petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background

T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background

Give your hermit crab something to cling onto and climb with our Crab Island Climbing BackgroundThe texture of the natural coconut fiber also absorbs water to act as a natural humidifierAnd, it makes the cage look great!
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 out of 26(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Review 1 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

T-Rex Crab Climbing Background

PostedMay 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Grandma Birdie
from Malden, MA
This climbing background is just great! I keep one of these at all times along the back and sides of my 10-gallon glass tank for my six smaller (less than 50 cents size) hermit crabs. It is made of strong coconut fiber and stands up easily in the tank with pieces of wood or other decorations propping it up. It can be attached permanently too. My little hermit crabs do the cutest thing at night! They all sit around on top of the background as though they are having a meeting. I clean it by microwaving (when dry) up to 1 minute and letting cool. It can be cut to any shape and can be sprayed with water to increase the all important moisture level. My larger strawberry hermit crabs (golf ball size and above)love it also but since it falls down with their heavier weight, I just cut a piece to put down on the substrate for them to hide under. I cannot be without several of these clever backgrounds. The hermies just love them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crab background

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mrsspa
from Nesbit, MS
Nice addition to my crab home. Looks very junglely!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Climbing wall

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
NashsMom
Works great. My hermit crab spends a lot of time on it. I do wish you offered some other climbing devices to entertain these little creatures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
TyLynn
from atlanta
i placed the climbing background in the tank, it fell down on the hermit crabs four times. I took the background out of the tank. Waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super good

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
SomeoneTookMyUsername
from Mars
This works very well! My hermit crabs loved to climb on it all the time! The only downside is that if something spelly gets spryed or anything smelly gets on it, its gone. ): But if you be careful it is awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Coolbreezelute36
It looks good, I hide all my cords behind it and my crabs do occasionaly climb up it but not very often, also it comes with only 2 velcro strips for the top corners, it would be a lot better if it had more, but my sand holds it up well so it works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
animallover4567
from San Diego Ca
This was an awesome purchase as soon as I put it in the cage the crab ran to it and climbed up it also does help with the humidity awesome definitely recommended by me
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't stay off!

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chevko
I bought this a few years ago or so and was rather skeptical of my three hermies liking it, but I needed something added to the tank so that it wasn't just four see-through glass walls, lol.
But lo and behold one of them wouldn't stay off the thing and constantly used it to climb onto the lid of their tank and the little fake palm tree we had at one corner. And, by golly, it would STAY there, too! lol It was almost a feat to pry it off of the tree!
I would definitely buy another one of these and recommend it to anyone else that is thinking about a background at the very least to their crabitat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
SamBee
from MA
I used this in my hermit crab tank and the hermies loved it! The love to climb all the way to the top and just hang out there, just make sure your cover is on tight!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
hermiefan
from WV
This is a great product. As soon as I put it in the tank (I have two medium sized PP's) they climbed right up the top of it. This does help with humidity as well. All you need to do is a mist it once or twice a day and it really helps keep the humidty high. The only con to this product I saw is that the velcro doesn't always stick and sometimes comes apart.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

goodstuff

PostedJanuary 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
bklyndamsel
I used this for my lizard tank to give them somewhere to climb. they seem happy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice and worth the money

PostedSeptember 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
bustertheboa
from South Central PA
I used to keep hermit crabs in high school, and felt that my daughters would have better luck with hermies than they did with goldfish. Not to mention that they can better interact with hermies!
Anyway, this coconut fiber mat is really nice for small crabs to crawl on, but make sure you've got at least 2" between the top of the coconut fiber mat and the top of the tank. We had two crabs escape before modifying the setup.
I actually found that cutting the mat into different size pieces, and then covering them with 23 guage 1/4 inch chicken wire (the kind that is used to make hermit crab cages at boardwalk stores) is very useful. The mats covered with chicken wire become much stronger and more sturdy; they can be bent, twisted, and rolled into various structures and constructs and maintain their shape.
I'll have to get another mat to use as a climbing "background." The other mat has been shaped into huts, logs, ramps, and other climbing structures. With the chicken wire covering, the larger crabs can readily climb also. Before when it was only the coconut fiber, they had trouble getting a good hold. Guess they were too heavy.
The only reason I'm giving this product 4 stars rather than 5 is because I wish the mat were larger, and the velcro adhesives -- should you elect to use it as a background attached to the back or side of the tank -- were better.
Still, I would highly recommend this product -- especially at $2.99 (I bought mine at the ioriginal price of $5.99). As others have stated, it is aesthetically pleasing and helps maintain the humidity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Fun Climber

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
megamelfina
This is a good climber that your crabs will enjoy. Use it anywhere in the tank to provide some extra fun!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing

PostedNovember 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
petlover84
from Snohomish,WA
when i got this for my hermit crab he was as active as ever i love this product and i would buy this product for all my hermit crabs to come!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a Jewel

PostedAugust 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
HermiesMomma
from Hollister, Missouri
I bought this product to block out some light in our crabs tank, not knowing what a true asset it would be for our Spiderman Hermie. It took a few days for him to notice it was there but once he did its a nightly jaunt for him. He climbs to the top of it and we know he's on top when we hear the tap tap tap of his shell on the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have for Hermit Crabs!

PostedJune 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
SDevs
from Pgh.,Pa.
I applied one of these across my 30 gallon tank,and it's great for the crabs to climb and get exercise on.You can also mist the background therefore improving humidty for your crabs which is very important for their health.
These are very decently priced and a must have in your crab tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well

PostedJune 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
thaibodian203
from Fairbanks, AK
This really helps out with humidity. I live in Alaska and there is hardly any humidity here at all. I bought this a few weeks ago and keeping the humidity up was very easy. Just mist it everyday and thats it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its all right

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
gomarky
from Arizona chandler
It was good at first they ware climbing but then they stopped for awhile i don't know if u do it behind my back o something but i will wait some time and review on this latter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Crabby
from St. Louis, MO
It looks really good as a back ground & helps w/ the humidity level during the winter but my crabs won't climb on it. Maybe they haven't figured out they can climb it yet? But for the price, I can't really complain since it has been so helpful w/ the humidity in the tat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for T-Rex Crab Island Climbing Background
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

t-rex climbing background

PostedFebruary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
lovemypet
My crabs love it.I see them up there all the time.For $2.99 great value.I wolud recommend this product to you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>