for comfort and a reliable fitBelly strap is a complementary color to identify which goes over the shoulders
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 out of 18(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Review 1 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

prevents pulling

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from USA
These harnesses do tend to run a little small, but I got the small size to fit a silky mix terrier. At first I thought it was too tight, but then I realized I was trying to fit it over his back (habit from the old harness) when it was really meant to fit across his shoulders. The harness sits right behind the shoulders and straps under the chest on one side and across it on the other. The so-called 'belly strap' really is meant to sit right behind the forelegs. Once I figured out the appropriate fit, I was able to get it on him with the two finger width recommended leeway, but bear in mind it was maxed out for length of the straps on a dog with a 16 inch deep chest. This was a small. Anyhow, the way this harness works is that it removes the dog's leverage so that he can't pull you along like a choo choo train. This is perfect if you're trying to teach a stubborn dog to heel. It doesn't hurt them at all, just makes them confused when they try to pull and wind up veering off to port instead. It is a little awkward if they manage to get ahead of you, so I recommend using it with a relatively short leash that is not retractable if you are using this for training purposes (which is really the only reason to use one of these, the back clasp harness is better suited for a well-trained dog). The nylon harness in all the ads is not included in the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend!

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, SC
I'm fostering a huge lab. He literally can drag me when he wants to go after something. With this harness, he has stopped pulling completely. I can now easily walk him together with my dog. And it's much easier to put the harness on him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not fit

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I bought this for my schipperke, but it did not fit correctly. This was the S/M, tried the S and M on in store, they did not fit, either. Schipperkes are hard to fit because of their shape. I make her harnesses usually. Returned to store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento
Product broke second day of use. I could have lost my sweet young dog in a camp ground far from home!! Yes it made walking him much easier but it is not worth the risk of losing my pet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

much calmer walking experience

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from dallas, tx
This is the 4th PetSafe Easy Walk Harness we have purchased (someone got chew happy with one). A pet store employee suggested it for a rescue we have who pulled so hard on the leash, she would pull her whole collar (& other harnesses) completely off. Since we have been using the Easy Walk Harness, there is absolutely no pulling. We love it so much we bought two more for our other dogs. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but not for my dog.

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
I got this harness because my dog, a jack russell/dachshund cross, pulled on the leash sometimes, especially when she saw another dog. While it did work as advertised and stopped the pulling, it wasn't really right for her. Because of her lack of a defined chest, the chest piece kept slipping down no matter how much I tightened it. I guess she just doesn't have the right body shape for the harness. Also, she didn't really like it and kept digging her heels in and refusing to move whenever I tried to take her for a walk. I assume this was because it rubbed in her armpits when she moved, since she has no fur there. I was disappointed, and ended up returning the harness. However, if she had a different body shape and it fit her better, I think I would've kept it. Don't be discouraged from buying this if your dog pulls on the leash, just realize that it doesn't work for ALL dog body shapes and some dogs might find it irritating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is like a miracle!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
I had tried other products that were supposed to keep my dog from pulling, but he either figured out how to escape them with his paws over the head or they just did not work. This one was it! I bought the size small and was a little worried it might be too small (my dog weighs about 17 pounds) but it works great. I did have to read and study the instructions to make sure I had it on him correctly. But my previously practically hopping dog now walks very nicely! A neighbor commented as we walked past, "OH, he has gotten much better!" I used to be embarrassed at my hopping jumping crazy dog!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simply magic

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from murfreesboro
We have renamed this harness the "magic harness" for our 55 lb lab. Where once our walks were more of wrestling, pulling, jumping, exhausting matches of will. With this new harness , our lab immediately walked beside us. No training required. I can hold the leash with 3 fingers. It is a miracle. I cannot explain the results but definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Secure harness

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Very secure clips on straps, good range of adjustment for growing puppy. I had to go to website to get smallest size. Be sure to adjust snugly or puppy will wiggle out of it. Check and see if puppy has wiggled leg past chest strap during first walk. This happened several times with my pup. I had to unfasten chest strap and adjust smaller several times...not easy with stiff clips and puppy who thinks its a toy and something you may not want to do outside a controled space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The tween size fits perfectly.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tarpon Springs, FL
We originally bought a medium size of the Easy Walk harness but the side parts of the harness kept slipping - making the harness hang down loose on her chest. We tried to tighten them but every time we used it, they loosened up. The tween size fits her much better and is tighter on her but still has enough space to be comfortable. It would be nice if you had them in stores, not just online. Then we wouldn't have spent the extra money on the one that didn't work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harness

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vernal Utah
I have had two of these and they are a wonder at keeping your dog from lunging. I love them and would recommend them for anyone with a rambunctious puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog's Legs Make or Break This

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have a Scottish Terrier who is mostly chest and has short legs. I purchased this recently because when she walks she pulls, and she's very good at throwing her weight around. The first time trying it out, we got it fitted well, but once we started the walk she twisted the harness and got one of her legs free. This kept happening no matter how we adjusted the harness because of how she pulled and how short her legs were. We decided to reverse the collar and put the D-ring on her back (it's possible, thankfully). This way it kept the harness on her, though I can't say that it stops her from pulling so hard, but at least the harness works and doesn't choke her!
If you have a dog that has decent sized legs, this slipping situation won't be an issue for you. I'd recommend it still! As for short legged dogs with large chests, be wary that the D-ring will HAVE to be put on the back otherwise the harness will slip.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lead

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
I have a new Doberman puppy that is very head strong and very difficult to walk. She pulls me and drags me most of the time. I tried this lead and since the leash attaches at the chest instead of the neck, she is not able to get such a strong pull on me. I have better control of her and we can walk much easier. Also, if she changes direction on me, the lead makes her turn around so that she is back to a normal walking position before she can proceed forward. Overall, I really like this lead and it has made walking a large Doberman much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works but not the best

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MN
I have a Golden Retriever / Irish Setter mix who seems to think it's her job to try to pull my arm off when we go for a walk. I tied this harness and it does stop her from pulling too hard but I can not seem to get it to fit right. Following the included instructions for adjusting the harness left it hanging loosely in the front which appeared uncomfortable for her. Any other adjustments I've made make it too tight so it pulls at the back of her front legs or is too tight on her chest. When I walk her, it's constantly twisting to the side and makes her walk funny. I wish they could add a couple of sliding straps to allow it to put pressure on her shoulders like it's supposed to but still have the D ring on the top of her back instead of in front of her chest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely different dogs

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
I have two boxers who pulled like crazy when on walks. Coughing and hacking because of the pulling. Because of the muscles on a boxer and the pulling I always walked one dog at a time to be sure I could keep control. Someone recommend this harness, I was extremely skeptical, I gave it a try. (they emphasized fitting it correctly was part of the success or failure) and I am happy to say I now walk both my boxers at once. NO Pulling, complete control, healing for entire walk, slack lead the whole time, tested (with back up in case I needed help) with distractions of every kind I could think of. Still no pulling and complete control. LOVE THIS! From only taking one at a time(if I was walking alone) to now both boxers go with me--FREEDOM. I highly recommend, I never thought it would work but it did!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total Stress Reliever

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MN
I have two powerful labs that love to take me for a walk! Our walks were stressful for me and I’m sure my babies didn’t enjoy me correcting their behavior every ten steps as they pulled me along for their walk. I purchased two of these Easy Walk harnesses and now LOVE taking my dogs for a walk. The walks are now enjoyable and the pulling is down to a minimum. I can control both dogs, a combined 160 lbs and keep them from jumping or attempting to chase a rabbit. Life is so much better with these for everyone in my family!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for Walking

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester NY
This product works well for walking your dog.
However we can not make it fit like the picture. If we loosen it up the puppy can get his jaw under the chest strap and chew on it. It will not last long so we do not leave it on him. If we make it tight then the harness rides under his front legs.
When letting him go the leash has a tendency to get wrapped under his front feet.
I only recommend this harness for when you are walking your dog. Then it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too small

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
The harness seemed to be good quality but it was way too small. We ordered a medium for our 39lb hound mix (very lean build) and the straps were digging underneath her front legs even on the largest settings. We are going to try the large and hopefully that works. She is not a large dog at all so anyone who actually has a large dog will likely be out of luck with this product. Lastly, the harness ended up being red nylon on the chest/shoulder straps with a black nylon strap going under her belly. It is not pictured that way so I found that strange, but it does say red/black on the packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.