petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs

Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs

Interrupts & modifies destructive or aggressive behaviorEasy-to-use sprayFresh, soothing lavender chamomile fragranceMimics a natural pheromone that almost immediately calms & refocuses pets to end their negative behavior by reducing their excitabilityThe effect is longer-lasting than noise alone
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Review 1 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

pheromone spray

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
stacy525
from roswell ga
Well it worked the first couple of times and then the dogs could care less. It may work for other dogs but not mine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
mmeprof24
from New Jersey
Don't know how (or why!) this works -- I have actually read the explanation, and it is still a mystery! -- but my very big goldendoodle and small poodle have really cut back on their very vigorous, rug-shifting chasing. They actually do respond to the sight of the can, as well as the tone of my voice when I say "no chase!" Small can, yes, but hopefully I won't need to use it very often!! Smells good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

never even slowed my chihuahua down

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
sonyo
from princeton wv
This was worthless for my chihuahua and I read all the directions prior to using. Used as directed. It only made him more angry and bark worse. It was a total waste of money and yes I tried it numerous times until the bottle was empty.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
3crazybarkers
from Florida
We had reached the point that we couldn't even open the front door to guests until our dogs were outside or crated. Loveable but crazy. The barking and jumping we're uncontrollable. Tried a trainer but one of our pups is "not all there" and that makes it hard to train the others. I needed something to get immediate attention. This spray really works!!!! Took a few sprays initially but within 2 days or so I noticed that another person had come in behind the first and the dogs weren't jumping, barking or sniffing incessantly!!!! The smell is pleasant and not overwhelming (maybe it is if you're super sensitive to smells?) and the noise is just a little surprising if you're not expecting it. Our "dumb" pup is a little skittish when eating so I don't use it then to help keep the others away from his food. At the front door it has been unbelievable! I plan to never run out. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop that noise...

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tlogan
from Ocala, Fl
This stuff works, to my surprise :) I used it a couple of times and now all I have to do is show them the can and they settle down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
SuziL
from Island Lake, IL
I boiught this trying to curb some bad behavior and used it 4 times...I am totally baffled on why this works but it is simply amazing.now I just show them the can and it stops them in their tracks.It smells great and I used it maybe 2-3 feet away from them. A must have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works better than anything I have tried

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
1935goldie
from Oregon
I have two small dogs and a real barking problem. However, I have used this spray only a couple of times and yesterday while I was talking to my neighbor (and holding the spray can in my hand) my dogs were totally quiet. Before when we tried to talk to one another outside we could hardly carry on a conversation. At this time I plan to buy another can of the spray so I will not run out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weird Science?

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
tree1110
from Vernal Utah
I got this to train my lab to walk, not pull, on a leash and to not charge the door when someone comes over. I don't think it's the pheromones that stop the dog cold, I think it's the loud sound. It sounds like compressed air and they literally are GROVELLING when I press the button. I kinda feel like I'm beating them or something they look so pathetic. But it works, pull out the can and you don't even have to spray...they are literally TERRIFIED of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works well

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
baileyjax
My dog really responds to it. Stops his bad behavior almost instantly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Noise and pheromone spray

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Petey908
I think the burst of air/hiss noise was ok but the pheromone was too strong. You can smell it right away and it lingers in the air. He is just a puppy so love to play and chew his toys. After I used it once he just laid down and stared at me. He typically only lays down to sleep but he was just looking at me.
The box said ok for all ages but I think the pheromone was too strong for a puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this product while my chihuahua's do NOT

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
rabidreader
from Central Illinois
My two Chihuahua's are very well behaved and mind easily....until someone comes into the house. Nothing I've tried has stopped the barking. Putting them into another room only had them barking from that room. This spray - which I purchased with little expectation of success after all I've tried - exceeded all my wishes. After just a few actual sprays, just the sight of the can and my "No Bark" stops and they go sit on their pad and watch. They are way too small (4 and 6 pounds) for any devices, training works on everything but the "welcome" issues, and our frustration was only growing. Now our company can have peace and quiet, our dogs are less stressed and all for the cost of the can! I recommend this product - so long as you can be consistent with your training - highly. I purchased two cans - not knowing if it would work quickly - and have already given the 2nd can to a friend. The first can has only been actually sprayed a couple of times. Great product for the value. Does not harm the dogs. Saves everyone's ears and nerves. Love this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMGOSH!!!

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chorkies2
from Plainfield, NJ
I have 2 male Chorkies (Chihuahua/ Yorkshire Terriers) one has the temper of a Chihuahua (Milo) while the other (Max) is mild. Every now and then they fight, Milo is smaller then Max, so when then get into a fight MIlo always gets bit, i was about to give Milo up, until i came aross "Stop That", when i tell you this stuff works, IT WORKS. All u have to do is TAP the spray can and say STOP THAT, they stop, all they have to do is see the can and they know to stop before it gets started. it to the point now that all i have to say is STOP THAT and they stop whatever their doing. Between the aroma and the hissing sound they dont like, all i know is they are the best li"one yr olds, im so glad i did my homework, i didnt want to break these brothers up, thanks sooo much for a great product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does Work

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doggyworld
from S. Cal Mountains
Just received our second spray. The product does work and get your dog's attention, they become immediately quiet. The spray alone will not correct behavior, a firm NO at the same time will help.
The product is good however there are two things to be aware of.
One thing to remember is that the spray can is very small, my first can lasted no more than 15 times.
The other thing to remember is that it needs to be used very close to the dog. In my case I am working on correcting my dogs barking at people walking by. I have been able to spray them right when they are barking and they stopped instantly. But when I approach to correct them with or without the can they stop anyway. Even having been sprayed a dozen times they still bark with every person or dog passing by until I approach.
The idea is to be very close and spray when they are in the act. So far it has not helped totally with what I needed it for. However just a glimpse of the can has helped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great training tool!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
SherylinMA
from SE MASS
I bought this after reading the reviews from other consumers, and I have to say, it works EXACTLY as I had hoped, for my two young chihuahua puppies. I have two 4-month olds who are exuberant and fun. However, as I would be with bigger dogs, I didn't want my pups jumping up on people, or licking their faces. And these pups did just that, all the time, from the time I brought them home. So, 3+ months of allowing the behavior, and then 1 day of using this product, almost completely stopped the undesirable behaviors. Before using this product, I was afraid to let them play around my younger grandkids; and yet this past weekend, they played quite nicely with my 3-year-old and 1-1/2-year old grandkids, without even ONCE jumping up on them (at that age, they'd be jumping at their faces, too, which is dangerous) or trying to lick their faces. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. For me, it did exactly what I wanted, and more. Not only did it get their attention, and spotlight what the undesirable behaviors were, but it also got my pups to pay MUCH closer attention to what I was saying, all the time. When I say "NO" now, they totally get it. When I say "good dog", they get that too. They can relate to what's good and bad now, and I rarely have to use the spray can. But it's great knowing it's there, for when they develop some new undesirable behaviors. It has made a GREAT change in our relationship with these puppies, in less than a week! I would highly recommend this product for puppy training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Works!!!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JPTD
from MD
I have used this 3 times for barking, jumping, and refusing to lie down. First time I had to give 3 sprays, but I wasn't pushing down hard enough. She finally quit on 3rd loud spray. Other 2 times one spray did the trick and she stopped right away. As other people said, just holding up the bottle works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This works

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
beaglover
from Phoenix,AZ
I had a foster beagle that would howl in a BIG way. I used the spray and he stops instantly. He was adopted before I could tell if it had any long lasting effects. Usually one spray was all it took, and he would not howl until something else triggered him. Don't think the pheromones did anything. The only down side is that it affects all dogs in close proximity. So if they aren't doing anything wrong, they wonder whats going on. But this does work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
puppie
from spencer, oh
My little girl, Penny, is a barker. She barks at everything. When we are in the car and stop she will bark at people walking or in other cars. This has stopped that. I am so impressed with this product, I have tried cans with pebbles inside and squirt guns. This is way better and smells good too. I want one that can attach to the leash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STOP THAT!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NJ
I would never want to hurt my pet, but yelling at him doesn't work. And, im not going to hit him, it's wrong and animal abuse. So, while i shopping at petco i found this product and let me tell you. Whenever he even sees the bottle in my hand he knows. When i spray him (12 inches away of course) he freaks out. his ears go down and he runs underthings with his tail in between his legs. I use this for when he gets out, when he pees in the house ect.. its great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Good Behavior Stop That! Noise & Pheromone Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It worked!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
llamalady
from california
My puppy would not leave my tennis shoe strings and sandal straps alone. After just 1 use of Stop That! He was a changed doggie. I still use it once in awhile when he is wound up, or for training on new problems. Often I just show him the container and he stops. When I use the product he doesn't cry or act like it harmed him, he just stops what he was doing and looks at me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.