petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes

T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes

These natural seashells make the perfect food and water dishes for your hermit crabAnd, they add a decorative touch to his home
Average Customer Rating:
2.364 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
5 out of 11(45%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Review 1 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good food dish

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh
I only use one, and i use it for food. THe other one is a backup. I hate all of the plastic colorful stuff for hermit crabs so i try to get natural-ish accessories. This is a nice food dish, but don't use it for water because it will be too small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T GET THIS PRODUCT!

PostedJune 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California, CA
First of all, this is way too small for water and food! Second, there should be three, salt water, fresh water, and food! And finally, I got this in a kit when I first got my hermit crabs and mine had holes in them!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy please!

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
These "dishes" are very unsturdy and small. It barely holds any food/water. When your hermit crab (at any size) goes on it, it will tip and all the food will spill. Save your money for a real dish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Skip these

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from WV
These are too small to really hold any water so these are not great ideas for water dishes.
These are hard to clean when it comes to fresh and wet foods, but generally work well when it comes to dry foods. Wet food tends to stick and it requires a lot of scraping to remove it all.
My advice? Buy a reptile food dish instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Food

PostedSeptember 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Maine, USA
I have one of these as a "dry" food dish in each of my tanks. These are great for putting dry food into, they are easy to clean, and they don't take up a lot of space.
My biggest crab LOVES to carry the whole thing into her coconut hut. They usually don't spill their food, but medium/large crabs would find it easy to knock it over or carry it around the tank.
Overall, I would say it is worth it for some dry foods, but do not use this product for water as it is not deep enough for your crabs! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not My Best Purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Snohomish,WA
When i got these for my hermit crab i wasn't impressed!!! My hermit crab was really active and they didn't really meet my standards every single day my hermit crab (Squirt) would knock out the sponge and the sponge would get all sandy and i still go to school so it wasted my time to rinse out his sponge over and over again!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not good for water

PostedMarch 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
not a good water dish. pets will tip it over easily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not excaclly what i had hoped 4

PostedNovember 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Hillsboro, OR
Well when i got these bowls i thought ther would be great! But i thought wrong! These when ever you put water in then, they satrt to stink and they get moldy and they also start crackin! NOT RECOMENDED!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for hermit crabs food.

PostedMay 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
This works great for our 5 hermit crabs food.It is not too big and it is easy for the crabs to get their food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedJanuary 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Ontario
NOT GOOD FOR WATER, though good for food, I use them for some of my micros food dishes
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for T-Rex Crab Island Shell Dishes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedOctober 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
from orlando
hi, my hermit crabs love to drink and eat out of them and
even sometimes they fall asleep in it
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.