petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Grain-free dog food is ideal for all breeds and life stagesFresh buffalo is the number one ingredient in this natural dog foodFortified with fruits and vegetables that contain healthy vitaminsContains high-quality salmon oil to support skin and coat healthLocally sourced, farm-fresh ingredientsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.802 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
106
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
110 out of 113(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, MN, United States
I have a 10 year old pit bull. She was having hip problems, so I decided to try this food because of the glucosamine and chondroitin. She is like a pup again! And her coat is softer and shinier than ever! Love it! Won't use anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

CHOOSE THE FLAVOR WISELY

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
I have a 9 year old Jack Russell terrier. I decided to give the buffalo flavor a try. He seemed to like it but gets upset stomach ache. I previously bought him and beef flavor and he received no side effects. I switched to Blue Buffalo Wilderness and he is loving that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
Out of the Merrick's Grain Free Duck, Beef and Buffalo, this has been our dog's favorite since we got him almost 2 years ago.. Love the fact there really isn't another grain -- that the starch isn't rice but Sweet Potato.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
Only food I allow my dogs to eat. Plus I like how many grain free flavors it comes in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Quality Control and Customer Service

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, CA
Knowingly selling faulty merchandise is a quality control issue, even if the problem wasn't the food itself. Merrick knowingly sells defective packaging and informed me that they won't be fixing the issue in the future. The last 3 bags that I've purchased had unusable torn interior seals on the bag and the glue was loose. When I contacted customer service they apologized for the inconvenience and said that they were hitting the stores with new packaging in the coming months for everything BUT the smaller bags. The new packaging would secure the back and maintain freshness.
Here's the kicker...
They are NOT changing the packaging on the smaller bags of food. It's faulty, it's unusable, yet they aren't going to fix it. The way I was told to fix the problem? Essentially, "Wait a few months, then start buying the larger bags". If you purchase a smaller bag then freshness doesn't matter? I can't post their response because it was made clear that the email was "confidential". Seriously...it's an email about dog food packaging? Oh, and for my troubles I was offered a link to their customer survey which, upon completion, offers up a %15 off coupon.
Merrick: "All about your dogs heath and well being..." unless you purchase a smaller bag.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only Merrick Brand

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Independence, KY
Merrick Brand is the only source we use for dog food and our dogs love it. The treats are great too
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Five Meats

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from OC Calif
The first four ingredients Is meat not just a filler
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY dogs love it but----

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pueblo co
This food seems to be very good food with no grain & all.But I think it may be to rich for them.It gives them the runs & excesive gas although i mix it like i was instructed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs luv it

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, California
My Pit Bulls luv it...they have sensitive skin..but with this food they have no skin issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy Food

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, Va.
We were hesitant at first about switching his dog food, but he absolutely Loves the Merrick grain free. Before he would take a couple bites of food, ever since switching its hard to keep him back when we set the bowls down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from selma, ca
Switched my dogs to this for a better quality food and they like it a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montrose, CO
My dog has been so much happier and healthier since he made the food-switch to Merrick's. The bloating he was experiencing (an allergy to his former food) has gone away and his coat looks MUCH better. He also has more energy and regular bowel movements. He also smells fresher for a longer period of time.
He especially likes the Merrick's Buffalo flavored food. I will continue buying this product! It was recommended by a sales person in Petco and I am so thankful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Food & Results

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, PA
I have been buying Merrick dog food for my pampered pooch for several years now. Why do I spend the additional money to purchase this? Because I know it is quality ingredients, produced in smaller batches and made in the USA. My dog has to have grain free food and not all other brands agree with his system. I did my research. I want him to live a long and healthy life. I have faith that Merrick is helping him to do so!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT DOG FOOD!!

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
My Husky has always been a very picky eater. I could never find the right food for her. I wanted a bag of dog food that I knew was healthy and one that she wanted to eat as soon as I opened the bag. I switched her to this food and she absolutely loves it! I like it for the healthy factors (grain free, more meat based, etc..) and she loves the buffalo/salmon flavor. Very satisfied with this brand and will definitely be buying more for years to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing food

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fl
Our pug is allergic to EVERYTHING and picky we tried 7 other foods before Merrick Buffalo and Sweet Potatoe. Not only does he love it but he doesn't have any reaction to it. All 4 of our boys on it and are doing so well'. Thankyou Merrick for making some amazing food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tennessee
My lab seems to prefer Blue Wilderness, but I still rotate them up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, mn
I have a 74 pound pitbull he has a sensitive tummy like most bully breeds. I found Merrick and now my bully is cut like a body builder and way less gassy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grain Free Food

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
My dogs love the Merrick grain free buffalo food. They certainly prefer the buffalo over the Texas Beef. I'd recommend watching/adjusting portion size though. We switched them over from a weight management food and they quickly gained 5-10lbs. Just have to cut back on portions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Imperial, MO
My personal opinion is that this is the best dry food ever. I'm feeding it to my 11-year old half Chow/half Boxer and she frisks around like a 2-year old. I adore her and only want the best for her - she's an abused rescue dog and deserves the best food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Grain Free Dog Food

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from upstate ny
Our 6 year old German Shepherd has a touchy stomach. Merrick's Dog food has been very helpful in her treatment. I can't imagine switching to anything different.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>