petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew

Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew

All-natural treat that helps satisfy chewing needs and cleans teethDoes not splinter or chipNon-allergenic and odor freeA natural source of essential minerals
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Review 1 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ridiculously Small

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
benc
I needed a "filler" to qualify for free shipping and my lab loves antlers, I regularly purchase 6-7" Length antlers at PetCo stores and have been pleased with the product. I thought it was the perfect thing to add to my cart. Unfortunately while it is almost exactly 6" in length it is only about 1/2" in diameter, so small I am afraid to give it to my Labrador retriever. Very disappointed in this purchase.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two paws up

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
eg5555
from Atlanta, GA
My giant schnauzers love these antlers. They will spend a good deal of time gnawing on them, meanwhile the antlers just keep on giving up that lovely natural flavor the dogs love--and they last longer than any other chew I've found.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Much smaller than expected

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
squirrly
from Columbus OH
My dog loves deer antlers that we have purchased at petco stores. He is still a puppy and I was advised not to get too large of an antler while he still has his baby teeth. This product looked like it would fit the bill, but it was way too small for my 4 month old Lab. I will be exchanging it at the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves it !!!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
fishfan0211
from Delran nj
My dog loves to chew this antler. Doesn't splinter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Chewers!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdoptDontShop
from New Orleans, LA
My Husky/Malamute foster LOVES these antler chews. These are about 9 inches in length and the diameter is also a good size for him. They definitely keep him busy and have reduced him chewing on things that aren't his!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chews for dogs

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
foolishpleasure
from Ottawa Canada
My dogs, being English Cockers, love to chew and I am pleased with the Deer Antlers that I purchased for them. They are odourless unlike the hooves that I have tried and don't spinter like some bones do and are not greasy like some other big bones are.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a large antler

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oregon
My 45 lb hound broke this antler in two and split the narrow portion within 25 minutes of me giving it to her. It's not sold as split but you might get an antler that had a smaller nub cut off of it, resulting in exposed insides. My dog broke the antler there.
If you have a good chewer, take the time to go to a store and buy an antler that doesn't have any sections cut off of it. I found a perfect one once and it was $27 but lasted two months. You get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrier Approved!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
RebeccaO
from Irvine, CA
You know I honestly can’t remember which antler we got. Deer, elk, or what, but I don’t really think it makes that much of a difference. My terrier loves it!
We were recently told by our vet to cease and desist giving our dog rawhide chews because they are not fully digestible. He recommended these little C.E.T. sticks that my dog could go through in 5 minutes! That’s hardly a chew, and I certainly can’t afford to keep replacing them!
We went to PetCo and expressed our dilemma to the owner and she recommended antlers. They are 100% digestible and they don’t splinter. My terrier whittled away at most a half inch by the end of the night. They may be more expensive than the other chews, but they last much longer and they end up being cheaper in the long run! My dog could eat a regular chew completely in a day and that’s if he wasn’t really trying. Antlers are going to protect my dogs digestion AND save us money! Yay!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
jillie131331
from Iowa
I like that the antlers don't split like other rawhides. The texture also helps to clean my dog's teeth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bone for Dogs

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
shadow0728
I started buying antlers this past year, my dog is diabetic and I have to watch what kind of snacks he eats. These antlers are the perfect chewing solution. It's not rawhide and it's all natural, and they last a long time! You can't go wrong purchasing these, they are worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is what I expected

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
frammacarol
from New York
These antlers are the kind that I look for for my golden. They're the perfect size and type that she prefers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves it!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gramma41
from Columbus, Oh
This was the only thing my one year old terrier could not chew to pieces within minutes. She loves the deer antler. It does not splinter or break off into pieces she can swallow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prairie Dog Regular Deer Antler Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Last Long

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Burgs
from Shoreline, WA
My Sharpeis are both excessive chewers. They finish bully sticks so quicklly, so I gave it a try on this. They love it! and it's lasting long. they're chewing them everyday! and it doesn't stink like hooves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.