petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Power Filter

Petco Power Filter

Features 3-stage filtrationSilent operationSelf-primingEasy change filter cartridgeFor freshwater and saltwater aquariums
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Power Filter
Review 1 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Product

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Farmington MN
I had bought this filter system to set up in out new 30 gal tank. I bought the correct size for my tank and set it up properly when I got home. After the first week a rumbling sound was coming from inside the filter. Thought it was the lid for awhile and taped it down. Even put a piece of paper towel behind the filter to see if that would help. Nothing seemed to help with the very loud noise. We have had it up for a good 3-4 months and it is rumbling even louder than before. I have had 15 years of fish experience and know when I have a bad filter. This filter has internal problems that can not be fixed. Thought it would just go away with a little tinkering/settling. Now its getting to the point were its terribly annoying. I am buying another new filter and buying a different brand. Do not buy this filter. Also has not cleared up the water at all and I have changed the filter appropriately.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

cleans but noisy

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Westminster, Co
Had it 2 days now, cleans well but lots of vibrations noise from pump. Not sure if this noise is normal or a faulty pump. Will be returning to petco when I get a chance for exchange
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works great but noisy

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern IL
I decided to try the Petco filter because of the price and all of the reviews on here were fairly good. The filter does work really well. It would be better if the filter compartment was slightly larger though since I like to add ceramic beads and they don't fit in this one. The other flaw is that it is noisy. There is a lot of vibration noise. For the noise reason I think I will be taking it back to the store. I don't even know my Aqua Clear is running and this Petco filter I can hear from the other side of the house (small house).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
This filter works great, the water in my 20 gal. tank is crystal clear using the 30 size. The filter is powerful enough to put a few bubbles in the water, but the current is not to strong for my Guppies. Sometimes the filter starts to rattle a little, but if you just remove the lid and put it back on it will stop. Also, the 30 uses the Large replacement media. I would definitely buy this filter again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Quiet

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sparta, TN
Just as quiet as my internal whisper filter for 3 gallon aquarium. Should be baffled for delicate fish though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I bought one of these pumps last week. It seems to be working good. I changed the filter already, because it was pretty dirty. I think it was my water I used.(Well Water). For the price I would recommend getting one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Grand Rapids, MI
I was hesitant to buy this filter for my 10 gallon freshwater tank, but the reviews were good so I took a chance, and I am glad I did!
This filter is wonderful. It keeps my tank clean and was very affordable. It is mostly quiet; I keep this tank in my living room and I can tell that it is on (some of the noise is from the air pump as well), but I can't hear it from the next room. The noise does not bother me. I would definitely buy it again.
My one complaint is that it is kind of big- about 6 inches long. This isn't a huge issue for me but it may bother some.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5-15 gallon works great!

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I bought this filter for my Betta's 5 gallon tank, and it is great! Keeps the tank very clean, and the current isn't too strong for Bettas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Pump

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
This is an excellent water filter pump. However, be careful when ordering replacement filters. The ones I ordered that stated they were for this size pump filter, did not fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.