petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

Grain-free dog food is ideal for all breeds and life stagesFresh buffalo is the number one ingredient in this natural dog foodFortified with fruits and vegetables that contain healthy vitaminsContains high-quality salmon oil to support skin and coat healthLocally sourced, farm-fresh ingredientsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.755 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(139 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
5 stars
125
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
128 out of 135(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Prodcut fine~shipping not so much

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Product is fine and I have had it on auto-ship for at least 6 months. This months shipment arrived with 3 different insects, all alive, in the box. I will no longer participate in auto-ship and will most probably start buying product elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product SAVED MY DOG'S LIFE!

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cape Coral, FL
Reese, my Golden Retriever, began having stomach problems when she was 5 months old. She had diarrhea for 18 months. YES, you are reading that correctly! She was having bathroom issues about 15 times a day. I had huge PP Pads all over my home. I took Reese to specialty vets all over town and in two counties I couldn't afford the next procedure that was going to cost between $1,600 and $2,000. I returned to my regular vet and he said he still thought it was IBS. He suggested trying Merrick and the change happened within just a few days. It was like a miracle. She has put on weight, her hair has grown and is silky and shiny, and she acts like a Golden that's full of energy and love! No accidents in the house since Thanksgiving! I am truly THANKFUL for Merrick Buffalo and Sweet Potato Dry Food as it truly did save Reese's life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog are healthier and happy

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
Since my dogs started Merick, they haven't had any issues with digestion, joints and their coats are beautiful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MMMM good dog food

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lawrence, Ks
I have found the Merrick brand of dog food to be a very good dog food. We have two very picky dogs, one Great Dane, and a shepherd/golden mix. We wanted a very good dog food and other brands we tried, after a week or so, they refused to eat them. We would try another top quality brand and on one they turned their noses up at the first bowl. We read a lot of reviews and Merrick food was regularly mentioned for good taste and great nutrition. We tried a small bag and like many before they loved it. We tried a larger bag as the small bag doesn't last long and they scarfed it down like there was no tomorrow. Admittedly we do have spoiled dogs and if you spoil your dogs too try Merrick if your dogs are as picky as mine. BTW their coats now glisten, and they seem to have more energy and are happier dogs. Our vet who sells Science Diet keeps asking what we are feeding our dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs gobble this right up!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Washington
It is reassuring to give my dogs this highly ranked brand of dog food I know that what is in it is good for my dogs. I was worried about getting them to eat this because I had switched the food from a different brand but I had no problems with getting them to eat this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food

PostedApril 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from chicago
When people by food for their pets, they really have to read the ingredients. I buy food for my cats based on the ingredients This dog food has 38% protein which is only 3% less that the Merrick cat food I buy and it is also grain free like my cat food. My cats love it. I bought the buffalo because it is probably raised more naturally than beef. It probably doesn't have hormones and steroids like they give to cows. I feed my cats raw naturally raised chicken as the main part of their diet and only give dry food as a treat so I am not worried that the sweet potato and other ingredients will make them fat.. It is a great product for the money,
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
I had to switch to Merrick grain free for my Shepherd who is gluten-sensitive. This has proven to be both enticing and filling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, MN, United States
I have a 10 year old pit bull. She was having hip problems, so I decided to try this food because of the glucosamine and chondroitin. She is like a pup again! And her coat is softer and shinier than ever! Love it! Won't use anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

CHOOSE THE FLAVOR WISELY

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
I have a 9 year old Jack Russell terrier. I decided to give the buffalo flavor a try. He seemed to like it but gets upset stomach ache. I previously bought him and beef flavor and he received no side effects. I switched to Blue Buffalo Wilderness and he is loving that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
Out of the Merrick's Grain Free Duck, Beef and Buffalo, this has been our dog's favorite since we got him almost 2 years ago.. Love the fact there really isn't another grain -- that the starch isn't rice but Sweet Potato.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
Only food I allow my dogs to eat. Plus I like how many grain free flavors it comes in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Quality Control and Customer Service

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, CA
Knowingly selling faulty merchandise is a quality control issue, even if the problem wasn't the food itself. Merrick knowingly sells defective packaging and informed me that they won't be fixing the issue in the future. The last 3 bags that I've purchased had unusable torn interior seals on the bag and the glue was loose. When I contacted customer service they apologized for the inconvenience and said that they were hitting the stores with new packaging in the coming months for everything BUT the smaller bags. The new packaging would secure the back and maintain freshness.
Here's the kicker...
They are NOT changing the packaging on the smaller bags of food. It's faulty, it's unusable, yet they aren't going to fix it. The way I was told to fix the problem? Essentially, "Wait a few months, then start buying the larger bags". If you purchase a smaller bag then freshness doesn't matter? I can't post their response because it was made clear that the email was "confidential". Seriously...it's an email about dog food packaging? Oh, and for my troubles I was offered a link to their customer survey which, upon completion, offers up a %15 off coupon.
Merrick: "All about your dogs heath and well being..." unless you purchase a smaller bag.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only Merrick Brand

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Independence, KY
Merrick Brand is the only source we use for dog food and our dogs love it. The treats are great too
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Five Meats

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from OC Calif
The first four ingredients Is meat not just a filler
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY dogs love it but----

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pueblo co
This food seems to be very good food with no grain & all.But I think it may be to rich for them.It gives them the runs & excesive gas although i mix it like i was instructed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs luv it

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, California
My Pit Bulls luv it...they have sensitive skin..but with this food they have no skin issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy Food

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, Va.
We were hesitant at first about switching his dog food, but he absolutely Loves the Merrick grain free. Before he would take a couple bites of food, ever since switching its hard to keep him back when we set the bowls down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from selma, ca
Switched my dogs to this for a better quality food and they like it a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montrose, CO
My dog has been so much happier and healthier since he made the food-switch to Merrick's. The bloating he was experiencing (an allergy to his former food) has gone away and his coat looks MUCH better. He also has more energy and regular bowel movements. He also smells fresher for a longer period of time.
He especially likes the Merrick's Buffalo flavored food. I will continue buying this product! It was recommended by a sales person in Petco and I am so thankful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merrick Grain Free Real Buffalo & Sweet Potato Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Food & Results

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, PA
I have been buying Merrick dog food for my pampered pooch for several years now. Why do I spend the additional money to purchase this? Because I know it is quality ingredients, produced in smaller batches and made in the USA. My dog has to have grain free food and not all other brands agree with his system. I did my research. I want him to live a long and healthy life. I have faith that Merrick is helping him to do so!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>