petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home

Ultimate in pet comfort and safetyConvenient cleaningStrong steel finishFashionable color and designHeavy duty quality that lasts 
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home
Review 1 for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT FOR RATS

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
dickwolfgang
from santa cruz, ca
this cage is huge and really nice. however, the bar spacing is way too wide for rats. i have two females and the smaller one can easily escape. she got out almost instantly and took over my room and eventually ripping up the carpet under my door. (definitely not getting the deposit back now) i purchased some wire mesh and zip ties and now the cage is fine, but i feel like it should say somewhere that it's not suitable for rats or other smaller animals. also, it took almost 8 hours to put together and a lot of starting over as the instructions are not clear whatsoever.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Big Cage, but Not Very Ferret Friendly!

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
RegisteredVetTech87
from Forestville, CA
I bought this cage a while ago. It is really big for the price, but there are some flaws in the design that I'd like to point out.
#1.) This cage can be difficult to clean, because the 2 large doors open from the side only. There are two small hatch doors in the front, but you definitely can not remove the floor panels and clean them through these doors. I mostly just found it to be a hassle cleaning the middle floor.
#2.) The ramps are way too steep for ferrets, especially older ones. Ferrets are not the greatest climbers. I found that my ferret had trouble getting up and down the ramps in this cage. Not ideal if I leave for work and my ferret can't even get to it's food or water, because the ramps are too steep and don't have enough traction. I had to fix sand paper to the ramps to make them work.
#3.) The overall design and construction is poor and made cheaply. For example the bar spacing in relation to the floor levels doesn't accommodate most ferret cage accessories and feeders. Several of the cheaply constructed wheel castors broke after just a couple months of having this cage.
Overall, I'd say the best quality about this cage is it's size.
If you decide to buy it, just be prepared to make some alterations and a trip to the hardware store at some point.
-D. Newberry, RVT
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and escape proof

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
FerretHotel
from Panhandle, Florida
I purchased this cage 8 months ago. I love how I could decide where I wanted the majority of the shelves. This enable me to put a 2 tier cat scratching post in the top floor - adding even more fun for my 3 ferrets. The bottom pan did arrive with a broken edge but I called the company and they dispatched one very quickly. They only required me to email a photo of the damage (I can't blame them for just being sure). One of my ferrets is a rescue and had been quite the escape artist in the Ferret Nation cages per the Rescue Association I got him from. He hasn't been able to get out of this cage at all. I did hot glue carpet remnants to the ramps so they'd have traction, and I also cut carpet remnants to fit all the levels. This helped encourage litter box use because they generally don't "go" in carpeted areas. I sort of wish it was a bit taller to give them even more roaming area for when they have to be in the cage but from what I've learned from the Ferret Rescue, it really is large enough for 5 ferrets to live comfortably. The plastic shelves come out easy enough for cleaning. I would totally buy this again and recommend it to anyone who wants lots of space for their furry little ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Serves its purpose

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Special222
from UT
I know it is a Ferret cage but I got it for my Chinchilla and it has been working for us. I know people said that their ferret has a hard time using the ramps but my Chin just over jumps the ramps or runs up them. So that's not a problem. The cage was easy to put together to me but yeah putting the ramps on the platforms was not easy and I did break the hooks on a platform that holds the ramps and put a hole on the top of the platform. So i will never take them off. Over all I really like the cage and the space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good houseing hard to build

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
nytr
from rochester ny
the cage is a great size but the ramps are to smooth my ferret has a hard time get up them. It needs doors on both end for cleaning. The insturtions were not easy to floww at all it took me 4 hours to build. The pan is very hard to get in but all in all it is a very nice set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great size, cheap plastic design

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paid4QualityGotBrokenJunk
from Palos Park, IL
Great size. However, I paid more money for a nice cage expecting to get everything in mint condition. It is brand new afterall. That was not the case. Two out of nine shelves had busted hooks that attach them to the cage. Guess what... I didn't pay for broken junk. Also, good luck snapping the slick "steps" under the shelves to the solid plastic "J"-type hooks. God forbid you push the wrong way, the pressure will probably bust a hole through the center of the connecting plastic. Oh wait... that did happen to me too. I buy a lot of stuff from Petco, but this is probably the most disappointing thing I've received. My ferrets don't like the random holes in the shelves that are supposed to take them from one story to the next. Needless to say, they avoid them like the plague - which is pretty unfortunate for them to limit the large amount of space they COULD have. Lastly, please revise your instructions & add more specific details so others won't have to backtrack their steps a handful of times. I'm pretty disappointed. The reason I even gave 3 stars is because of the amount of space it has (which, again, my ferrets don't even utilize.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Living Room Series Deluxe Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage, Lots of Room to Play

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nettie225
from Oswego, NY
This is a great cage and great size for 4 or more ferrets. Mine seem to love it. Some of the plastic shelves did come with the plastic tabs broken off that are supposed to attach it to the cage though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.