petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food

Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food

High-quality protein and complex carbohydrates help meet higher energy needsAn optimal balance of Omega 3 & 6 fatty acids helps promote a shiny coat and healthy skinUnique "small-bite" kibble is the perfect size for smaller mouths
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Excellent food for your dog. Very healthy. Lightening fast shipping from Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

#1 choice for my picky eater

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NC
This gets a "paws-up" from my little picky eater.
She really likes the flavor and kibble size.
5 star review of food would make me feel better about Blue Buffalo. Most review websites only give 4 - 4.5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
Brought home my little poodle from a rescue ranch and started her on this food that day. She never has had any stomach upsets or problems. Excuse me but she has "good poops" all the time.
Great food and would recommend it without hesitation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rescue FM recommended!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Port Richey, FL
This food was recommended by the Rescue FM after the vet diagnosed food allergies. My Yorkie's coat is shinny, her skin isn't dry and there is little to no weepy eyes. I can't say she eats it with enthusiasm but she prefers it moistened slightly with water or broth rather than dry. When she does eat it dry, she leaves behind the darker smaller bits, which Blue calls LifeSource bits. I give very little human food or scraps. Her weight is good and there are no digestive issues. As long as she is eating, I am happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

feeble yorkie who hated his kibbles loves eating now!

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from newton ma
my tiny yorkie used to weigh 2.5 lb before he came home with me. the old owners used to feed him iams proactive health kibbles, and for first 2 months, i fed him the same because that was what he was used to. he never really ate his kibbles, sometimes going an entire day without touching his food. i grew very concerned about his health and well-being, and with the recent recall with iams, i decided to change his kibbles to blue. while i was looking at blue products at petco, i was helped by one of the blue sales rep and was recommended to try this grain-free type. he informed me that if for some reason i wasnt satisfied with the product, i could return for a full refund even if i opened the bag because blue has a satisfaction guarantee policy.
first few days, my dog used to spit out his new kibbles but after a week, he started to eat only his new kibbles and on REGULAR BASIS. gradually, he got more active, gained weight (now 3.5 lb) and his coat got softer. he now never goes a day without eating and even asks for his kibbles. i am so impressed with this brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solution for dogs with allergies

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
My dog had severe allergy symptoms, but tested relatively free of allergens. So we looked at her diet as a source of her problems.. Changing to Buffalo Freedom for small dogs has made a huge difference with my dog. She no longer requires prednisone to help relieve her itching and scratching. She is itch-free and has a full coat. No more allergy eyes! Hope this food helps other dogs out there like mine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Chihauhau Loves It!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Southeast Louisiana
My dog ate his first serving up so quickly. I've never seen him enjoy a dog food so much. The size of the food is perfect for his small jaws. I didnt realize his prior dog food was so much bigger in size. I smelled the dog food and it actually smells better than other dog food I've given to my dog in the past. Bc its healthy, I feel like such a good parent to my pet. He's even shedding less hair now. I cant recommend this dog food enough. You and your pet will love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Dog Food

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dayton, Oh
I have been feeding Grain Free Blue Buffalo for 2 years to my small poodles. I like that the food is grain free, no gluten's and has NEVER been recalled. It is made in the USA. Also, there is no beet juice in the formulation and that helps keep the staining around white dogs eyes to a minimum. I recommend this food to all pet owners who value their dogs health. (or cat)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product features are one of the best

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, MS
since I began using this product my Shih Tzu's hair and skin is healthier due to the ingredience. There is no GRAIN in this product and Chicken is # 1.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Buffalo

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pea Ridge Ar
My precious 5 year old, Old English bull-doggie Tread was having a terrible time with stomach issues. We were turned on to Blue by some friends and then later found out he was allergic to corn. Around that time Blue came out with Freedom. He now has no stomach issues and his coat is spectacular! We are a customer for life!!!!!
A grateful pet owner, Tami
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gluten Free makes a difference

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My sheltie had been having many digestive problems, bladder issues and allergies. She has been on the gluten free Blue dry food for over a year and has been doing great. Her coat is shiny, her allergies and digestive issues have subsided. The vet had said these symptoms were likely diet related and for her, the gluten free has worked well. I would highly recommend this product. She loves it and is doing well on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Dog Food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from The Villages, FL
I am writing to let you know that Blue Freedom is an
excellent dog food- as there is NO grains in the food which our dogs really donot need, and all of the ingredients are good for your dog. Both of my dogs are very picky eaters and they love the Blue Freedom
and it agrees with them.
I have looked at other labels- and NO ONE compares with Blue.
Thank you for carrying this brand-as my dogs health is very important to us- and they hardly ever get sick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, WI
I have a cat with food allergies & can only eat BB grain-free foods so when I adopted a dog I had to make sure the food was also grain-free and so I chose BB (that's what the cats eat) and Oliver loves it! He eats it right up and there are no digestive "issues"! Great food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Small Breed Freedom Grain Free Chicken Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Alderson, WV
I would always recommend Blue Buffalo products for animals as they are one of the better ones that understand animal's needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.