petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus

Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus

One-time assembly for permanent useWell-ventilated wire rabbit cage with durable two-level baseSpacious indoor rabbit cage - 8 square feet of living space for your petFeatures front and top access doors that securely latch in placeTwo wavy ramps and shelves expand the living areaDesigned with 6 casters for easy mobility
Average Customer Rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Review 1 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Assembly, Large and Well Constructed

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jordan2014
from Chicago
The cage is pretty easy to put together when you identify the pieces and how they fit in place.
The cage is very spacious and allows rabbit to have room to move around. The ramps are made for small rabbits or smaller animals, they are very narrow. I solved the issue by just putting the two ramps side by side. The second platform was not needed so I used it as a ramp for the rabbit to get in and out of the cage.
Excellent design, doors are wide enough to reach deep in the cage to clean, built in spot for the deep food bowl that's included, this cage is a perfect space for a rabbit or any medium to large animal in the small animals category... Rabbits, chinchillas, ext!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flawed but Workable

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
YawningDodo
Pro:
*Size: At 4'x2', I'm comfortable using this cage as my single rabbit's main living space.
*Depth: The base is 7.5" deep, so no issue with spills so far.
*Shelves: You can choose whether or not to put in one or both of the shelves. In order to allow more open space for running and binkying, I put in only one shelf. If I were using this cage with guinea pigs (which wouldn't have to stoop to fit under the shelves), I would use both. As it is, the space under the shelf doubles as my rabbit's hidden nesting area.
*Casters: The casters work well even on short carpet.
Cons:
*Assembly: I had to do a lot of tapping with a cloth-wrapped hammer to get the base pieces to go together all the way, and I had to use pliers to open and close the metal hooks that hold the top piece together. I'm a bit surprised I didn't break anything, and it took a long time. While it would be nice to unlatch the wire top for cleaning, the fact is it's really, really hard to get it to sit back into the slots correctly and you'd spend more time getting it back together than you'd save from not having to reach in through the doors to clean.
*Ramps: The ramps for the shelves are pretty narrow. They seem to be sized for a guinea pig or a dwarf rabbit; the one I have in the cage is barely wide enough for my medium rabbit. He's already demonstrated that he can get up with or without the ramp, though, and enjoys sitting under the ramp and pushing on it with his head so the bottom of it lifts up. So far it's held up to this treatment and stayed firmly fastened at the top.
*Height of doors off the floor: While my rabbit can jump high enough to get in and out, I'm really hesitant to let him jump over the lip of the door for fear he'll get a foot caught in the folded-down door (and that's assuming he'd even be willing). I'm going to try covering the spare shelf with carpeting and using it as a ramp on the outside of the cage so he at least only has to jump up/down on the inside of the doorway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Parts didn't fit together

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
HedgehogLady
from Indianapolis, IN
I could not even completely assemble this cage because the parts did not fit together. It was obvious that someone bought the cage before me and returned it, as it had items unwrapped and stress marks in the plastic pieces. Very disappointed, will be returning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT FOR FERRETS!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
supergal
Nice size and great for rabbits. My ferret escapes through the wires tho! I gotta go buy another new cage...grr. The cage is kinda hard to put together.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very roomy!

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moe3542
from Albany NY
I love this cage. I have 4 rabbits (6 mo-1 year) and all four fit comfortably. I keep my rabbits in a large closet with this cage, with doors open, they can go in and out freely. Every morning I wake up all four are cuddled together inside their opened cage. I agree with other customers, this cage is extremely difficult to put together. It's mostly the base. Once the base is assembled the rest is simple.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Cage not for ferrets though.

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
hughes
from Conway arkansas
Great cage a little hard to put together but lots of space. This cage shouldn't be used for ferrets though it says you can, the ferrets will squeeze through the wires!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Huge cage

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Canadian1001
from BC, Canada
This cage is the perfect size for a bunny up to 10 lbs. The only complaint is once you get the base together its almost impossible to take apart the base. I only used one of the shelves and my bunny loves to lay out underneath the shelf. Also the shelves have plenty of room for two good sized dishes and a small bunny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large and roomy

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
RoxxieGirl
from Bridgeport, CT
Bought this for my sisters huge rabbit. It was easy to put together and very sturdy. The size is very ample even for a large breed rabbit. Lots of head room so bunny can fully stand up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This cage is...

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
mandaxdee
from Jersey
I just bought this for my rabbit, he's a ten pound English Spot, lop mix. The good stuff about the cage is that it is extremely large, very roomy and has plenty of space for all things bunny.
The bad things about the cage are as follows. The cage does not have a large entrance in front or on top. MY rabbits previous cage had a top that opened up which made it easy to get to my rabbit and his food/litter box. This one has large openings on the side but fairly useless openings on the front and top.
Also, it is an eyesore. The last kaytee cage I had before this was only supposedly six inches smaller but it was more cozy looking, this one looks huge.
Third, I bought this cage because they advertise that it comes apart in the middle and I thought to myself "oh wow how great I'll be able to separate it and clean out the bottom and wash it out in the sink (as opposed to just wiping down the old cage which was too big for the sink). Let me tell you something- I've owned my rabbit for eight years now, this is the 4th cage we've gone through- seriously, it was insanely difficult to put together. I will never be taking this thing apart now that I finally have it setup- it connects in the middle of the base and it has a long rubber strip which has to go over the connecting point, and TWO EVIL PLASTIC SQUARES which have to slide along the length of the cage and act as connectors. My brother had to do do it for me because I didn't have the strength or capability to handle it the way it needed to be handled.
Cleaning it is gonna be a real pain because its as large as it is, but I think my rabbit really loves it and I think thats all that matters. ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cage, pain to put together

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
meeka85
from Portland, OR
I got this on Black Friday for $50 off, excellent value. I had a really hard time, though, connecting the base. Eventually, my husband was able to get it together. The instructions are very unclear, but to those coming here for help, start connecting the base in the center where the piece comes together and work your way out. After it was together, it was solid and great. Didn't end up using the ramps since it is so low. My rabbit has no problem jumping up on to the platforms. She loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Arrived cracked

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
MrMuggles
from Tampa, FL
The cage arrived cracked but it was easy enough to return to the store. The cage seemed a little too flimsy...Not a cage that would last the lifetime of your bunny. I opted for a slightly smaller but solid plastic bottomed cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rabbit Cage

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
RJsGirl
from Beaumont CA
Good "house" for a bunny. But you should still let them stretch their legs a bit each day like in a dog exercise pen. At first the locks for the front doors were tricky for me but you just have to literally pull the tab down. So far this cage is worth the money. It is the biggest I could find even bigger than most hutches. She has room for her litter box and toys and room to stretch and hop. I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Rabbit Home Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
baercats
Using for long car ride transport for our cats. Perfect size for backseat, plenty of space for them to be comfortable and have food and water dishes, small litter box, beds, and toys. The two shelves give both elevation and space underneath to sleep.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.