petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain

Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain

Functions as a cat drinking fountain and small dog water fountainContinuously circulates and filters your pet’s waterKeeps water cleaner and fresher than a standing water bowlFree-falling stream of water encourages pets to drink more waterReplaceable foam filter traps debris and hairFeatures a low-voltage submersible pump for safe and quite operation
Average Customer Rating:
2.222 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
11
5 out of 18(28%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cheaply made

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Warren, MI
Bought the first one last year and it lasted about 8 months before the motor stopped working, I looked at various other fountains hoping to find one as small as the lotus because I have limited space. Unable to find one I gave the lotus a second chance and ordered one 3 months ago....big mistake. It is already leaking from the bottom. I would not recommend this product as it is very cheaply made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
This is a great product for a small dog or a cat, or a house with them both. However, I have a puppy and a cat, and said puppy will grow up to be about 80 lbs. He would have had a lot of trouble with this itty bitty fountain. I had to return it and look for another fountain that isn't plastic that would fit my new baby now, and later. Wish it would have worked out!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Design

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
The middle portion of this fountain is light and can be knocked askew by a cat sticking his head in the lower basin. If the middle portion is not set properly, all the water quickly ends up on your floor. This happened to me multiple times before I gave up and threw out this fountain. I also found it difficult to clean the surface. Stains just don't come off. And the filter is just a plastic catacomb that surrounds the pump and the cat hair gets caught deep in the catacomb and doesn't come out. My cats love fountains, but I've yet to find one that I'd rate great. This one seemed great at the start but ended up as a big fail.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lotusd Pet Fountain

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
This would be a great pet fountain except it ALWAYS LEAKS!!
Need to have a better washer & lock nut on bottom where wire comes out for the pump.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Favorite

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dublin, CA
I think I've tested about every cat fountain on the market. My two cats seem to like this one the best and if it gets them to drink more water, I'm happy, mostly because it helps my 15-year-old stay healthy. On the plus side, it's fairly easy to clean (quite easy to take apart, the ceramic is easy to wash, the pump comes apart pretty easily). On the minus side, the filters are on the expensive side. And I also need to add water every day (meaning, not much of a reservoir). However, I've never had any problems with leaks, and I've had it about two years. When this one breaks, I'll replace it with the same model. If I could change anything at all it would be an addition of some kind of reservoir.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy this fountain

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from OH
It will leak eventually. Poor design. I tried to contact the company about the flaw to get some sort of acknowledgement but they just ignored me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I should have listened

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I didn't' heed the warnings about this fountain. Worst decision to make. I read the one review about how it worked great for her but I guess that only one person is going to feel that way. Plastic tubing was already when I opened the box. I thought I could crazy glue it but no dice. I'll be taking it to the store and seeing if I could get a better one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Schererville, IN
Even after reading all the bad reviews I decided to give this fountain a try myself. I have had it for a few months and love it! I do not mess with the connection under it and have no problems with it leaking. I hand wash it completely every week with a two sided bottle brush and dish soap. I actually wash the filter too and it seems to work just fine. One cat doesn't bother it and prefers a regular bowl of water, but my other cat loves it and drinks from the sprout at the top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beautiful, but horrible!

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lusby, MD
I brought this home, and right out of the box, the plastic cord tube was broken at the treads. I took it back the same day and got a replacement. Took it home, and it leaked all night long. I had to refill this three times in 12 hours, not to mention the utter mess on my floor. The problem is the little plastic tube can't be tightened enough to engage the rubber gasket without completely breaking. This was extremely expensive in the store and never worked. It's going back tomorrow. This is not the fault of Petco, it's the fault of VetVentures, the producer of this faulty but beautiful cat watering bowl.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Noisy and splashes!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Western Maryland
Like other reviewers, at first this fountain leaked. We fixed that and it seemed fine. But this is the noisiest fountain! Yes, it has to be filled, which seems to be twice a day, but when it's not totally full, it is really noisy! We have an open plan house and we can sometimes hear it upstairs from the kitchen! Then, when you keep it filled so that it won't be so noisy, it splashes the water on the floor.
This is definitely not a good fountain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from FL
I actually did not have any problems with this at all. But that might be because I bought it at the store. There were no leaks at the bottom of the bowl like what other reviews said or overflow of water.
Love the sound of the water and the cat loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst fountain ever

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Calgary, AB
I own a Drinkwell Platinum fountain and other than the occasional leak for the last 4 years, it worked fine. Thus, when I saw the Lotus from Drinkwell I figured it would be of the same quality. Boy was I wrong.
We brought it home and couldn't get the fountain to stop leaking out of the bottom (where the cord comes through). Looks like when you spin the nut tight enough it breaks the other side where the cord comes out of.
We will be returning this fountain back to the store and hope to locate another Platinum. As well, my cat who usually can figure out any faucet-type running water item (including the sink) could barely get his tongue under the water flow.
DO NOT BUY! My real rating for this one is negative one paw - worst product ever.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco should not sell this

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from VT
This product has a major tragic flaw and should be discontinued! The part that snaps together and passes through the hole in the bottom of the ceramic bowl is not stable nor is it long enough. IFI AM able to make a few turns of the nut threads twist over the end of the tube to hold it, then the tiny rim at the other end where it connects to the tube snaps off. It's infuriating and a REALLY bad design. The first thing in the directions is about how it leaks and now I know why. This should not be sold. Save your self the hassle of returning It and the frustration of trying to make it work. DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT! Petco, you should try out your products before you sell them to customers. I'd give this product less than one paw if this was a choice!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LEAKS!

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rosenberg, Texas
We did not read the "reviews" before we ordered the fountain. Wish we had. Seems the leak on the base where the cord comes out is a common problem. We returned it hassle-free at our local Petco and will look for another brand. Cats loved the running water!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from KCMO
I have several cats and they do not like this fountain. There is not enough room between the side of the bowl and the top part of the fountain for them to drink . They do not want to drink from the top part of the fountain either. It is not wide enough for the cats to be comfortable to drink from . Also, the pump makes a rumbling sound which is faint, but still noticable. I've tried several types of mats under it, but still get the rumbling sound. I like the looks and enjoy the sound it makes, it just needs to be wider for my cats to enjoy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Design/Quality is TERRIBLE!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
We recently adopted two kittens and the Lotus Drinkwell fountain looked like it would be the most functional, and the most aesthetically pleasing (loved the ceramic as opposed to plastic!) However, this is only our first week, and we're already on our second fountain - which will also be returned.
After a few minues, there was an ever-growing pool of water under the unit that started creeping across the floor. We picked it up to find that it was leaking where the wiring for the pump is connected. So, just as the manual instructs, we tightened the ring at the base to prevent leaking. However, the unit started to leak even MORE. We disassembled it to find that the rubber tubing was ripped away from the plastic. Both fountains have had the same exact problem.
This is a beautiful but POORLY DESIGNED fountain, and the fact that we've been through two of them, without even being able to USE them, means I would not recommend puchasing this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design and defective.

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Dudley, MA
The part where the cord goes thru on the bottom is a poor cheap design susceptible to leaking and mine did. It apparently tore upon being tightened as was in the instructions. It was too thin.
Returned it to the local Petco and bought a difeerent item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A WATER FOUNTAIN FOR BOTH OF US!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ATLANTA, GA
I BOUGHT MY CAT ELLA THE Drinkwell Lotus Ceramic Pet Fountain. IT IS SO AMAZING. IT IS SIMPLE TO PUT TOGETHER. ELLA IMMEDIATELY CAME TO THE WATER FOUNTAIN WHEN I TURNED IT ON. IT MAKES ME FEEL HAPPY TO KNOW SHE CAN DRINK WHENEVER SHE WANTS INSTEAD OF SIPPING OUT OF THE TOILET BOWL!! NOT ONLY DOES ELLA LIKE IT, BUT THE SOUND IS SO SOOTHING! IT IS WONDERFUL FOR BOTH OF US!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.