petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate

Beautifully handcrafted wood construction with convenient lower storage drawerDoubles as a night stand or end tablePeek-a-boo panels for healthy airflow
Average Customer Rating:
3.593 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
7
20 out of 27(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Review 1 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth Your Money!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Taz13
from Seattle
Dog chewed through bars in less than 20 minutes and got out while I picked kids up from school. Poor Quality Junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stunningly Beautiful Horribly Cheap

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
IggyXero
from Miami
I bought this crate despite the few bad reviews (and my girlfriends advise) and all i did was waste my time. The crate is stunning to look at , easy to assemble, and will definitely get a comment from guests. The problem is that its made of cheap compressed particle wood. My two Iggy's ate right through the front door. The wood is absolutely no match for any dogs teeth. You'll just get home to a floor full of saw dust and wood bits everywhere! And all the side bars are the same not just the front doors.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChrisinFresno
from Fresno, CA
The door is very poorly designed and broke withing two days. The pins that hold the door in place are not set deep enough into the door.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you like cardboard!

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
moe2u4me
My dog is crate trained really loves his crate ripped 2 bars off when I was only gone an hour he then chewed and ate the broken pieces up because it was cardboard! Then when I returned it to the store in Concord I encountered the rudest lady right when I walked in the door. It's a nice looking piece and I like the drawer underneath probably would be good as a bed not to be used to retain a dog in it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Love It!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chihuahamommy
from Vernon, CT
My Chihuahua's love there new kennels and so do all my guests. Everyone sees my new end tables and can't believe they are dog kennels. Very easy to assemble. Thank you Petco for making them so affordable!'
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maxx2012
from Westerly
Great addition to living room. Looks great, and Maxx loves it. He is a 10 lb chihuahua mix so I have the smaller one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty decent

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BiggggDogLover
from Houston, TX
For an inexpensive particle board crate, it isn't bad. It looks pretty much like wood and it is of acceptable quality. Installation is a bit laborious but once completed its a fair unit.
Upon delivery my first crate had one broken and one defectively-built part - but the replacement crate was all just fine.
I would buy this crate again ( and hope it arrived like the second vs the first shipment )
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pretty - but not functional

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Puggle54
from Seattle, WA
Despite reading some of the other reviews that said this kennel does not contain animals, I went ahead and bought it. It's pretty - some people love it - why not give it a try? Poor decision. While nice to look at, this kennel failed to serve the one function of a kennel, that is:to keep the dog inside. During her first time in the kennel, my 22 lb puggle was able to break some of the side slats from the frame and escape.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pretty, but not at all fuctional

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoosDaddy
from Pennsylvania
Bought this because it looked nicer than your normal run of the mill metal crates. My 25 lb terrier broke through one of the wooden slats and slid right out. It appears the slats are made from compressed cardboard. I spent the next day - rebuilding and reinforcing the crate - using aluminum slats screwed into the frame (on the inside, over the 'wood' slats, so it would still look nice from the outside). Unfortunately I feel the frame is made from the same cardboard like material, and the screws were ripped out the next night. If your dog has any desire to get out of this crate, it will. The one thing I need this crate to do is hold my dog, and it doesn't do that. Money I will never see again looks worse than a metal crate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Material

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
DOGOWNER3
from Baraboo, Wisconsin
My husband put the 2 dog crates that we ordered together, I loved the look and it matched our decor perfect! First problem I noticed was the door latches were too difficult to latch and were not going to last long. Problem #2 was the materials used for the "slats"- total junk. Day #1 and we are already missing a slat - one dog (a little 10 pounder) pushed it right out. The crate looks pretty, but does not hold up. Totally disappointed for over a $300 investment in the 2.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful looking!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
mjnightingale
from grass valley, ca
What a great crate...looks great with the furniture and wasn't too hard to put together. Maddie our Deer Headed Chi really likes it. She can see what's going on and there isn't a huge plastic crate in the dinning room., and it has a little drawer for her clothes, I never thought I would have a Chi in the first place, but one with a bigger wardrobe then me?! Crazy!
I would definitely recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crate

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Captfailure
from Winfield, WV
Perfect for small dog, and looks as though its part of furniture in the room
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Crate

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kat58
from Florida
Have not assembled yet, but loved the one in the store. Will be used in my yacht and the table will save a lot of space by not having to have an additional table.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The smaller crates are GREAT!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diannecpa
from Honolulu, HI
We bought two crates for end tables but I couldn't make up my mind what size, Small or Large. I won't buy a big dog so I landed with 2 small crates for the dog I will buy soon. My husband always says mail orders are a "rip off" but this time, he actually complemented me on their purchase. In fact, these two tables may change his mind.
They are very attractive and just right for our living room. The bigger ones probably would have worked but these two I have work fit like a glove. The crates (under $ 300 for 2) were affordable too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Crate, Small Drawer

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marley1
from San Jose, CA
This crate is very nice. The wood sides, door, top, and bottom are very sturdy. The finish is smooth and exactly the deep rich color shown on Petco's website. I waited until my puppy had outgrown her "chewing everything in sight" stage, though, since everything (including the bars) is made of wood. I have a small 10-lb chihuahua mix so I got the small crate. It is very spacious for her which is what I wanted to give her breathing room in the summertime. I took off one rating paw because the back panel is somewhat flimsy, the pads specified for the 400 crate (which has odd rectangular dimensions) are too small and don't fit well, the crate doesn't come in different finishes, and the drawer is only 12" deep and doesn't pull out farther than 7" where it reaches the stop. I think the stop is unnecessary since the drawer is on the floor so even if you pulled it out all the way, it wouldn't damage anything. My dog does like this crate. She sits inside like a little queen and surveys her family room domain. We keep the door open unless we leave her in the house alone so I would have liked to have a door that opened flat against the outside of the crate. The door only opens to something a bit more than 90 degrees so limits where I could put it in our small room. Also, a glass or plexiglass table top is required since the crate directions say the finish can be marred by almost anything that you set on it. In addition, there are some decorative grooves cut in the top that will be dust collectors if not covered. All in all, though, this is a very nice piece of dog-friendly family furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great idea

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Samax
from Woodinville, WA
I've been wanting one of these types of crates for some time but could not afford the hefty price tags that I've found ($300-$500 online). I was pleasantly surprised to find this one for this price and decided it was worth the gamble as I could return the product to my local Petco and not have to pay to ship it back to the online store. I bought two as I have two labradors, a smaller home and no end tables anyway. The quality is fine for the price. I was disappointed to see (after they arrived) there is a suggested weight limit of 75 pounds. My dogs are about 85 each but we are making do. I would have preferred to not have the drawer underneath as I have taken off the doors so that they could hang outside of the box if they choose to. My yellow lab loves the kennel, but my older black decided after a couple of days that he would not go in anymore. I think it is because the box is a bit small and he has arthritis in his back making turning around in it a bit challenging for him. The dimensions of 36 x 24 are the outside dimensions and thus the inside is smaller, which was also a bit disappointing. These kennels do not come in a larger size either. They do wobble a bit when the dog turns around in it so be careful as to what you put on top!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful crate, not very sturdy.

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoxiesMommy
from Colorado
The crate is beautiful, and it was easy to assemble.
However, it's more decorative than anything else. The wooden bars are loose, so I would only recommend this crate for dogs that are already crate trained!
My husband and I bought this crate to start training our 8 month old lab puppy. She did really well for the first few nights; but when we progressed to day crating she did not do well. We only had her crated for a half hour while we were out; when we came back, we found two of the bars broken off and the latch broken. If I had a do-over, I would have bought a metal crate at first and then might consider getting a nice wood one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pure Awesomeness!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
jewelsnoel1977
from Menifee, CA
I put this together by myself and love it! The assembly was easy and the crate is sturdy. My dogs love it, they couldn't wait to move into it. I highly recommend this to anyone considering a wooden crate. For the quality, you can't beat the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good looking, but not meant for a dog who doesn't do crates

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
TeacherLis
from Wisconsin
Got this for our new dog; it's sharp, sleek, and attractive. However, we put our dog in it for 1 hour and he chewed through the spindle on the door. We ended up just removing the door and not crating him at all, which has worked out well (fortunately). I wouldn't recommend this for a dog who doesn't do well while crated. He lays in it often and it still looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Premium Wood Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality for the price

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Masonmom
from Cincinnati, OH
I searched for a nice "furniture" type crate for months. Either they were too expensive, too small or the reviews said they were a cheap quality. Then I stumbled upon this one. It is unbelievable quality for the price. It's a very pretty and sturdy piece of furniture and great quality for the price. It was fairly easy to put together and is a nice size. I debated between the small and large one, not because the size of the dog, but the spot that I wanted to put the crate. I went with the small and was very glad I did, the small is actually quite large!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>