petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish

Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish

Temporary fish tank for your aquarium residentsUse during aquarium maintenance, fish quarantine, and moreIdeal for use as a Betta fish tankTough, plastic base with a self-locking topFeatures excellent ventilation, knock-outs for airline tubing, and flip-top window for feedingVersatile tank available in multiple sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
62 out of 66(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Review 1 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect home for bettas

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
HufflePuffles
from Massachusetts
Purchased the large size (3 gallons) and they make the perfect home for my bettas. Nice that they have a lid considering they can be jumpers, just wish the large size had handles for convenience when pulling the lid off, but not a big deal. I have a baby betta in one that I do cleanings on every 2 days or so and even with my sloshing of the gravel and scrubbing down the sides, there's minimal scratching to the walls.
I have a betta log, two log decorations, an Aqueon 50 watt heater, moss ball, almost a full bag of gravel, and 4 live plants in mine and there's still plenty of room for my baby female betta to swim around. For my adult male bettas, I just go with one medium sized cave decoration instead of the two and they've got plenty of room. I've added a picture for a visual idea of what can fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Size is Big Enough For 1 Betta

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
joeylikesanimals
from Duluth, MN
Bought the largest size of this tank for my male betta. It's about 3 gallons, which is enough for one betta (their minimum is 2.5) and no one else. I have a 'redneck modified' Tetra Whisper 2-10i in the tank that keeps it nice and clean, but my 'modification' keeps the current low. It is pretty big and prominent in the tank, but that's my fault; I didn't wait for my local Petco to restock the 3i.
Overall, I'd say it's a good beginner's betta tank 5lbs of gravel, a couple plants, a filter, and you're set. For a filter, though, I'd say get the Tetra 3i, not 10i like I did.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spacious temporary tank

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MenagerieMania
from San Diego, CA
I bought the large size (3 gallon) as a hospital/temporary tank for my two goldfish. Right now, they are still small but I wanted a tank that was big enough to accommodate them when they reach full size. The large Pet Keeper has plenty of room for my fish, great ventilation, and a securely-latching lid. For now, I keep them in the Pet Keeper while I do large water changes or maintenance on their tank.
My only criticism is that, unlike the three smaller sizes, the large Pet Keeper does not come with any handles or built-in carrying support, so I have to bring the water to the tank. Carrying the large Pet Keeper with three gallons of water means toting around ~25 lbs of shifting and sloshing weight, not an easy task for me.
Otherwise, the large Pet Keeper a solid and spacious tank that suits my purpose perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for temporary housing but...

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chocksi
from Seattle, WA
I got the large one to house my halfmoon betta and it is indeed very spacious even with my submerged heater, gravel, thermometer, and mini castle. The only thing is that my betta keeps seeing himself in the sides of the tank (especially the corners) and thus gets very anxious. I think I'm going to switch to a glass tank. I also got the small one to temporarily house him while I clean his tank and it fits him fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect All Around!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
cheypie
from Ruskin, FL
I bought this tank in Medium, for my female Betta Genevieve. She is super small and fits perfect in this tank along with her 2 fake plants. And a flowerball. Spacious!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so nice.

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
elj2
from North Carolina
when i got my baby betta today, i knew that the smallest size thing would be good for it. it loves the space since it's much bigger than the cup i brought him home in. i haven't bought any decor yet, but i will soon! i do recommend this for baby bettas!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing and cheap

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
DeviCy
from Spokane WA
I breed Bettas and the Mini is perfect for keeping unsold fry in once they become too aggressive to be in my 25 G with their siblings. I also use them as a quarantine tank for when my Bettas are sick mostly for my females as they bunk together. For permanent Betta housing I recommend the Large, everything else is too cramped for a Betta. These are very easy to maintain, and heat and very cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Betta home!!!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
PersephoneK
from Oregon
I bought the largest size and it is the perfect fit for my college dorm room to keep a Betta in. The minimum water requirement for a Betta is 2.5 gallons and this tank is capable of holding more than that. My Betta has plenty of room and the tank fits on a bookshelf. I wouldn't recommend any of the smaller sizes as a permanent home for anything apart from insects as this is the smallest container anything living should be in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
KCAANDLCO
from Brooklyn, NY
Excellent!!! This item very nice. I like it. Good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for bettas

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
fishlover15
i bought a betta and i gave it this tank it works great and the cat can not open it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grate

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
myguineapigsnickers
from MD,Laplata
my mom had bought this small mini fish tank for me when i was 9 and i had a betta fish and it was grate to hold a betta and it fell about 3 times and not one crack ! and my betta rainbow survived all three and it is grate for 1 fish but i dont know about more than that ! my mom had paid $4.00 for this and it is good for one fish i guess
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good,but spills,tight lid

PostedApril 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Birdgird5
from Santa Clarita,California
I hav my female veiltail betta fish in the meduim size tank.It's a great tank but the bad things are that is has a really tight lid and it spills a lot when you move it. So its a good tank if you have strong arms and like spills!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
9of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
whywhyamihere
from kaukauna,WI
I bought the large size for my hamster. It seems to be a bit small, but it works. I was kind of planning on putting a house for it to sleep in but I dont think it will fit. All i think I can fit in is a tube,wheel,water, and food. If thats all u need get this. If u need more things in their cage i recommend getting a bigger cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-14points
4of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
iluvpets124
from Richmond,VA
I got this for my betta fish to bring him with me when I went on a trip but it was plastic and the water might of splashed out of it. You can try this carrying case but I would not recommend this item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
LES123
from California,CA
My male betta fish has lived in size medium for a year. It is a good amount of space for a good amount of money! I would recommend this product to everyone who has a fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase!

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappyMax
from Rochester, NY
Purchased this for my African Dwarf frogs
and added some small plants and they are
extremely happy. They're out all day long
(I have them on my desk at work) and they
are just too funny. Even on a bad day...they'll
make me smile. This seems to be a perfect
home for them and I'm very pleased with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fawnleaf
from MA
This is a great home for your betta, but on a few conditions. You must get the large kritter keeper, and have a heater, although a filter is not needed as long as you do frequent water changes. So, as long as you meet the requirements above, great home!!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These things are Awesome!

PostedJune 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thagirion
from Florida
These tanks are great and a must have no matter what kind of pet you have. I have used these for almost everything even non living things. I have used them for brooding baby birds, housing snakes temporarily, bird travel cages, to move fish from one tank to another during cleaning and most of all for rasing moths and butterflies from caterpillars. Some species like the sphinx moths I fill with soil because they need to burrow to pupate.
It's nice they come in different sizes. I prefer the largest and second largest for what I do. I have even used them to soak and disinfect bowls in bleach. Just wonderfully handy little keepers. I'd give it a 10 if I could. I posted one of my How To videos for raising moths and butterflies in these clear boxes. Double click to open in its own window and see more related uses for it. I love that these come in different colors too that are so bright.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kriter Keeper Small Review, its great!

PostedJune 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Flex654
I got this cage at Petco today, and I love it! I got this cage for my two Bess Beatles, Blacky and Dusk. The cage is very strong, the lock for the viewing window is a little tough to open, considering you don't want to disturb the animal occupying the cage. It is also very light, and easy to carry. Very good product though! I would recommend this product to anyone who has a small animal. Definitely a 5 paw product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Pet Keeper for Aquarium Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for bettas and fry

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
ClownfishPlaty123
My younger brother bought the small one for his betta and he is doing great! I also bought a large one for my clownfish fry and it is ideal for that too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>