petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness

PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness

Discourages pulling on a leash and never causes choking, gagging, or coughingRequires little acclimation time or special techniqueQuick snap buckles on the shoulder and belly strapsSoft but strong nylon and 4 adjustment points for comfort and a reliable fitBelly strap is a complementary color to identify which goes over the shoulders
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Review 1 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harness

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
tree1110
from Vernal Utah
I have had two of these and they are a wonder at keeping your dog from lunging. I love them and would recommend them for anyone with a rambunctious puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog's Legs Make or Break This

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
BLAAAAASK
I have a Scottish Terrier who is mostly chest and has short legs. I purchased this recently because when she walks she pulls, and she's very good at throwing her weight around. The first time trying it out, we got it fitted well, but once we started the walk she twisted the harness and got one of her legs free. This kept happening no matter how we adjusted the harness because of how she pulled and how short her legs were. We decided to reverse the collar and put the D-ring on her back (it's possible, thankfully). This way it kept the harness on her, though I can't say that it stops her from pulling so hard, but at least the harness works and doesn't choke her!
If you have a dog that has decent sized legs, this slipping situation won't be an issue for you. I'd recommend it still! As for short legged dogs with large chests, be wary that the D-ring will HAVE to be put on the back otherwise the harness will slip.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lead

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Batgirljami
from Columbus, OH
I have a new Doberman puppy that is very head strong and very difficult to walk. She pulls me and drags me most of the time. I tried this lead and since the leash attaches at the chest instead of the neck, she is not able to get such a strong pull on me. I have better control of her and we can walk much easier. Also, if she changes direction on me, the lead makes her turn around so that she is back to a normal walking position before she can proceed forward. Overall, I really like this lead and it has made walking a large Doberman much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works but not the best

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
JDLC
from MN
I have a Golden Retriever / Irish Setter mix who seems to think it's her job to try to pull my arm off when we go for a walk. I tied this harness and it does stop her from pulling too hard but I can not seem to get it to fit right. Following the included instructions for adjusting the harness left it hanging loosely in the front which appeared uncomfortable for her. Any other adjustments I've made make it too tight so it pulls at the back of her front legs or is too tight on her chest. When I walk her, it's constantly twisting to the side and makes her walk funny. I wish they could add a couple of sliding straps to allow it to put pressure on her shoulders like it's supposed to but still have the D ring on the top of her back instead of in front of her chest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely different dogs

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
KJ72
from Seattle
I have two boxers who pulled like crazy when on walks. Coughing and hacking because of the pulling. Because of the muscles on a boxer and the pulling I always walked one dog at a time to be sure I could keep control. Someone recommend this harness, I was extremely skeptical, I gave it a try. (they emphasized fitting it correctly was part of the success or failure) and I am happy to say I now walk both my boxers at once. NO Pulling, complete control, healing for entire walk, slack lead the whole time, tested (with back up in case I needed help) with distractions of every kind I could think of. Still no pulling and complete control. LOVE THIS! From only taking one at a time(if I was walking alone) to now both boxers go with me--FREEDOM. I highly recommend, I never thought it would work but it did!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total Stress Reliever

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mishy24
from MN
I have two powerful labs that love to take me for a walk! Our walks were stressful for me and I’m sure my babies didn’t enjoy me correcting their behavior every ten steps as they pulled me along for their walk. I purchased two of these Easy Walk harnesses and now LOVE taking my dogs for a walk. The walks are now enjoyable and the pulling is down to a minimum. I can control both dogs, a combined 160 lbs and keep them from jumping or attempting to chase a rabbit. Life is so much better with these for everyone in my family!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for Walking

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
ksanger
from Rochester NY
This product works well for walking your dog.
However we can not make it fit like the picture. If we loosen it up the puppy can get his jaw under the chest strap and chew on it. It will not last long so we do not leave it on him. If we make it tight then the harness rides under his front legs.
When letting him go the leash has a tendency to get wrapped under his front feet.
I only recommend this harness for when you are walking your dog. Then it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too small

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
kek1
The harness seemed to be good quality but it was way too small. We ordered a medium for our 39lb hound mix (very lean build) and the straps were digging underneath her front legs even on the largest settings. We are going to try the large and hopefully that works. She is not a large dog at all so anyone who actually has a large dog will likely be out of luck with this product. Lastly, the harness ended up being red nylon on the chest/shoulder straps with a black nylon strap going under her belly. It is not pictured that way so I found that strange, but it does say red/black on the packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.