petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

this Merrick dog foodIncludes blueberries that are packed with antioxidantsContains high-quality salmon oil to support skin and coat healthResealable bag for optimum freshnessMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.897 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(78 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
5 stars
73
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
75 out of 76(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog has allergies so this food is great.

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hudson Valley, NY
My dog has allergies and we started him on this when we first adopted him since it was a new flavor and on sale. I switched him to another brand that gad similar ingredients and he had developed allergies. Since there is very little filler the portion size for my dog is about $1.00 a day. I love that the food comes right to my door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good dog food

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from moraga
This dog food is excellent! For dogs who have joint problems like my dog has its got indegrients in the food that really help. It's got glusonmine in it and also it has lots of veggies which are wonderful for a dogs healh. Also grain free, The dog food does cost more but like they say u get what you pay for and this dog food is worth it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Charleston, SC
My dog loves this food. I tried another brand that was a good brand to but he wouldn't eat it. As soon as I got another bag of Merrick he ate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
My dog love Merrick brand and he loves chicken, great combination.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best dog food around

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Moorpark,ca
Paws up this is the best dog food from puppies to seniors. All my dogs have the best coat, & they love the food. Only the best ingredients and there's plenty of variety for your finicky eaters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ellijay ga
My dogs have been on this food for about two years. I really research things that are important such as what is in dog food. Merricks food is made from local farmers produce so hopefully they are making a difference for small businesses. I also like the fact that it is safe for humans, not that I eat dog food but I think that says alot. My dogs eat less of it because there is no junk fillers in it. Lastly, their stools, I wont't go into detail, are firm and smaller. Keep up the good work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Brand, Affordable Cost, Healthy, Happy Dogs!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Central NJ
Merrick Grain Free is the only food for my dogs. Earlier last year my golden retriever Nick died at the age of 11, eating nothing but Beneful dry dog food mixed with Alpo wet food. He was the happiest dog, but certainly not the healthiest. Throughout his life, Nick suffered from terrible ear itching, to the point where he would make his ears bleed from scratching so violently. The itching eventually spread to his elbows, and he would scratch at them with his hind legs until they too bled and scabbed over. We started thinking that it was his food that could be causing this, and we concluded the grains to be the problem. We tried various different grain free foods that we purchased from Petco, and eventually Nick's itching subsided. His eyes cleared up, too. He was actually more energetic while eating better food. Sadly though in February 2014 Nick passed away from bloat- we changed his diet on him so frequently and it ended in catastrophe. We miss him dearly.
However, the last brand Nick had been eating was the Limited Ingredient Diet. My other dog Dexter, a 4 year old MinPin, was also eating the food and loving it. After Nick passed, I felt it unnecessary to have Dexter eating the LID so I discovered another grain free organic brand- Merrick. I have been purchasing this food for almost a year now, and last September welcomed our new pup Goldie, who also eats the Merrick now exclusively. (Her first six months she ate Science Diet for puppies).
My dogs are FULL of life, energy, happiness and love. Their coats are gorgeous, teeth pearly white, and their breath is normally pretty bearable. I feel that this particular brand is the best of the best, and I will never trust any other brand. The pups love it, they gobble it down faster than any other food. The price is high, but between a 15lb MinPin and a 30lb mut, the largest bag lasts 2 months. To me, this is money WELL spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from TX
Great product. Dogs love it and eat it well. They are healthier, sleeker, and feel happier/better than on any previous foods. We rotate through the Merrick Grain Free foods to keep them happy and they love all the flavors. Seems like a real quality food with no negatives, Good value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City
I've fed my 4-year old German Shepherd Merrick Grain Free since she was a puppy. Her coat is glossy, her teeth are white, and she likes the kibble. It's made in America of excellent products. She's so healthy she's never been to the vet except for routine wellness exams. Merrick is expensive but well worth it to me. I'd rather spend money on her food than on vet costs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Dog Food

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, Maine
We weren't sure what dog food to buy for our new Beagle, he turned his nose at just about everything until we found Merrick grain free line. We started with the smallest size bag by suggestion of the dog trainer at our local store, and he gobbled it all up so we ordered the largest bag online. One of the few brands when you read the ingredients and say hey I would eat this I would never want to give my dog anything I wouldn't eat. Can't imagine using any of the brand of dog food just ordered a different flavor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from VAN NUYS, CA
MyPittbull LEXI would only eat this food. I've tried feeding her a different brand and she denies it. LUV Merrick!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs are healthy eating foods from this brand

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
I have 3 dogs and I feed them Merrick only. They are all healthy and happy. Especially one of my dog has already reached the age of 15, and she is still in a good shape and full of energy.
I cant say it is their food keeps her healthy, but it definitely doesnt do bad harms to her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 paws!

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My JRT loves this food! Has been her regular for 2 years now. Great for weight maintenance & proper nutrition, lasts a while so very much worth the premium price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good grain free food

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from angola, INDIANA
was delivered on time, my first on line purchase of dog food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs allergies are much better

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bradenton,Florida
They have stopped scratching and their coats are much healthier
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

high protein

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from las vegas,nv
This dog food has high protein count comparable to those other natural and holistic dry dog food....I bought all flavors andmixed this dog food with the wilderness dog food wand my dogs loves it....I highly recommend this brand of dog food...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, Il
Healthy dog food that my dog loves. Just like for humans, I believe food is medicine. If I eat an unhealthy diet I don't feel well and I'm more likely to get sick or end up with chronic illness. I think the same is probably true for animals. I would rather spend a little more on his dog food preventing illness than having to pay hefty vet bills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good grain free choice

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MN
I was looking for healthy grain free dog food that had enough protein to be filling for my 2 dogs and this seemed to be the best choice for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My picky dogs way to go!

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
My really picky 1 year old Mini-Poodle (turns 2 next month) still loves this food! She has been on Merrick's Grain-Free recipes since 7 months old, before that she had Purina's puppy chow and Beneful. She never touched her bowl, and they were all corn, wheat, soy and by-products. No, thanks. Not only is Merrick great quality (from what I read on the ingredients and reviews on dog food websites) but she actually likes it. She HATES dry food, even dog cookies. She isn't a fan of dry. When it was delivered she stood next to me as I opened the box. I cut open the bag, she took a big whiff and wagged her little tail. I gave her a cup full straight out of the freshly opened bag, not even mixed with Merrick's wet food, like she usually eats. She dug right in. Finished every bit! I was surprised she ate it plain. This food is a keeper. If your are new to Merrick's food I recommend getting the smallest size bag to see if your dog likes it, mix it little by little with their regular dog food to transition so it won't upset their tummies :) if they are still picky try mixing with Merrick's wet food! Also just a little tip, the dog food bits might be a bit big for tiny mouths just be aware of that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merrick Grain Free Real Chicken & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

merrick grain free dog food

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from winter park, fl
dog loves it and i love the ingredients especially being grain free.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>