petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box

Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box

Unique pull and refresh system means no more scoopingEfficiently maximizes use of cat litterClosed design means no mess, no odors, no dustIntegrated carbon filter helps to control odorsClear-view access window allows easy monitoring of litterSuitable for cats of all sizesPan liners included
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
19 out of 26(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Review 1 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Litter Box

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
My boy hasn't used it quite just yet. But I know he will. He gets in it and looks out the window on top. We call it his space ship.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from tx
it is exactly what it says it is and performs as promised. I have had it for 2 weeks now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Replacement to a Sifting Litter Box

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I have used a hooded manual sifting litter box for 5 years. While it made waste removal easy, it wasn't a pleasant daily chore. After a serious crack in one of the pans, I had to shop for something new. I found the Hagen Catit SmartSift Litter Box and decided to give it a try. Wow, what a difference! With a good clumping litter, it is a clean, easy, and quick option - and the cat seems to like it too. It's clean because you never have to touch the litter and both the litter pan and waste bin each have their own liner. It's quick and easy because all you have to do is slowly pull the lever forward and push it back and lock it in place twice a day and the job is done. On trash day each week, I just pull out the waste bin, remove the liner, throw a week's worth of mess in the trash, and drop in a new fresh waste bin liner. What can be better than that? I agree with other reviews that the instructions are somewhat difficult to understand (I would have preferred to have had some written instructions along with the pictures), but after a few tries, it all made sense and we were good to go. HELPFUL HINT: While the litter plan has a depth indicator on the inside of the pan do yourself a favor - take a permanent marker and draw a line to indicate the maximum litter depth on the liner. This will make adding clean litter a snap to do and less of a guessing game when it's needed. From one cat owner to another, I'm happy I decided to buy this product and have already recommended it to other cat owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I really love this product. It was easy to put together and easy to use. Two of my cats loved it. The other cat won't go near it. Since she's outside most of the day, it doesn't matter. You absolutely do have to pull the lever slowly. That gives the litter time to fall into the holding reservoir before the cat waste falls out. If you follow instructions, it works!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this product

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Fl
It was a little difficult to put together. The instructions were very limited. That being said this is a great product. When dumping the dirty littler you have to be very gentle in tilting the top. I will take out the top liner, it is getting in the way of dumping and the cats are pulling it to cover their business. The bottom container is very easy to empty and with 3 cats using it, I only need to empty the bottom container once every couple days. Love this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Bulky and not cat friendly

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CS CO
This litter box takes up a lot of space. The plastic handle lever did not pull easily and felt like it would be the first to break on this unit. The box itself is very high to get into, and my older cat would not use it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I have 9 cats and this product has made my life easier!

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fla.&N.C.
A Good value when used correctly--Notes Below
1.DON'T OVERFILL PAST THE LITTER LINE AND YOU WON'T WASTE LITTER.
2.PULL THE HANDLE VERY SLOWLY AND YOU WILL LOSE LESS LITTER
3. SPRAY THE GRATE AREA AND THE LITTER AREA WITH A CHEAP VERSION OF COOKING SPRAY (LIKE PAM) I DO THIS EVERY TIME I CLEAN (PULL THE LEVER) THE LITTER BOX.
4.THINK I'M CRAZY?---IT WORKS FOR ME AND MY 9 CATS.---SPRAY THE GRATES AND THE LITTER BOX AREA--bottom and sides of litter area --EVERY TIME YOU PULL THE HANDLE--
----NO I DON'T TAKE THE BOX AS PART--REMOVE THE PLASTIC HANGING DOOR AND SPRAY AWAY--MY VET SAYS IT'S A OKAY-- JUST HUMAN GRADE FOOD OIL!
. I keep it in a small plastic shoe box with my litter scoop and a plastic spatula in case I'm gone too long and can't clean as often as needed. (HOPE THIS HELPS SOMEONE)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT!!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Palm Springs Ca
Gosh I wish I would have bought these YEARS ago!!! Soooo easy, I turn the handle twice a day, replace bag once a week! Cats LOVE!!! we bought TWO!! I couldn't be happier!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ricmond, VA
I switched out from a littermaid to this litter box and it is great. . . lots of parts for cleaning when you clean but otherwise I have no complaints!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!!!!!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Milford PA
I have had many different types of litter boxes over the years and this is by far the best one i have ever had!! I have tried the Mechanical ones but they burn out too fast and need to be replaced. I have had the Smartsift box for over a yr now and it works great! Only had to clean the inside twice now, the slates get clogged once in a while but not a big deal, i just take outside and hose it off!! My cats love to use it and they always have clean litter with out breaking my back to clean it! Buying another one for my other cat! I have recommended this box to many of my friends already!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from va
I really hate this litter box. The liners rip, the sifter doesn't really work and yoh have to muscle it. Plus, if your cat urinates on the wall, it leaks down under the tray to het on the floor (or carpet in my case) and causes stains. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great concept

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn,NY
This litter box has a really great concept,but for the life of me I'm having problems putting it together - very poor instructions come with the product, mostly I'm trying to figure out how this box would work as described. I cannot see how the sifter fits into the structure & actually works to remove solid wastes, rater than retain the solids & sift the clean litter into the pull out cleaning receptacle. Any information would be greatly appreciated
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overly complicated and missed the mark

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from McKinney, TX
I guess this product might work if you have "dainty" cats that do their business in the center of the pan. Mine, however, like to wee on the edge of the pan and into the grated area of the sifter. This causes huge clumps that plug up the sifter funtion. The urine that escapes over the edge of the pan falls into both the collection bin as well as the base of the unit itself. Since the base has holes in it, there is no way to prevent spilling when trying to empty it out for cleaning.
Not to mention that the entry point is quite high, so my older cat with arthritic hips couldn't access it without a step stool. Also disappointed that the clear flap arrived cracked, and one of the prongs that holds the filter frame in place was broken off.
Will be getting rid of it and getting a regular sifting system pan this weekend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartSift

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Killeen, TX
I just ordered my second box. I was really impressed with the first one I ordered. It works well and there's no mess! It's so easy to set up and I'm glad I don't have to sift and scoop the litter box anymore!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's going well

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from florida
It took several days for the cat to finally use this new litter box, but once we just removed the old one, she transferred her business to the new one without a hitch. I found it very easy to assemble from the box. The mechanics seem a little stiff and I wonder how it will stand up to time and continued use. I found that not all the clumps fall easily into the bottom tray, so keep your scooper nearby. It is great to just pull that lever and drop the smelly stuff below every evening, and so far it has controlled the odor. This is the important issue since we live in a small apartment and the litter box lives in a hallway off the living area.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smart Sift Litter Box

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Troutman, NC
Bought the box three weeks ago for my three indoors cats. It does waste a lot of litter if used as instructed. I just jiggle it, tilt it and use a scooper to push the waste into the bin below. Also, if the cats wet into the corner, it runs down the back of the box into the space below the waste bin and onto the floor. Good solution was mentioned by another user - put the box on a plastic bag or doggy mat. Despite its shortcomings, I will keep using it, because it is easier than a standard litter box and does not need an electrical outlet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wastefull

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from sacramento,CA
This litter box is good for everyday cleaning, but it wastes too much good litter. When I pull the lever to sift, tons of good, clean litter goes into the bottom tray. I have had this litter box for 4 months, I have had buy a new 28lb box almost every week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from GA
This thing works great, real simple to assemble and operate. To the person who said it just dumps all the liter, you must be using it wrong some how, maybe moving the lever way to fast. You want all the clean litter to get sifted into the catch area before pulling the lever all the way to get the clumps to drop below, pretty sure thats 1 of the reasons it has a view window on top, so you can make sure you're not wasting litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CA
It works well but you do still need to scrap off the we we but its great because I can clean the box as often as I want
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Litter Box

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Moweaqua,IL
Love it,it would be better if the instructions were clearer! But It is great to no have to sift everyday!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>