petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Grain free, natural formulaFresh chicken is the #1 ingredientIncludes blueberries that are packed with antioxidantsContains high-quality salmon oil to support skin & coat healthBalanced nutrition made with real whole foodsResealable bag for optimum freshness
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 out of 39(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My picky dogs way to go!

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
LunaPoodle
from New York, NY
My really picky 1 year old Mini-Poodle (turns 2 next month) still loves this food! She has been on Merrick's Grain-Free recipes since 7 months old, before that she had Purina's puppy chow and Beneful. She never touched her bowl, and they were all corn, wheat, soy and by-products. No, thanks. Not only is Merrick great quality (from what I read on the ingredients and reviews on dog food websites) but she actually likes it. She HATES dry food, even dog cookies. She isn't a fan of dry. When it was delivered she stood next to me as I opened the box. I cut open the bag, she took a big whiff and wagged her little tail. I gave her a cup full straight out of the freshly opened bag, not even mixed with Merrick's wet food, like she usually eats. She dug right in. Finished every bit! I was surprised she ate it plain. This food is a keeper. If your are new to Merrick's food I recommend getting the smallest size bag to see if your dog likes it, mix it little by little with their regular dog food to transition so it won't upset their tummies :) if they are still picky try mixing with Merrick's wet food! Also just a little tip, the dog food bits might be a bit big for tiny mouths just be aware of that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

merrick grain free dog food

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
johncuda
from winter park, fl
dog loves it and i love the ingredients especially being grain free.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for my dog with EPI

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
GAsMommy
from Alton, IL
I had been struggling with my shepherd mix's exocrine pancreatic insufficiency for about a year after her diagnosis -- trying to get her medication and diet adjusted correctly, when I finally tried this food. Within a week, her BMs were back to normal. She's maintained a healthy weight for over a year on this food and I've been able to cut in half the amount of enzyme I have to give her each day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
dwms
from San Miguel, CA
My Mini Schnauzers love it and the food has great ingredients.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
drtson
from Wallingford, CT
My dog needed to change to a grain free food on the advice of our vet due to recurrent ear infections. He loves this food and we feel it is a very good value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy and Wholesome

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuvTobGen2
from Richmond, VA
I don't worry about feeding my dogs this dog food, it doesn't have harmful ingredients and fillers. They don't get stomach upset or have allergic reactions like they did with other dog food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

USA made

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ebby1
from Hickory, NC
Great food, made in USA with USA ingredients, that is very important to our family.Our three dogs loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Shih Tzus love this food

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mom2ShihTzus
from Tampa, FL
I have 2 shih tzus, both around 1 year of age. One of my dogs is extremely picky and has a very sensitive stomach and he has no problems at all with this food and he enjoys eating it. We have tried so many different kinds of good quality dog food and this is the only one that they have continued to eat. With the others they would eat it for a few days, but then refuse it. If I try to mix food together, they will pick the Merrick out and eat it and leave the rest behind. We will be sticking with Merrick!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick grain free chicken & sweet potato

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
None1111
from Western PA
Our dogs love this food! It is a bit pricey but by using the Petco Pal rewards and other promotions, it ends up being very affordable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

healthy dogs

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
dogsrock13
from kingston,RI
Excelent product! I have my 1 year old doberman mixed and my 11 year old blue tick hound. And they are Soooo healthy. I my older dog 1 year ago and I can see a big diference in his overall health. Totally recomend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS FOOD

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
hhadavis
from copperas cove, tx
Switched to this food over a year ago and love it. Great for all my dogs which varied in age. I fed 2 senior boxers, and 2 young pomeranians on this food and they all loved it. Did put some of the wet canned food in the dry also for my seniors. I have since had to let my seniors go, and am doing some fostering for boxers, and it improved all their diets. The senior boxer male I had has always had a sensitive stomach, this was the first food he didnt have occationsional throwing up with. It well worth the extra money, they tend to eat less with a better food also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pepa
from Washington
This dog food is the best so far and I have had over 100 brands of dog food
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Even my picky eater likes it...

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
GoldenMomVA
from VA
We have two goldens that we used to feed Blue Buffalo chicken basics. My male has a very sensitive tummy...and he seemed to be developing an digestive problem that we couldn't seem to pinpoint the cause. Our vet suggested bland diet and then slowly returning to dog food as soon as we put him back on BB digestive issues started again. So she suggested trying a new food and that several of her clients in the recent months had been having issues with BB. After LOTS of research and back and forth with vet, we decided to try Merrick as an 'affordable' option with great ingredients. Merrick has been great for my fury kids. Even the male who is picky along with sensitive gets excited at meal time now. He used to be a 'grazer' but now jumps right in and gobbles it up. I do also notice less waste, we fed the same amount as we had before. I would highly recommend this if you have 4-legged friends that have tummy problems. Only negative...it doesn't smell very good ;-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NO Grain

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mommyshops4BG
from Westminster, MD
Our Yorkie is very active and wanted her to have a good quality dog food. Merrick Grain Free fits the bill. We buy a bag of each flavor for a variety so she doesn't get tired of it. She goes through a 4lb. bag a month, and each month we give her a different flavor. I am very pleased with this product and would recommend it very highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Improved Coat

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
jennipm
from Las Vegas, NV
Within a month my dog's coat improved. But after a month of diarrhea we allergy tested and found out she is allergic to salmon oil, which is in this food, so we had to switch. That and the higher protein content tore up her system, but if your dog can handle it, I think food is high quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Both my dogs love this food!

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
jjkm
Not only do they love this food, their coats and skin improved dramatically. My Pomeranian had skin allergies and it completely cleared up after eating the grain-free chicken and sweet potato. My poodle doesn't like to eat much but will eat this! Their fur is silky and shiny. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick is great

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
dgluvr4
from Maryland
I can not believe the difference in my dogs since feeding Merrick.... I love this food... my dogs looks super on ...I would highly recommend this food to anyone
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

made my dog sick

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
gravygirl
from nv
used merrick buffalo and dog did great. changed flavors to the chicken and make dog sick. try small bag first.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy loves it!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenbot87
from Auburn, NY
My husband and I recently adopted a 6 month old puppy and being a shelter dog he wasn't on the best food, (Purina puppy chow). He's only been on the food about a week and we've already noticed a change in his skin and coat. He doesn't itch nearly as often and he no longer has puppy dandruff, not to mention, he eats every last bite! He's currently eating half Purina and half Merrick until he's used to the new food then he'll strictly be on Merrick. Overall, I'd recommend this food for any dog with skin allergies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pitbull - Improved coat and skin dramatically!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveMyPitPup
from Kissimmee, FL
My pitbull has been having hives on and off for about 4 months. No benadryl at home worked (she became immune to it). She needed a vet each time. I had to keep changing her food, to no avail. So I started research for foods that can help with allergies, dry skin and shedding. During this time, she was losing lots of hair (had random patches of hair missing), lost her shine, looked mangy (mange) and she was itchy. Found some reviews on dogfoodadvisor dot com and saw this to be five stars. And especially good for bully breeds. She has been eating it for 4 weeks now and I have seen her hair come back, coat is shiny and she is shedding minimally. I am extremely excited about this grain free food. Would recommend to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>