petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray

Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray

Side zips out and expands to give your pet 75% more spaceRemovable fleece padExclusive zipper lock system for added safety and securityTwo side entry doorsCrafted from easy-to-clean durable polyester
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Review 1 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect pet carrier

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring, TX
Love it. The only thing I wish it had was wheels on the bottom. Carrying a 20 lb. dog in the carrier with a shoulder strap does get heavy at times. I know the ride would be rough, but brief relief on smooth surfaces would be welcome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is awesome!

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
Well made and so many wonderful features! Zippered entrance from either end or top are very handy and the ability to lock the zippers make it secure. My cat and I both especially love the expandable space. When not being used as a carrier it stays open and she enjoys it. Will buy one for my daughter & her cat! ☺
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for cats

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mexico
This carrier is the best for traveling with your cat... it´s light and safe and you can fold it tight when not in use and store it in a small space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good so far

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nashua, NH
The bag expands which is great, two puppies fit snug, but can move around. My only hangups might be the zippers. I think they're on the lower quality side. We also have the Delta carrier which is a Sherpa and it is pretty sold, material wise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best carrier for international trips!

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Amsterdam, Netherlands
I can't recommend this carrier enough! My yorkie usually destroys carriers in one flight but this has survived 2 transatlantic flights, not to mention at least 40 train/ferry/car trips. The expandable side is great, especially if you have a pet that tends to overheat when s/he gets stressed, because it gives them a little extra room under your chair to stretch out. I've had it for almost 2 years and it's just getting to the point where it needs to be replaced. And the bonus is that it doesn't look like a normal pet carrier, but more like an athletic duffle bag, which makes traveling with a pet much less conspicuous.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not a fan

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from arizona
This bag was not very good quality. My dog could easily undo the zippers herself and climb out. She also didn't like the fur lining on the bottom which is not really removable unless you remove the entire bottom making it much less stable. I found it to be pretty flimsy in general but did notice they are on sale right now in-store for only $10 so for that price it might be worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Immediately Denied by Southwest Airlines

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
If you're looking to take this bag on a plane, be careful. My jack russell who is a perfectly normal size to fly was denied at the check-in by Southwest Airlines because of the size of this bag. They took one look at it and said "There's no way that will fit under the seat. We're sorry." - To be fair, the tag on the carrier does warn you to check with the airline first, which we did, and over the phone they told us it should be okay. Apparently not. Other airlines might be okay, but SW wasn't having it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is to big for my dog.

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco,Ca
need to find a smaller bag to big for her. thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Norwood, NJ
This item is spacious and comfortable for your pet. We had always used the traditional black carriers but we hated to know that she was squashed within and uncomfortable. This new carrier not only provides plenty of room, it allows has all of the features that our old "common" carrier provided except with the benefit of us knowing that our loving doggy was comfortable in her carrier at all times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Cozy Home and Carrier

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I bought this carrier today and while I was walking with my dog from the store, it started to rain heavily. Achilles looked longingly at the carrier and so I set it down and opened the top. He jumped into it right away and curled up on the fleece cushion. I gave him his toys and zipped him up and didn't hear a peep from him all the way back to my office (10 blocks away). When we got back, I opened the door and he didn't come out, so I just put it under my desk and expanded the side, and he has been in there, playing with his toys and dozing off, for the last 5 hours! Check out the pic I just took. I love this carrier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NYC
I bought this because originally I bought a small cheap pop-up carrier for my puppy because I only needed it for a few days. He was already 15 pounds at 16 weeks so he was heavy for that thing. It was made of mesh and acrylic and he just did not like that thing. Didn't want to sleep in it, tried to claw out of it at night. So after one night I went to petco and bought the large. He loved the sherpa thing on bottom, and if I wasnt carrying him I let him into the expand area too. He had more room to play and nap. I used it to go on an airplane with my pup. He was so comfortable with the bag that he slept the entire flight, 2 hours, in the bag. He didn't make a peep while at the airport too, just stuck his head out of the little spot that I unzipped for him and wagged his tail happily at people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Manhattan
My Maltese loves it. Last over a year. Im buying it again !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Soft carrier I've owned

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Haverhill , NH
This was so much more than I expected! has a sturdy framework built into it so it's better than most soft type of carrieers. the unzip expantion is great when they need to be in there for a short stay while you go into the resturant or store it gives them room to get up strech move arround...Highly reccomend! LOVE it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Carrier!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
What sets this carrier apart from the rest, is the expandable feature! Our pup HATES to be confined, so having the extension helped alot with "crate training". We purchased this two weeks prior to his first airplane ride. We left it in the open position and encouraged him in. Within days, he was going in by himself! On the airplane, I kept it closed, but by then, he was used to it! We had a stress free flight! Highly recommend this product if your dog is not fond of a crate/ carrier. We found the extra room certainly helped!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Expand-A-Space Pet Carrier in Black & Gray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Large Enough for Two Cats

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hillsborough, NC
I bought this as a gift for my daughter who has two cats and needed a new carrier. This is large enough for both cats, though I would not want to have to transport them long distances. For the infrequent visit to the vet, this is perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.