petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums

Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums

Stylish, unique and compact designEach model includes the airstone(s), check valve(s) & 1, 2 or 4 qty 78" plastic tubing per outlet necessary for first time useEnergy-efficient modelMaintains optimum airflowUL listed for safety
Average Customer Rating:
3.795 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
7
26 out of 39(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Review 1 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Product and Affordable but Noisy

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
The title says it all. It works well and the price is relatively affordable but the pump is noisier than expected so I only turn it on occasionally. I'm sure there's quieter pumps but it may cost you more so it's up to you.
Sidenote: The air stones that come with the box are really cheap...it broke almost within minutes of handling it. Luckily, I bought a separate air bubble strip.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too noisy

PostedAugust 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
Too noisy. Got a Tetra® Whisper 10 UL Air Pump instead. Totally worth the extra money it cost.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Air Pump

PostedMay 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
The Petco Air Pump comes with 2 air stones, 2 check-valves and two sets of plastic tubing. This was a new aquarium for me and the directions for attaching the check-valve was a bit scarce. I had to go online to get instructions for cutting the tubing and attaching the check valves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good pump.

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I enjoy this fish tank air pump. It was easy to assemble, and it's not as loud as my other pump. Great product for the price, and well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very quiet pump

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Stone Lake WI
I bought this pump because I have a smaller one for my other tank. This new pump is positioned right next to where I sit so I needed something quiet and this pump is perfect for that. Can't hear a sounnd.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works fine, but yes it is noisy

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
This is an economically priced filter that goes on sale often, but I won't kid you, it is noisy. I can hear it inside a cabinet. You can mitigate it somewhat by putting it on an anti-vibration surface. You can find those at a local hardware store, just ask for a piece of anti-vibration mat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very quiet

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from toledo oh
its quiet and works really well. also fits perfectly on the back of the hood :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TOO FREAKING LOUD

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from nyc
Bought this pump - Model: AC-9904
about 3 months ago. was rather loud then and is now so load that even when using 33 db ear plugs you can still hear this pump clearly even with it two rooms away.
Air out put decreased as this pump ages.
DON'T Buy this air pump.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too noisy

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cypress, TX
Will be returning the product. Too noisy. Petco must have changed suppliers as the same item number pump I purchased two years ago has the Petco label and is very quiet. No label on this one and you can hear it in another room in the house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not bad

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
This is my first experience with a tank and freshwater fish....it's not a bad product....but I find it louder than I expected....setting it up was easy, but I had to figure it out on my own because the instructions don't tell you how...no explanations on check valves, how to use check valves , etc. one of the stones broke while I was attaching to the hose. I find it makes too much bubbles for a 10 gal tank...I was expecting a light even flow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SO LOUD

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my new tank...great air out put...but I am going to try and return it because it is so noisy...having to unplug it at night to sleep...I expected it to be a little less noisy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent air flow

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from sioux falls sd
this product has excellent air flow I really like the adjustable air flow feature and that I can have more than 1 air tube going at a time
highly recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Descent small pump

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Omaha, NE
Descent quality for the price, should last long enough to earn its' price. Not completely silent, but not bad. Petco should sell a number of items with free shipping; I would not have bought this without their trial at it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

plent of air

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from beacon falls ct
the box says up to 13 gallons. iT's pushing as ton of air into my 20 gal and i would try it up to 40 gals.
everything's included. Great deal for the price.
ps- its pretty quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too loud and weak

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
i gave this unit a try for a 30 gallon tank with 3 air stones. Talk about loud, I tried wrapping in a towel on top of a mouse pad and nothing. The humming got louder the longer it stayed on. I eventually returned it and purchased a tetra 150 and you would not know it was there its so quiet.
you get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

13 Gal Air Pumt

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
It pumps air. It does what it was designed to do so no complaints or issues on the minimums. A good, inexpensive pump.
BUT... 2 concerns:
1) It is LOUD. We measured it at 72-77 decibels. That completely negates the relaxing effect of the rippling aquarium.
2) When disassembling for the product return (we really want a quiet one) the air stone crumbled in my hand... so be prepared to add-on a better one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from addison,il
dont buy this, it is junk. the pump is very loud i should of spent the extra money and got a tetra whisper. the check valve that comes with it doesnt even work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does the job

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from centerville sd
comes with small stones i use big ones works great even with the big stones
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what description says!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from DeLand, Fl
Best 30$ ive spent at petco! I bought the pump for the 13-106 gal for my 75 gallon cichlid tank and I love it. It very quit even on the highest setting, at high it becomes a little loud but its matched by the sound of the water. Such a powerful pump coming with 2 air stones, 2 anti siphon valves, and 12-14' of tubing, at such a great deal! This pump has made me come looking at petco for more and more items after I had been discouraged and turned away from the company!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CT
Does the job. Extremely quiet. Works great certainly recommend to other beginner and novice enthusiast !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>