petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums

Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums

Stylish, unique and compact designEach model includes the airstone(s), check valve(s) & 1, 2 or 4 qty 78" plastic tubing per outlet necessary for first time useEnergy-efficient modelMaintains optimum airflowUL listed for safety
Average Customer Rating:
3.871 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
5
21 out of 31(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Review 1 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too noisy

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cypress, TX
Will be returning the product. Too noisy. Petco must have changed suppliers as the same item number pump I purchased two years ago has the Petco label and is very quiet. No label on this one and you can hear it in another room in the house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not bad

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
This is my first experience with a tank and freshwater fish....it's not a bad product....but I find it louder than I expected....setting it up was easy, but I had to figure it out on my own because the instructions don't tell you how...no explanations on check valves, how to use check valves , etc. one of the stones broke while I was attaching to the hose. I find it makes too much bubbles for a 10 gal tank...I was expecting a light even flow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SO LOUD

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my new tank...great air out put...but I am going to try and return it because it is so noisy...having to unplug it at night to sleep...I expected it to be a little less noisy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent air flow

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from sioux falls sd
this product has excellent air flow I really like the adjustable air flow feature and that I can have more than 1 air tube going at a time
highly recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Descent small pump

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Omaha, NE
Descent quality for the price, should last long enough to earn its' price. Not completely silent, but not bad. Petco should sell a number of items with free shipping; I would not have bought this without their trial at it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

plent of air

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from beacon falls ct
the box says up to 13 gallons. iT's pushing as ton of air into my 20 gal and i would try it up to 40 gals.
everything's included. Great deal for the price.
ps- its pretty quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too loud and weak

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
i gave this unit a try for a 30 gallon tank with 3 air stones. Talk about loud, I tried wrapping in a towel on top of a mouse pad and nothing. The humming got louder the longer it stayed on. I eventually returned it and purchased a tetra 150 and you would not know it was there its so quiet.
you get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

13 Gal Air Pumt

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
It pumps air. It does what it was designed to do so no complaints or issues on the minimums. A good, inexpensive pump.
BUT... 2 concerns:
1) It is LOUD. We measured it at 72-77 decibels. That completely negates the relaxing effect of the rippling aquarium.
2) When disassembling for the product return (we really want a quiet one) the air stone crumbled in my hand... so be prepared to add-on a better one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from addison,il
dont buy this, it is junk. the pump is very loud i should of spent the extra money and got a tetra whisper. the check valve that comes with it doesnt even work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does the job

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from centerville sd
comes with small stones i use big ones works great even with the big stones
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what description says!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from DeLand, Fl
Best 30$ ive spent at petco! I bought the pump for the 13-106 gal for my 75 gallon cichlid tank and I love it. It very quit even on the highest setting, at high it becomes a little loud but its matched by the sound of the water. Such a powerful pump coming with 2 air stones, 2 anti siphon valves, and 12-14' of tubing, at such a great deal! This pump has made me come looking at petco for more and more items after I had been discouraged and turned away from the company!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CT
Does the job. Extremely quiet. Works great certainly recommend to other beginner and novice enthusiast !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TRULY QUIET

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NYC
THIS IS THE FIRST QUIET AIR PUMP. COMES WITH ALL YOU NEED /2 AIR STONES /2 HOSES JOINTS AND THE LENGTH OF AIR HOSES/2 ARE QUITE GENEROUS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly Great

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
Works great, was a little skeptical but works like a charm! Air flow is great, sturdy, and quiet. Definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco aerator broke out of box?

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kokomo, IN.
I purchased a Petco aerator model AC-9903 and had it for a backup. It was broke right out of the box when I went to use it only one side would pump air. So I opened up the pump because places used to sell replacement parts then I found out they don't. So I inspected the inside and found one side had a rubber boot to pump air and it had a small crack that had been glued? So when I used it the small crack must've torn open because now there's a large tear and it's basically unfixable and my local Petco no longer sells this styleof pump or they've changed the style? So what to do now, I think getting on the online chat may guide me on what to do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Air Pump, Great price!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, Ut.
I wanted to wait to write this review until I had tested the air pump to make sure it worked well. I purchased the largest size air pump for my pond about 6 months ago after reading the other reviews and it has been great. My pond is small but deep and because of that, most air pumps won't work and the ones that do work tend to burn up after a month or so. This pump has been running 24/7 for the past 6 months in below freezing temperatures without any problem at all. We will see what the summer brings, but thus far I am extremely happy. Great air pump at a fantastic price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Annapolis, MD
Bought this last summer and love it, I use it for a 10 and 20 gallon tank for bait fish I catch from the bay. It's cheap, quite and just as good as the tetra brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bel Air, MD
I'm using it in my 50 gal. freshwater aquarium to power my filter and accessories. All are bubbling well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pump work great!!

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Milford,Ct
I did not realize how bad my old pump was until I started this one. It does a great job. I have under ground filters that are now working like new. Very quiet,and comes with everything you need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Air Pump for Freshwater & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this!

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
This air pump is extremely loud. I returned it immediately. Thankfully the local store handled the return well and set me up with a much quieter Whisper pump.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>