petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand

Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand

Durable and contemporary aquarium stand designAdjustable leveling feet let you stabilize your fish tank stand on uneven surfacesConvenient storage shelf to hold food and maintenance suppliesDesigned to hold any standard aquarium or terrarium up to 20 gallonsDark color and open profile are sure to suit any style of décor
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Review 1 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This tank stand has a very nice finish to it. It holds my 10 gallon tank very nicely on the top shelf. My only concern with it was that it took over an hour to build and one of the wood pieces did not lock correctly into another. It wiggles a bit, even after tightening the screw as much as possible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as sturdy as I wanted

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wesley Chapel, FL
I am not comfortable with this stand holding my 20 gallon tank. It is a put-together stand, kind of like something you'd get from Ikea with that light-weight wood. When I touch the tank the stand rocks a bit. Hoping my dog doesn't slam into it as if that happens, I would hate to see the outcome of that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

1 year later

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from OK
This stand is strong and sturdy. The finish looks nice but has not been very durable. It will easily scratch if bumped against. Overall for the price it is worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great product

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I just put together this stand last night and I was really impressed. The assembly was a piece of cake, minus a bad B3 nut that gave me some trouble. When finishing up with the last pieces, I really noticed how strong and sturdy this stand really is, which is a huge plus when it has to hold a 90 lb fish tank. Overall, I am very happy with this product and will look great in any room of the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect stand

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NH
We love this stand, had a coupon for 20% off, was a perfect price. This stand seems very sturdy and looks great, only took about 25 minutes to get it together, just have to read and re-read the directions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's ok just a basic stand

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from new york
A PAIN TO PUT TOGETHER INSTRUCTIONS STUNK!!! I put it together upside down at first then had to do it all over again!!!!!
Little bit wobbly on a rug!
Basic stand nothing special its just good it has shelves. I would NOT PUT ANOTHER TANK ON THE OTHER SHELVES. NOT STURDY ENOUGH NO WAY!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nanticoke Pa.
This is a perfect stand for my 10 gallon aquarium. Sturdy and the two shelves come in handy. Only took 20 minutes to assemble. Quality workmanship.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stand

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kentucky
This is a very nice looking stand and very solid. I don't normally write reviews but this stand was good enough it needed one. The only problem is that it is put together odd. It works fine...just odd. Read the directions at least twice before you start to put it together. I would buy another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Top Quality Stand

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
Not one who normally writes reviews, although I read my fair share of them. However, the quality of this stand, at this price point, has prompted me to.
For the price, this stand cannot be beat! Upon un-boxing, I was happy to see the stand was made of solid woods all around and the black finish was a very nice touch. As another reviewer said, this looks like an actual piece of furniture, this stand would look good in almost any living area of your house. I also like the fact that the stand has leveling legs built into the bottom corners.
The instructions are a bit tricky to figure out at first, but take your time and it should only take you about 20-25 minutes it have this fully assembled. Petco knocked it out of the park with this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really like this stand

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Definitely a nice stand for the price! I was not happy when I wanted to replace that skinny wrought iron stand, and almost all other stands were over a hundred...
Fits my 20g H perfectly, with a little room on the sides and enjoying the shelves for storage the best!
Definitely a two person job as others suggested! Took a few hours for us to figure out how to put it together correctly. Read the instructions in full before starting the first step.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great when finally assembled

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from (middle of nowhere northern Nevada)
I agree with other reviews that once this is assembled it is an excellent and sturdy stand. However, the directions say best to use 2 people to assemble. I agree....one to read the directions and put it together and one to keep the first person from ripping their hair out and throwing the directions out the window. Bad, bad directions. Once I finally got the pieces all facing the correct ways it was a snap to get together. The challenge was figuring out whether holes faced in or out especially on some of the side pieces. But would I buy it again? Absolutely....now that I know how to put the darn thing together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Stand

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
I use this for my 20gal. Out of the box it had only 7 pieces. It assembled easily in about 15-20 Minutes. Is simple, sturdy and yet looks nice with the shelves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Newport Wooden Tank Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
This was just as it looked in the picture and possibly even better. It looks like a furniture quality piece. It assembled easily. It is sturdy. We use it for our lizard terrarium. I love the shelves to store our supplies and put the day and night light timer on. It was worth the money. We have it in our breakfast room area. It matches our decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.