petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box

Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box

Unique pull and refresh system means no more scoopingEfficiently maximizes use of cat litterClosed design means no mess, no odors, no dustIntegrated carbon filter helps to control odorsClear-view access window allows easy monitoring of litterSuitable for cats of all sizesPan liners included
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
25 out of 34(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Review 1 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love!

PostedJune 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Waipahu, HI
Just bought this product about a week ago and I love it! Super easy cleaning. Putting it together was a breeze. I have two cats one is a 6 year old and the other is a 1 year old. My six year old cat was the first to use the box. My kitten was a little terrified of it at first but after a few days he has no problem using it either. I hated scooping litter and this was an amazing alternative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than scooping

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chula Vista, CA
Bought this about a week ago, we have two cats about 10 pounds each. Much more convenient than scooping. Takes about two pulls to get everything out. Replacement bags are cheap, under ten bucks for a dozen of each. I'm pretty sure this will help out around the apartment. Notice this size dimensions though, it's about as tall as a bathtub.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it.

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wyoming
I have been owned by cats most of my life, at present I have two. The one thing I always disliked was the litter box, I live in the country and my trash dumpster is 1/4 mile down the road, which means it would be crazy to clean out everyday and dump it in the trash, it's not like I can just walk out the door. But I dislike a dirty litter box, answered solved with this box, once a week when I take out the trash (live alone not much trash) I grab the liner from the pan and in the trash it goes. Works great no electrical parts to fuss with and the litter box is clean at all times. Wish I had found this years ago.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best litter box EVERRRR!!

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, TX
This is seriously the best litter box I've ever owned! It is super easy and does a great job on odor control. My 8 year old daughter has to clean the litter box as one of her chores and I used to fight with her all the time to get it done. Now, I just tell her to go sift it...no problems anymore since it is super easy now!! Definitely a sanity saver :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AzJudie

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Earp,CA.
I love this litter box. I did however keep my litter scoop just in case anything did not release from the bottom of box. This happened twice but one little scoop and it all went where it was supposed to. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME AND WORTH EVERY PENNY!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Excellent timesaver. I will never have to scoop again. My cat loves it and so do I! My cat is large and he has plenty of room. It looks nice and keeps odors away. I hardly know it's there!. It was easy to assemble and operate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Worth it

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
The box itself is very large, however the inside where the cat(s) go is smaller and very narrow, unless you have a kitten, most adult cats would have to stand sideways.
That being said, I used the box for 4 days, and couldn't wait to return it. Besides taking up a large amount of space, when you actually used it the way it says, IE the sifting part, if your cat goes on the sifting grate, the remains stick and clump on to the sifter. I found myself using the cat scraper to scrape the grate/sifter several times a day.
If your cat turns around and goes towards the open grate/sifting part, its nearly impossible (and very difficult at least) to clean the litter and now clumped remains out of the sifting part.
On top of that, because you are not using a bag, the remains sticks to the bottom of the box, so you have to take the box apart, scrape and clean the inside every few days, other wise the ammonia smell is over whelming.
Over all, the idea is great, the reality is poor and frustrating.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This design really needs improvment!

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ashland OR
First of all one of the components a plastic cover came broken and has not been replaced.
Second of all the lever to pull and tilt the cat litter clumps that have been used keeps falling off track and I have to reassemble the lever to the tilting box so it doesn't lock in very well.
Other than this its a great idea but not super fictional. Who knows maybe its the way I assembled the unit!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Litter Box

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
My boy hasn't used it quite just yet. But I know he will. He gets in it and looks out the window on top. We call it his space ship.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from tx
it is exactly what it says it is and performs as promised. I have had it for 2 weeks now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Replacement to a Sifting Litter Box

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I have used a hooded manual sifting litter box for 5 years. While it made waste removal easy, it wasn't a pleasant daily chore. After a serious crack in one of the pans, I had to shop for something new. I found the Hagen Catit SmartSift Litter Box and decided to give it a try. Wow, what a difference! With a good clumping litter, it is a clean, easy, and quick option - and the cat seems to like it too. It's clean because you never have to touch the litter and both the litter pan and waste bin each have their own liner. It's quick and easy because all you have to do is slowly pull the lever forward and push it back and lock it in place twice a day and the job is done. On trash day each week, I just pull out the waste bin, remove the liner, throw a week's worth of mess in the trash, and drop in a new fresh waste bin liner. What can be better than that? I agree with other reviews that the instructions are somewhat difficult to understand (I would have preferred to have had some written instructions along with the pictures), but after a few tries, it all made sense and we were good to go. HELPFUL HINT: While the litter plan has a depth indicator on the inside of the pan do yourself a favor - take a permanent marker and draw a line to indicate the maximum litter depth on the liner. This will make adding clean litter a snap to do and less of a guessing game when it's needed. From one cat owner to another, I'm happy I decided to buy this product and have already recommended it to other cat owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I really love this product. It was easy to put together and easy to use. Two of my cats loved it. The other cat won't go near it. Since she's outside most of the day, it doesn't matter. You absolutely do have to pull the lever slowly. That gives the litter time to fall into the holding reservoir before the cat waste falls out. If you follow instructions, it works!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this product

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Fl
It was a little difficult to put together. The instructions were very limited. That being said this is a great product. When dumping the dirty littler you have to be very gentle in tilting the top. I will take out the top liner, it is getting in the way of dumping and the cats are pulling it to cover their business. The bottom container is very easy to empty and with 3 cats using it, I only need to empty the bottom container once every couple days. Love this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Bulky and not cat friendly

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CS CO
This litter box takes up a lot of space. The plastic handle lever did not pull easily and felt like it would be the first to break on this unit. The box itself is very high to get into, and my older cat would not use it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I have 9 cats and this product has made my life easier!

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fla.&N.C.
A Good value when used correctly--Notes Below
1.DON'T OVERFILL PAST THE LITTER LINE AND YOU WON'T WASTE LITTER.
2.PULL THE HANDLE VERY SLOWLY AND YOU WILL LOSE LESS LITTER
3. SPRAY THE GRATE AREA AND THE LITTER AREA WITH A CHEAP VERSION OF COOKING SPRAY (LIKE PAM) I DO THIS EVERY TIME I CLEAN (PULL THE LEVER) THE LITTER BOX.
4.THINK I'M CRAZY?---IT WORKS FOR ME AND MY 9 CATS.---SPRAY THE GRATES AND THE LITTER BOX AREA--bottom and sides of litter area --EVERY TIME YOU PULL THE HANDLE--
----NO I DON'T TAKE THE BOX AS PART--REMOVE THE PLASTIC HANGING DOOR AND SPRAY AWAY--MY VET SAYS IT'S A OKAY-- JUST HUMAN GRADE FOOD OIL!
. I keep it in a small plastic shoe box with my litter scoop and a plastic spatula in case I'm gone too long and can't clean as often as needed. (HOPE THIS HELPS SOMEONE)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+37points
37of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT!!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Palm Springs Ca
Gosh I wish I would have bought these YEARS ago!!! Soooo easy, I turn the handle twice a day, replace bag once a week! Cats LOVE!!! we bought TWO!! I couldn't be happier!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ricmond, VA
I switched out from a littermaid to this litter box and it is great. . . lots of parts for cleaning when you clean but otherwise I have no complaints!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
16of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!!!!!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Milford PA
I have had many different types of litter boxes over the years and this is by far the best one i have ever had!! I have tried the Mechanical ones but they burn out too fast and need to be replaced. I have had the Smartsift box for over a yr now and it works great! Only had to clean the inside twice now, the slates get clogged once in a while but not a big deal, i just take outside and hose it off!! My cats love to use it and they always have clean litter with out breaking my back to clean it! Buying another one for my other cat! I have recommended this box to many of my friends already!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from va
I really hate this litter box. The liners rip, the sifter doesn't really work and yoh have to muscle it. Plus, if your cat urinates on the wall, it leaks down under the tray to het on the floor (or carpet in my case) and causes stains. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen CatIt SmartSift Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great concept

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn,NY
This litter box has a really great concept,but for the life of me I'm having problems putting it together - very poor instructions come with the product, mostly I'm trying to figure out how this box would work as described. I cannot see how the sifter fits into the structure & actually works to remove solid wastes, rater than retain the solids & sift the clean litter into the pull out cleaning receptacle. Any information would be greatly appreciated
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>