petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim

Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim

Removable rim secures liners and prevents spillsStrong and durable plastic constructionRim helps prevent litter from scattering
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Review 1 for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't expect litter to stay inside

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mound, mn
This inexpensive litter box is not necessarily designed to keep the litter inside the box. I like the quality of the product but I wish the sides went up a couple more inches.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this box, hate I couldn't pick the color we wanted.

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Talbott, TN
We have a kitty who likes to toss all of the litter out AND shred the sides of the litter box liner and this was the perfect solution to both. All of the others we looked at were way too tall and/or the opening was on the shorter side so it would have to be turned the wrong direction for the spot we have to put it.
I still can't believe it won't let you pick the color you want, which is beyond ridiculous, but other than that the box is perfect!
Also, it turned out to be backordered (even though when I placed the order there was no mention of that and it said it would ship the next day) so it took way longer to get here than I had hoped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for large cats, older cats, kittens

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bellows Falls, VT
I bought this for my 11 year old Maine Coon. She's a big cat and this litter pan allows her to turn around and paw in the box. It's also the lowest height entry I saw in the Petco store, which makes it easy for her to get in and out. I've used hooded models in the past, but she never buried her fecal matter. Now she buries her feces and has no trouble getting in and out and moving around. This would be great for older cats, for kittens, and large cats. My cat's not one to kick up litter, so I don't put the extra rim on, and I don't use bin liners. It would be nice if the litter pan and rim were priced separately, so people could have the option of not purchasing the rim.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps Litter in the Box

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LA
I love this litterbox. My cat is used to an open litter box, but she sprayed litter everywhere with her last one. The lid on this one keeps the litter in the box but is still open so she does not feel claustrophobic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest to clean litterbox (sidewalls a plus!)

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from SW Colorado
I have been a fan of these flat-style sidewalls ever since my old favorite style was discontinued. My cats are both almost 14 years old and have never tolerated the completely enclosed little boxes. I thought my old favorite sidewalled-litter boxes did a good job of containing scattered litter, but these work even better! There is still a bit of scattered litter but very minimal, and an indoor/outdoor carpet square I put beneath my litter boxes traps 99% of that bit. I highly recommend this style and I have ONLY ever found them at PETCO! Thanks PETCO!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

cat likes it

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from boston, ma
I bought this pan because my kitten was throwing litter everywhere from her old box. I didn't want a covered box, because I don't want her to feel like she has to hide, so I thought the rim could solve the problem.
It does help - there is definitely less litter outside the box, but it doesn't totally stop the mess.
She adjusted easily to it, so we are keeping it.
I wish it came in a smaller size, but it is the best looking pan with a rim I could find. It's not over-sized compared to other boxes - I just wanted a smaller one.
One problem with the Petco website; it doesn't let you chose the color. So I ordered 2, kept the beige one, and exchanged the blue one for beige in the local store.
FYI - it was cheaper online than in the store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not big enough and don't like color

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NY
Hi. Somehow when this litter box arrived it was much smaller than I expected. I haven't tried it yet. Also, it was very frustrating to order this online, and it says "you'll pick the color'. Ick. I wanted the beige one, but got a very dark navy blue. I don't think I'll be keeping this. :-(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Large Open Litter Pan with Rim
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Needed!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
I have been struggling to find the right box for my little girl. My kitty enjoys kicking her litter about and I was cleaning up the box and the litter spray at least twice a day. I purchased a covered box initially, but after a trip to the vet's she refused to use the covered box anymore and I thought I would just have to settle for an open pan and daily clean up. Enter this litter pan with rim and I am now the happiest pet parent around. The rim around this pan really does a nice job of containing the litter, so now I just have to worry about scooping daily and nothing else! If you are experiencing a similar issue I recommend you give this litter pan a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.