petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs

The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs

Ergonomically designed safety strappingMaterial is extremely tough & durable, yet malleable & soft to touchNeoprene padding ensures it is snug & comfortableQuick and easy to fitDog can pant, drink & even be fed through this revolutionary muzzle
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Review 1 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just like a hockey mask

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central NY
We bought this for a 95#, 2 y/o border collie/maremma mix who has the job of protecting our chickens while we are at work. Long story short, being part border collie, he nipped at the heal of someone riding by on bicycle. No injury but still we needed a solution. Size 4 fits him properly, however we find that the size 5 allows him to bark (which is part of his job description) and pretty much do everything except put that massive mouth where it does not belong. He even managed to eat the leftovers I put out for the chickens. Since it really is not restricting him too much, he is not trying to get out of it. Been a week but so far, so good. And in case anyone has concerns, it's a private dead end road and I have no fear of anyone hitting him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs some adjusting to make it perfect

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Elizabethtown, KY
I bought 6 different baskerville muzzles. I have 2 dogs of my own and a foster dog from the shelter that has animal aggression. The muzzles are great except for the bottom strap that connects the muzzle to the dog's collar. It needs to be adjustable to make the muzzle fit better. I had to shorten the one for the pit mix almost 1.5 inches. If it was adjustable with a buckle like the neck strap it would have been so much better. I believe that's why the dogs mentioned in other reviews could get it off too easily. Otherwise it's a great muzzle. Padded well, sturdy straps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Muzzle

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Shasta Lake Ca.
Bought this for my Border Collie/Lab. To keep her from eating rocks. Exploratory surgery for her eating them was over 800.00. She wears this now and no more problems. We had tried other muzzles and she was able to escape them all or smash them. This one she can't escape or smash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Muzzle lasted a few hours before she destroyed it

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Halifax, MA
I bought this for my 12 pound Manchester Terrier. We attached it to her securely around her neck and put her colar through it as instructed. We went in touch and returned a few hours later to find it destroyed in pieces on the floor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
4of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good muzzle

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Redding, CA
It was a good muzzle until our pitbull was able to chew it off. I'm not sure if I didn't tighten it tight enough, but in a few hours it was hanging off his face. He's had it for about a few weeks. We are thinking about buying another one but we are not sure at this time.
One con on this product is it rubs his nose. It was rubbing to much and started making him bleed. Tried putting something softer on it but it didn't help.
(We only got the muzzle for him because he's chewing our furniture and walls.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Puppy Houdini

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fairbanks, AK
For a product that advertises being able to handle even the best canine Houdini, it could hardly contain even our most basic of problem pets. After several times of our beloved lab-mix chewing when we were away, we decided to get him a muzzle. In the first day, he escaped the muzzle (even with the optional head band) and managed to chew it to pieces. We had thought that strapping it on to the point where we couldn't pull it away from his face would be enough. Clearly, we were wrong. This muzzle was a waste of $32 bucks! (Things are more expensive in Alaska!) I wouldn't recommend buying this product! I wish I could give it zero paws for a review!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problems with fit

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Spring city, Tn
We bought the Baskerville Muzzle because our one Corgi is aggresive towards another. We bought the size 3 which is what size is recommended. It comes off and the strap on the forehead falls over his eye. I took that strap off so that won't happen but then he was able to get the muzzle off. This is not good. I have tightened the muzzle but it brings it up too close to his eyes. I'm trying to work with it. May end up taking it back and trying a size 2. If we can get it too fit right, I think it will be good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good except for one thing

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
This muzzle is great--does not come off, and the pliable material is not too rough on the dogs' snout. The only problem I am having is with the top strap (the one on top of the head) that is connected on to the muzzle; My dog rubs his face onto things trying to get it off, and the knotwhere the strap is tied on has made a wound on his forehead right between his eyes. I wish this was somehow padded more, or connected farther down so it didn't rub on him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
I bought this muzzle for my stubborn and willful pitbull to aide in his training. I highly recommend this muzzle over any cloth/nylon muzzle if you have a dog that will fight to remove it. It was fairly simple to get on and after about a half hour of intense prying with his paw, he was still not able to remove it. He is still able to pant and drink water with it on. Let's just hope my training works as well :-) By the way, for those average sized pit bull owners, I got a size 4 and it fits perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not reliable

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from seattle
My Siberian husky managed to get it off and chew up the straps. I've only had it for two days too. The strap where the collar can go through didn't fit around my dog's collar either. That was $30 down the drain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around impressive

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bridgeport, AL
I have a Pit that's into EVERYTHING, and I got this muzzle to help keep him out of trouble. I was very impressed by how well it fits him and how he can't get it off, but yet it doesn't hurt him. I like how he can still eat and drink with it on as well; I didn't see another one that had this feature. Overall, I'm very satisfied with his muzzle and would definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have for multiple dogs

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ocala, FL
This is the first review I've ever written. I have an Alaskan Malamute rescue with behavior problems. Most of the time a wonderful dog, but food and toy aggression make him umpredictable. Our other dog is a completely passive Rottie mix, so no problems until we rescued a female hound mix who does not back down when the Malamute tries to bully her. The stress was affecting everyone, even the cats. This muzzle has been a miracle. It is very important to take your time getting the dog used to it. Make each session positive and a special one on one time. Within a month he gets excited when I get the muzzle out! Lots of treats and the fact that he only gets to play with the other dogs while wearing the muzzle, helps him accept it. He has no problem drinking and taking treats and even managed to pick up his stuffed toy with it on. Well worth the cost!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+39points
44of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Muzzle There Is...

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I highly recommend this muzzle. It's tough and fits very well. If you use all the safeties, ie:collar loop and snout strap, it's next to impossible for your dog to remove.
It's an all around great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Company of Animals Baskerville Ultra Muzzle for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked remarkably well

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Riverside, CA
I purchased a nylon & mesh muzzle for our elderly pit and this muzzle for our 2 yr old female pit after a fight almost killed the elderly one while we were gone. Although we never had an issue while we're home, we're not taking chances. The elder pit went bizerk and got the nylon/mesh one off in less than 2 minutes then shred it. This muzzle however, worked great for the young pit. She didn't like it but accepted it much faster than expected with only an occasional attempt to remove it. She was able to pant, eat, and drink with no issues which surprised us. She did finally find a way to get her lower jaw under the basket somehow which could harm her so we're going to try to shorten the loop that goes around the collar underneath and wish it were adjustable. I also wish it didn't go quite as close underneath the eyes as it appears to be causing discomfort there after awhile. Since the elder one can't really do any harm we only muzzle the young one. This muzzle is allowing our dogs to interact and play without worry of another fight. I would not leave the muzzle on unattended or while she sleeps at night but for our needs and short sessions of an hour or two it's perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+41points
47of 53voted this as helpful.