petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System

Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System

Easy to assemble and maintainTrap door system makes cleaning easier than ever Ideal size for a guinea pig cage or dwarf rabbit cageChew-proof latches keep pets safe and secureLarge front door and top door for easy accessIncludes easy-glide shelf, wavy ramp and food dish
Average Customer Rating:
1.333 / 5
1.3
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
1 out of 9(11%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Review 1 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falls apart

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kmmm
This cage was terrible as soon as I opened it. The clamps did not hold the cage sides together and there were many sharp metal unfinished pieces throughout the cage. It fell apart in other places and is overall a terribly made product. I've had it 1 week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not impressed

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
2Guineas
I bought this cage for my sons 2 guinea pigs, I thought the 2nd floor would make a nice size cage seem bigger for them. First of all, we don't even use the 2nd level anymore. We put it up and every time the guinea pigs would go up the 2nd floor would fall down. It would not stay up at all, so we stopped using it after the 2nd day when the 2nd floor with 1 guinea pig fell down on top of the other guinea pig. The latches on the side of the cage don't "click" or lock the right way. The front gate of the cage fell off... every time we open the door it falls right off the cage so we have to keep it locked at all times. The bottom piece that comes out seems to slip out even when it's locked. These are all little problems, but the biggest problem... the guinea pigs are literally eating the cage! There are openings on the plastic base where the wire top can slip in. Somehow the guinea pigs saw this as a great point to start chewing their way out. We have two holes in our cage, one hole is almost big enough for them to get out... I'm sure they could if they tried. Because of this and the other small reasons I am now looking for another new cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Recommended with reservations

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
buttercupsaunty
from Honolulu, Hawaii
First the good: This cage has wheels which makes clean up relatively easy. The cage portion easily lifts off when needed. It is spacious for a single baby guinea pig who at the moment is able to run around in the cage.
The bad: The cage design needs improvement.
The big problem is that the EZ-clean sliding shelf idea is good in concept but poor in executiion As the other reviewers note, the shelf clips pop off. I called the toll-free number on the instruction sheet for advice. The customer service person knew what I was talking about when I described the problem.
The vendor (not Petco) sent a replacement shelf with hooks and ramp at no charge. This worked fine; we were able to get the shelf up. However, the plastic ramp was a bit slippery, so we tied strips of an old t-shirt for traction. In the end, we decided to get rid of the new shelf.
Another annoyance is that the cage does not easily line up with the base. It takes a bit of manuvering to line up the tabs of the cage with the slot of the base. It is do-able, though.
For a product with design flaws, it is rather pricey. But he guinea pig is happy so it serves its purpose and I can recommend this with reservations.
Props to Petco for their price match policy and easy returns with receipt. We bought the cage at the store (which we immediately used and struggled with) and found the exact same cage for much less online. Returned the unopened Petco.com cage to the store and was refunded the higher price. Saved us $30+!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
tswetter
from Northeast, PA
The cage overall was very nice. A good size and not cheap looking like a few of the others I have seen. But it is unfortunate that the clips that are supposed to attach the loft shelf (second level) will not stay on! Almost as if the shelf is not long enough to fit across the cage! Terrible construction! Taking back tomorrow!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ok product

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
labrat
from coralville, ia
The cage was easy to put together. We had a problem with getting the second level to stay attached to the cage. It was almost as if the platform wasn't long enough. The clips that hold it to the cage keep popping off and the platform keeps falling down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst cage ever: do not waste your money !

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bekibucketz
from Nashville, TN
Do not buy this cage for your guinea pigs. We had this less than a week and the clamps to attach the shelf to the cage kept popping off and caused the shelf to fall down on my pigs. I took it back to the store and they let me trade for a different cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is Garbage!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
wayne4948
from Illinois
Front door would not open after just one day. The 2 side clips that are supposed to keep the cage top secured to the base do not fit on at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is cheap plastic

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
BrokenWing
from Fayetteville Ga
I bought this cage at the store for my dwarf rabbit. The bottom pull out door would not open till I turned the cage upside down and yanked on it. The latch on the wire door had to be manhandled as well to open. The ladder would not stay down. I never even got to put the rabbit in the cage because the clips that hold the shelf on would not stay clipped to the side. I would get one side done and when I tried to do the other side the first 2 would pop off and go flying across the room. Also I would imagine that the rabbit would end up chewing on the plastic shelf and ladder. I am returning to the store today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Guinea Pig Home EZ Clean System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cage is way too small

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DadOf4GuineaPigs
from North Little Rock, Ar
This cage is way to small and half of these pet store people dont know anything about half their pets and shouldn't even mark cages like this one as being for a guinea pig at 3.80Sf (which by the way is even to small for a gerbil) this cage is half the size it should be. It should be no less than 8 SF per pig. You should buy this cage for a pair of gerbils maybe but not a guinea pig.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.