petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Grain-free dog food is ideal for all breeds and life stagesFresh buffalo is the number one ingredient in this natural dog foodFortified with fruits and vegetables that contain healthy vitaminsContains high-quality salmon oil to support skin and coat healthLocally sourced, farm-fresh ingredients
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(80 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
75
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
78 out of 78(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog Food

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
kelosmom
from norfolk,va
My schnauzer loves this dog food, we tried the chicken flavor first and just decided to change the flavor to buffalo. I'm so glad I did, I have notice he does less itching with this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ms.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammela
First time in ages my dog Lucy has not had food allergies!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior Dog Food!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
COLabLuver
from Colorado
I purchased this food because it was what the animal shelter was feeding him when I got him. I thought I would transition into a different brand, but after learning more about dog food and seeing how much he loves this food...I'm not switching. Check out the Merrick website and read up on what is in dog foods these days, this is great stuff. The best part about it is that he doesn't have to "go out" nearly as much as my other dog did so less clean up for me! It does cost a little more than most dog foods but I've found it's worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality food at a great savings

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mathtchr
from Bradenton, fl
This dog food is my choice after much research. It is safe, healthy and my dogs like it. Petco is a great way to get the food at a discount and free shipping is included!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Food delivery

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maizeymom1
from Texas
My food arrived in a timely fashion. I live in a townhome so I asked the 2 large bags be left at my door . However the label did not state that and the food was left at the guard house so I was required to pick up and deliver myself. I will try again next time. Complex delivery is still better than driving to the store.
Thank you
Maizey mom
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great quality bigger bites for giant breed

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Samson03212011
from Wellington, FL
When we first rescued Sammy it was a challenge to find quality food with large kibbles for our giant 160 LB bull mastiff. This food is great he doesn't bite his big cheeks trying to eat these kibbles and he loves it. It also has no grains which is great for all dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We're All Happy

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
PuppytheTortoise
from Philadelphia, PA
We switched our young dog over to a grain-free brand because he had become lethargic and was vomiting in the mornings. The vet suspected that the problem was that his diet was too grain heavy and he was having trouble processing the grains. After just one week on the Merrick, he's completely stopped vomiting and has a lot more energy. We're very pleased! (I should also note that we were a little skeptical of the price compared to our old brand, but because it is so rich in protein, the recommended daily amount is much less, so it will actually take longer for us to go through one bag, making the prices comparable.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my great dane is thriving!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
kittymom564
from bath, maine
After keeping my great dane on the grain version with low protein for his first year, he is thriving on the grain free. As a bonus, the possible grain allergy symptoms we were experiencing have all gone away! I am a very happy customer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs love the Merrick lineup

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
riczter
from Oregon
My dogs love the Merrick lineup. I have tried several different flavors and I tend to stick with the Buffalo or the Beef.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Food

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
beashleyb
I like this product for my dog... her breath smells better than it did before and her teeth are staying cleaner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Dog Food

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MamaTBone
from Texas
My dogs love this dog food. It is easy for the small dogs as well as the larger dogs to eat. It does not upset their stomachs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love hows its from the usa

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
mydogsilove
from kadina air base okinawa, japan
My two girls love this food more then any others now. I love the fact the dog food come in a timely manner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the price!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
PotroLoco
from Houston TX
I wanted a high protein diet with glucosamine included since I have German Shepherds. This product offered that + my dogs seem to really enjoy the taste of the Real Buffalo. They were on a different brand high protein food before but did not like it, so I can tell they are grateful that I feed them this now. Their coats are very soft and they have really good energy levels. I basically got everything I wanted out of this dog food and so did my sheps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Merrick! Fantastic results

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ldjsatx
from san antonio, tx
Started 4 dogs on Merricks at same time. After only 1 bag, my rottie's coat has never looked nor felt better! It glistens as if I just bathed her. An emaciated dog I just rescued that had fur missing from ribs all the way to his hind paws now has about 50% growth, his skin went from purple to a beautiful soft pink, his fur is soft and shiny& he's lost a previously wicked underlying smell. Plus he's energized now! My 3rd who has had skin issues/ fur issues for eons now has beautiful, thick and soft fur. She's so happy. The 4th, a rescued emaciated dog, is rapidly getting healthier & has same gleam. It's a tremendous financial sacrifice for me but the results are worth it. I'm so grateful for this product. And I've tried TONS and TONS of different Brands over the years with different dogs.. just wish I would have used Merricks from the start! But better late than never.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Probably the most amazing dog food I have ever bought!

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
lillyybear
from Glendale, CA
Coming from someone who has tried out both solid gold and blue buffalo. My dog's would get so bored of the taste from these past 2, but with Merrick, they ALWAYS eat it up. It's been a really long time, and they still love the taste! I've also seen a lot of improvements in my dog. He's always been a shy, nervous kind of dog... but now he seems happier, and more outgoing. I'm not too sure if this has to do with the food, but I also had a friend try this food out and his dog loved it as well. After his dog throwing up over cheap food, we switched him over to this, and it's all he feeds him now.
& one more review on my other friend's chihuahua, she also had the biggest issue being shy, and she would run whenever you'd try to pet her. One month after using Merrick, she now comes to you for affection, and doesn't shake as much. She seems so so much more outgoing. She's like a total, much better dog. And she's starting to grow hair on her chest as well as getting a shiny coat. I'm glad she got rid of the beneful.
AND I HAVE TO MENTION - BOTH FRIENDS DOG LOST THE BAD HABIT OF CHEWING THEIR TAIL!
I really want to THANK YOU Merrick, for helping my dog get back to his normal self. I haven't seen him act like this since about 7 years ago. He actually plays with his toys again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loved this food

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lillytadpole
from Woodstock, GA
I switched to Grain Free many years ago and once I found Merrick for my dog, I searched no more. He absolutely loved this food and I loved the results. Even though he was going through cancer treatments, he maintained a very good energy level and his coat looked great so I knew he felt good from the inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great results

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
labluv28
from Waynesboro, pa
I have a 4year old rescue cattledog/boxer mix and a yellow lab. Our rescue dog had severe allergies and was on prednisone and allergy shots. After 3 years of trying many different types of food, I tried Merrick grain free buffalo and sweet potato. She is doing great, she is not on any medications. She loves the food but then she is not a picky eater. Our yellow lab does not have any allergies but is a picky eater and she does eat this dog food so it is wonderful to be able to have both dogs on the same food. I get many comments on how healthy the dogs look. I have become a fan of this food. It is expensive but so were all the other foods I have tried.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than Blue

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
dgluvr4
from Maryland
I use to use Blue Buffalo dog food, had a problem with it recently, bone fragments were found in the food, I contacted their Customer Service people and wow was I shocked they were nasty ! They didn't care, so I did some research and discovered others had the same problem with Blue too, that was enough for me , so I did some more research and decided on Merrick for my dogs. Glad I did. They are doing so great on it I would highly recommend it to anyone, IMO even if you don't choose Merrick, you should stop feeding Blue .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
tp68
from Poquoson, VA
I bought this for my 10-year old basset hound who has allergies and is currently undergoing chemo for lymphoma. My veterinarian told me that Grain Free food would help with his allergies and info I read on his type of cancer stated that grain free would be good for him. When the bag arrived, I thought he was going to tear the box open to get to the food. He really, really, loves this food. I'm a believer and will continue to feed him Merrick Grain Free dry foods. Thanks for such a good product and a great price with free delivery.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was I amazed!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kittymami
from texas
When we started on the food search we went through I think about 8 different foods before out baby was 4 months old. We didn't think he had allergies or any other probs when it came to food til we started really monitoring our boxer baby. Of course a dog who has a white coat is a lil more sensitive for some reason ( go figure lol ). SO my last option by the time we were done was Merrick! OMG in less than a week our baby was finally getting normal stools that actually smelled normal ( i know gross lol ) and his hot spots have slowly been going away. This has been amazing and even though it was pricey, it has been well worth it.
I'm happy to spend the money on my baby if it means we can keep him out of the vet. Not only that its soooooooooo much healthier for him too.
So if your fur baby has allergies to grains soy wheat etc the list goes on def give this a try. Merrick has more than plenty of options when it come to dry food and I would def reccomend it to anyone who has to deal with a sensitive fur baby.
It might not be for every fur baby but so worth giving it a shot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>