petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness

PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness

Discourages pulling on a leash and never causes choking, gagging, or coughingRequires little acclimation time or special techniqueQuick snap buckles on the shoulder and belly strapsSoft but strong nylon and 4 adjustment points for comfort and a reliable fitBelly strap is a complementary color to identify which goes over the shoulders
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
20 out of 24(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Review 1 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Calming walks

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chandler AZ
Our smallest family member pulled as much as her big 70 lb brother before using this. Walks are much more enjoyable and she does not mind wearing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This harness really works

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from La Mesa CA
This harness is the best I have ever tried, our pit no longer walks us every morning. Amazing how this keeps her from pulling and attempting to chase the critters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Walk Easily with EasyWalk!

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Richmond
The Easy-Walk Harness is the best no-pull solution I have used. As a dog handler, I walk up to 10+ miles a day tethered to various dogs and, when they pull it is especially frustrating. The main focus of my job is to help these pups be the best and happiest they can be- that means no unnecessary stress. When the handler is frazzled, the dogs know and they become concerned as well. Pulling on the leash is one of the key stress-inducing activities for the handler. Utilizing the Easy-Walk makes dog-walking easy and fun!
Disco, one of my clients, has an Easy-Walk Harness at home. While I was not sure how to put it on him at first, it proved to be the best tool I could have in my arsenal. Disco is a big boy with the strength to pull a sleigh if he wanted. But he never once tugged or tried to lunge while walking on his harness. I was amazed at the immediate results! Of course, I had to purchase one of my own and test it out on some of my more challenging clients. It worked like a charm! Every dog I have walked with the Easy-Walk has shown significant improvement and no longer pulls while walking. Some even walk better now without the harness, as it can be used as a training tool as well.
Made by PetSafe, the Easy-Walk has 4 adjustment points to allow for maximum comfort and caters to the broad range of shapes and sizes of the different breeds. It has one strap that is a different color from the rest- this one goes behind the front legs, across the belly. I may not have known exactly how to put it on the dog at first, but a quick peek at the instructions was all I needed and it was a non-issue from that point forward. Some dogs experience slight chaffing under their legs after extended use of the Easy-Walk. In my experience, this is more common in the bigger, shorthair dogs who attempt to pull against the harness often. I’ve only noticed this issue in dogs who already have sensitive skin. Even with this occasional irritation, it is the best harness I’ve had the experience of utilizing.
The Easy-Walk Harness is vet, trainer and now dog-handler recommended! It has a martingale loop in the front. This loop prevents twisting in the harness and also allows for quick, flick-of-the-wrist corrections to make training simple. Most dogs find it to be a fun game to pull. They found they were being rewarded; when they pulled on the leash, they got to move forward (action- reaction). The Easy-Walk takes the pressure away from the throat and prevents choking (which can often cause a collapsed trachea). The harness makes it less fun to pull because the leash clips at the chest and gently tightens around the front legs as the dogs pull forward. The dog feels the slight squeeze and slows back down so the harness will loosen back up. There are also a couple of quick snaps that allow you to put it on and take it off with ease. No more trying to get your dog to step through a harness nor guiding their paw into the right spot.
In my experience, the Easy-Walk is most helpful for those high-energy pups who have had little-to-no leash training. With my job, I get to take out dogs from the local animal shelter for multi-hour hikes and light rehabilitative training. When I use my Easy-Walk, the dogs are much more relaxed and able to focus on the excitement around them, rather than the restrictive tether of a slip-lead around the neck. This small change in behavior leads to a better walk for both of us, which leads to a better report and photos for the dogs, which leads to adoption! I have 3 different sizes of the Easy-Walk in my toolbox and it is my favorite tool to share with frustrated puppy-parents. With the martingale loop, multiple adjustment points, and the leash connection at the chest, the Easy-Walk is a great choice for all dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these harness.

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Colonie, NY
These harness are great when being pulled and won't slip from neck when being pulled. Very good control. Was delivered very quickly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great service, product is effective.

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, OH
I adopted a dog from the SPCA in November and bought one of these harnesses because he is a large unruly animal, and needs some work. I bought one of these harnesses from the SPCA gift shop and he was right between medium and large, so they gave him a large and one night it slipped off and he almost got away. I ordered this "tweener" size that they don't sell in stores and it works perfectly and fits perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hands down Best harness

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from san antonio,tx
I have two labs and this harness is the ONLY one that has enabled me to be able to walk them both at the same time with one hand! I have tried EVERYTHING!!!! From the minute i put this on the them they don't pull. It is SO amazing that I feel compelled to share with other dog owners when I see their dogs pulling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

prevents pulling

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from USA
These harnesses do tend to run a little small, but I got the small size to fit a silky mix terrier. At first I thought it was too tight, but then I realized I was trying to fit it over his back (habit from the old harness) when it was really meant to fit across his shoulders. The harness sits right behind the shoulders and straps under the chest on one side and across it on the other. The so-called 'belly strap' really is meant to sit right behind the forelegs. Once I figured out the appropriate fit, I was able to get it on him with the two finger width recommended leeway, but bear in mind it was maxed out for length of the straps on a dog with a 16 inch deep chest. This was a small. Anyhow, the way this harness works is that it removes the dog's leverage so that he can't pull you along like a choo choo train. This is perfect if you're trying to teach a stubborn dog to heel. It doesn't hurt them at all, just makes them confused when they try to pull and wind up veering off to port instead. It is a little awkward if they manage to get ahead of you, so I recommend using it with a relatively short leash that is not retractable if you are using this for training purposes (which is really the only reason to use one of these, the back clasp harness is better suited for a well-trained dog). The nylon harness in all the ads is not included in the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend!

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, SC
I'm fostering a huge lab. He literally can drag me when he wants to go after something. With this harness, he has stopped pulling completely. I can now easily walk him together with my dog. And it's much easier to put the harness on him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not fit

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I bought this for my schipperke, but it did not fit correctly. This was the S/M, tried the S and M on in store, they did not fit, either. Schipperkes are hard to fit because of their shape. I make her harnesses usually. Returned to store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento
Product broke second day of use. I could have lost my sweet young dog in a camp ground far from home!! Yes it made walking him much easier but it is not worth the risk of losing my pet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

much calmer walking experience

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from dallas, tx
This is the 4th PetSafe Easy Walk Harness we have purchased (someone got chew happy with one). A pet store employee suggested it for a rescue we have who pulled so hard on the leash, she would pull her whole collar (& other harnesses) completely off. Since we have been using the Easy Walk Harness, there is absolutely no pulling. We love it so much we bought two more for our other dogs. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but not for my dog.

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
I got this harness because my dog, a jack russell/dachshund cross, pulled on the leash sometimes, especially when she saw another dog. While it did work as advertised and stopped the pulling, it wasn't really right for her. Because of her lack of a defined chest, the chest piece kept slipping down no matter how much I tightened it. I guess she just doesn't have the right body shape for the harness. Also, she didn't really like it and kept digging her heels in and refusing to move whenever I tried to take her for a walk. I assume this was because it rubbed in her armpits when she moved, since she has no fur there. I was disappointed, and ended up returning the harness. However, if she had a different body shape and it fit her better, I think I would've kept it. Don't be discouraged from buying this if your dog pulls on the leash, just realize that it doesn't work for ALL dog body shapes and some dogs might find it irritating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is like a miracle!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
I had tried other products that were supposed to keep my dog from pulling, but he either figured out how to escape them with his paws over the head or they just did not work. This one was it! I bought the size small and was a little worried it might be too small (my dog weighs about 17 pounds) but it works great. I did have to read and study the instructions to make sure I had it on him correctly. But my previously practically hopping dog now walks very nicely! A neighbor commented as we walked past, "OH, he has gotten much better!" I used to be embarrassed at my hopping jumping crazy dog!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simply magic

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from murfreesboro
We have renamed this harness the "magic harness" for our 55 lb lab. Where once our walks were more of wrestling, pulling, jumping, exhausting matches of will. With this new harness , our lab immediately walked beside us. No training required. I can hold the leash with 3 fingers. It is a miracle. I cannot explain the results but definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Secure harness

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Very secure clips on straps, good range of adjustment for growing puppy. I had to go to website to get smallest size. Be sure to adjust snugly or puppy will wiggle out of it. Check and see if puppy has wiggled leg past chest strap during first walk. This happened several times with my pup. I had to unfasten chest strap and adjust smaller several times...not easy with stiff clips and puppy who thinks its a toy and something you may not want to do outside a controled space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The tween size fits perfectly.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tarpon Springs, FL
We originally bought a medium size of the Easy Walk harness but the side parts of the harness kept slipping - making the harness hang down loose on her chest. We tried to tighten them but every time we used it, they loosened up. The tween size fits her much better and is tighter on her but still has enough space to be comfortable. It would be nice if you had them in stores, not just online. Then we wouldn't have spent the extra money on the one that didn't work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harness

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vernal Utah
I have had two of these and they are a wonder at keeping your dog from lunging. I love them and would recommend them for anyone with a rambunctious puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog's Legs Make or Break This

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have a Scottish Terrier who is mostly chest and has short legs. I purchased this recently because when she walks she pulls, and she's very good at throwing her weight around. The first time trying it out, we got it fitted well, but once we started the walk she twisted the harness and got one of her legs free. This kept happening no matter how we adjusted the harness because of how she pulled and how short her legs were. We decided to reverse the collar and put the D-ring on her back (it's possible, thankfully). This way it kept the harness on her, though I can't say that it stops her from pulling so hard, but at least the harness works and doesn't choke her!
If you have a dog that has decent sized legs, this slipping situation won't be an issue for you. I'd recommend it still! As for short legged dogs with large chests, be wary that the D-ring will HAVE to be put on the back otherwise the harness will slip.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lead

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
I have a new Doberman puppy that is very head strong and very difficult to walk. She pulls me and drags me most of the time. I tried this lead and since the leash attaches at the chest instead of the neck, she is not able to get such a strong pull on me. I have better control of her and we can walk much easier. Also, if she changes direction on me, the lead makes her turn around so that she is back to a normal walking position before she can proceed forward. Overall, I really like this lead and it has made walking a large Doberman much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Easy Walk Red Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works but not the best

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MN
I have a Golden Retriever / Irish Setter mix who seems to think it's her job to try to pull my arm off when we go for a walk. I tied this harness and it does stop her from pulling too hard but I can not seem to get it to fit right. Following the included instructions for adjusting the harness left it hanging loosely in the front which appeared uncomfortable for her. Any other adjustments I've made make it too tight so it pulls at the back of her front legs or is too tight on her chest. When I walk her, it's constantly twisting to the side and makes her walk funny. I wish they could add a couple of sliding straps to allow it to put pressure on her shoulders like it's supposed to but still have the D ring on the top of her back instead of in front of her chest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>