petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Grain free, natural formulaFresh duck is the #1 ingredientIncludes blueberries that are packed with antioxidantsContains high quality salmon oil to support skin & coat healthBalanced nutrition made with real whole foodsResealable bag for optimum freshness
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
60 out of 60(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
J0ey
from Austin, TX
I have been feeding our dogs Merrick dog food for about a year and have been very happy with it. They love it and it is high quality food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She Loves It

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
JDMAC
from McKinney TX,
13 year old Beagle and she loves the stuff. Highly Recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good food for my dog!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sanhorn
from nj
My dog loves the food and it is good for him. His stools have improved and his activity level is up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect food for skin sensitivity, allergies, and yeast infections

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hutchrunner
from West Sacramento, CA
I was at wits end trying to help my GSD with his yeast problem, he started to loose his hair on the back of his legs with intense itching and developed yeast in his right ear. After doing research and trial and error, I learned my GSD is highly allergic to grains and oatmeal. I read the great reviews about Merricks and decided to give it a try. My GSD has been on the food for 2 weeks today and his hair on his legs has almost grown back and the itching has stopped, plus his right ear is almost cleared up as well. His coat shines and is thicker. This is an excellent food for dogs with food and skin allergies. It's pricey but well worth it not see see your dog suffer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
SheltiesRWonderful
from Kaneohe, HI
Dogs love this kibble and it keeps them healthy and trim.
I do not feed according to the weight feeding suggestions, I feed less.
You need to estimate the amount of dog food serving not only by the weight you'd like your dog to be at, but also factor in how active your dog is, otherwise you'll end up with an overweight dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Grain free Duck and Sweet Potatoe

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
LovesGoldendoodles
from Bakersfield, CA
What's not to love? Finally, after many dog food brands this one I love almost as much as my pack does! All ingredients locally grown right here in the U.S. So happy Merrick came out with this food; can't say enough good things. One of my dogs always had a sensitive stomach and this one seems to work great. I can now feed my dogs the same food; may not seem like a big deal, but, it is a "big deal".
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog loves this food

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosee767
from Burke, VA
Excellent nutrition for a low price compared to other brand foods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect dog food

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
4whirledpeas
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
Grain free, chicken free, beef free, for my dog that has major allergies. It's so good my pets will eat it dry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the best

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
LabLover24
from Texas
Merrick Grain Free Duck and Sweet Potato is a winner in our home. We have two big dogs - one is an allergy dog and the other a senior, and Merrick GF has exceeded our expectations for both. This food is grain free, by-product free for the allergy kid and has good amounts of a glucosamine & chondroitin (supplements for joint health) for my senior. (Plus - and this might be TMI, our seniors stool is much improved on Merrick.) Our "kids" coats are soft and shiny and the vet says their diet is everything he could hope for for any of his clients.
This food has stood out against many of other grain free premium foods we've tried both in cost and my pup's over all satisfaction. We also feed Merrick Turducken wet food in additon to the dry. They just gooble this stuff up! Enthusiastically recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best food by far!!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
chaseveXo
from Louisiana
I swear by this dog food and refer all my friends to this brand! My chocolate Lab Leauxla (Lola) is a picky princess who tried everything from Blue Buffalo, Taste of the Wild, Purina Pro Plan and Holistic Select and this is the ONLY food she enjoys. I had tried all those brands I mentioned in many different formulas and she would turn her nose up and wait days between eating just to avoid the foods. Well, that is until I popped open a bag of Merrick and her little (or big.hah) ears perked up. She LOVES this stuff and so does our new 6 month old yellow Lab, Biscuit. Her coat has never been prettier and Biscuit had a few dry patches when we adopted him at 6 months old and in the month and a half that we have ad him on this food, that has all cleared up. It really is an amazing product without all the extra chemical additves like some other brands. I would recommend this to anyone!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT Food

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
dgluvr4
from Maryland
This food is fantastic, I've switched from Blue Buffalo and what a change in my dogs. Everyone should try this brand. I highly recommend it .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog AND CAT love it!

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
RoscosBuddy
from dickinson, ND
My shepard mix, Rosco really likes this food. He evidently has some food allergies and he was chewing & licking on himself and creating big sores on his tummy and back end. When I switched to this food. He stopped the chewing and in one month the rashes have nearly cleared up completely. His coat is softer and shinier. He seems very happy. I can't even keep the cat out of it. We also have a PixieBob/Bengal mix Cat, 4 months old. He won't eat his kitten food, but gets in the bowl with Rosco when I put the bowl down. I am very impressed with the changes and so glad to see Rosco not licking and chewing anymore. I thought he was just a nervous dog. Now he is so calm and loving and doesn't keep me awake at night chewing!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality food

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
WeLoveGoldens
from Hawaii
Great quality, my goldens love it. I notice their skin condition has improved from dry to normal when we started using this brand. They don't itch as much now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well tolerated by sensitive tummies

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Iowa
We have two airedales and were feeding them Blue for a year or so. They would have loose stools every now and then, but we just attributed it to the breed. When my sister told me that she feeds her standard poodle Merrick and he loves it, I decided to give it a try. We've been feeding ours the duck and sweet potato now for three months. The dogs love it, and no more loose stools!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cured our Yeast Problem

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from VA
My Collie developed red on all of his feet pads and between his toes. After reading about this being a potential sign of yeast and/or allergies, I tried the grain free Merrick food. To my surprise it took care of the problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent top notch dog food!

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
IheartmyJRT
from Aurora, CO
I had my Jack Russell on Blue for years and he did ok but always had terrible gas and GI upset. I recently started him in obedience classes and by accident discovered a dog food rating website through my trainers page. Merrick was one of the highest rated ones and after reading about the benefits of grain-free we made the switch. Its been about 2 months now and my little guy loves this stuff (we buy the grain-less duck & sweet potato)! His coat feels softer and his gas is nearly non existent! I've found that we actually can feed him less because the food is so dense in protein and other quality ingredients he gets the same amount of nutrition from half a cup of Merrick as he would've from a full cup of Blue. We're going through food slower, which makes up for the cost increase of this food. Overall I'm quite happy with this food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Dog Food

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
LabOwner14
from Chicago IL
My Lab is just over 1 years old. I got him when he was a puppy and started him out on Natures Variety. He did ok on it but the kibble was always weird looking and not consistent. Also upset his stomach at time. I switched him to Blue Buffalo, and he had bad gas all the time.
Once I switched him to Merrick he did a lot better. However, the Buffalo flavor gave him bad gas too. I switched to a more simpler grain free duck protein and he has not had any issues. It took a lot of switching to find to right protein with the right ingredients. He also likes the chicken but the duck he seems to like the most.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC DOG FOOD!

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
DwightTheDogsMom
Our dog, Dwight, was on Natural Balance Duck and Sweet Potato food and I decided to switch him to this. I really wanted him to eat a dog food where I recognized all the ingredients on the list without all the chemicals. He has loved this dog food from the first time he tasted it. I can't rate this high enough! When I was switching him over, I decided to separate his dog food to see which he liked better. He would ALWAYS eat this food first and then leave the other food to sit for awhile in hopes that I would give him more of this. Great dog food that we will continue to use for Dwight's food. So glad we made the switch!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves it!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
HuskyLoverNY
from New York, NY
My 5 year old Siberian Husky loves all the Grain-free Merrick food (and she's a picky eater!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merrick Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this food!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
3dogsmn
from PA
I have. Weimaraner with allergies, he loves this food and doesn't have any reactions to it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>