petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tagg Pet Tracker

Tagg Pet Tracker

Track your pet using GPS Monitor pet activity levels Receive alerts when your pet gets out Interactive map - directions to your petFree award-winning apps - iPhone and AndroidFree starter pack: 2 months service includedNo service commitment- $9.95/month after first two months One-time $14.95 activation fee
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tagg Pet Tracker
Review 1 for Tagg Pet Tracker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible product

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
The tracker did not work in areas that the website stated in worked in CA near San Francisco. It also told me my dog and tracker were about a mile away from home while sitting right next to me at home. Not helpful or what I was hoping for. FAIL
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tagg Pet Tracker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

tagg pet tracker a no go

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from central mn
The price was OK(on sale), set up took a while(2 days) and then it doesn't work here. Our cell coverage is OK but the GPS doesn't work. We live in a heavily wooded and hilly area and the GPS has never been able to find the dog when he's outside, even out in the open or down our 1/2 mile driveway. My wife took the dog down to get the mail, about a 15 minute walk one way and then back and we never got a notification that the dog(GPS collar) was outside his home zone, which he was for 20 minutes. But GPS can find the dog when he's in the house(sometimes). I'm sure it will work in the fall and winter when the leaves are down, but then it's easy enough to see the dog. We will send the unit back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tagg Pet Tracker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great life saver

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bartlett, Illinois
I purchased the Tagg. It works great. Easy set up out of the box. Common sense directions. The app on the phone and text messages are quick when a problem arises. I strongly recommend this product to everyone with a pet that may escape their backyard. works great in areas with low cell phone signals Bring the base with you on vacation travel well. Tagg will let you know if it has fallen off the collar, usually human error one side didn't click. .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tagg Pet Tracker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A little peace of mind

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from suburban Washington DC
One of my dogs is a master escape artist. We live in a dead-end neighborhood near woods and park land. He has spent the last 4 years living in an apartment and is happy to be back in his old neighborhood. He really needs to wander. After we have blocked off all possibly exits, he still manages to find a way under the fence and take off. With TAGG, I no longer wonder where he wanders! I can check up on his whereabouts and at least feel assured he is not wandering into areas with traffic. So far, so good, he sticks to the fields and woods. When he's out on walks with a family member, I can keep track of where they go The only thing I don't have is a smart phone to help find him. But he's a clever boy and always returns home. Next I need a camera to watch his journeys!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tagg Pet Tracker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ms
I love this Tagg. Worth the money for sure. Does not bother my puppy at all. Stays in power saving mode when dog is close to the charging dock.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tagg Pet Tracker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This paid for itself within 1 week!!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
To set the stage, I have a very well behaved pointer/greyhound mix that listens unless she is chasing an animal (usually squirrels and rabbits). At home, I have a fenced in yard, but at my mom's house she knows how to get out of the yard. So, when visiting my mom in Wisconsin for New Years, I brought the tagg tracker and set up the zone around my mom's house.
Within 2 hours, Sadie (my dog) found a rabbit and chased it. Instead of sprinting after her with my mom's Bernese in tow, I took the Berner inside the house and grabbed my car keys.
I was alerted immediately on my cell phone that Sadie had left her "safe zone." I responded to the text with "TRACK" which updated me with Sadie's most recently known location twice. The first location was about 1.5 miles from my mom's house, so I started driving to it. As I was driving, I saw Sadie running down the ditch along the road working her way back to my mom's house. I pulled over and opened the back door and told her to get in the car. She jumped right in and I was SO glad I had (1) decided to buy the tagg tracker and (2) had put it on her as soon as I got to my mom's house.
The ONLY negative I have been able to find with this is that the range of the "safe" zone is very big, especially if you live in a small lot. The zone is also circular, so it doesn't make sense with typical lots being rectangular. The thing that I realized this last week is that if your dog escapes, the likelihood of your dog leaving the safe zone is very high. After that, it is extremely accurate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tagg Pet Tracker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rockford, IL
I love this device. And now that it has activity tracking, it's even better! The device is there if I ever lose my pet, which give peace of mind, but now I use it every day to track the dogs activity level. Even when I'm not home I can tell when they were running and when they were sleeping and whether a good long walk is in order. Finally, the website and the mobile app are easy to use and easy to set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tagg Pet Tracker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has GPS technology!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Burbank, CA
I bought several of these. I even use one on my cat! It is very simple to use. The customer service is very fast, very friendly and has extensive knowledge. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.