petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate

North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate

Fixed hardware-mounted dog gateAdjustable width - perfect for a variety of room openingsEasy-to-use pet gates with one-handed operationSmooth and simple hinge design swings like a doorDecorative bronze matte finish looks great in nearly every style of decor
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Review 1 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Impressed with the quality.

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, OH
The gate installed easily and looks great. I was impressed with the overall quality of the gate and hardware but ran into issues with the included screws. This is a wall mounted unit so stability is key. The screws given to attach the hinge side only extend past the bracket by 3/4 of an inch. With standard 1/2” sheetrock you obviously are only 1/4" into a stud. Personally, I prefer to know it isn't going anywhere and 1/4" is not enough assurance. I ran longer screws and felt more confident about the install. We have been using the gate for about a week and it has worked out very well thus far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great on wide stairs

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
My stairway is almost 48" wide and I was able to install this gate myself with a powerdrill. I had a little problem with the alignment using the pattern included and it didn't quite line up as I had hoped so I had to drill new holes and try again. I am not sure if it is because my stairs aren't completely level or the carpet made it difficult to line up. If I were to do it again I would prefer if instructions also included the measurements for the hardware in addition to the pattern. All in all it works great for keeping my dogs from going up the stairs and being able to open it with one hand while I hold one of my dogs is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT GATE AND EASY TO INSTALL

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from oak brook illinois
This gate is really good for ease of installitation I wish it was higher. The only thing really wrong with it is that I wanted to install it in a way that it is not really built for. It must be installed on the inside frame of the doorway you want to block, I wanted to put it on the outside wall so it would be completely out of the way when open. my own fault. but I just added a couple pieces of wood and made it a small extension of the wall and its fine. I wish it was a bit higher so my one dog would not be able to jump over it so easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to open

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Erie pa
I like the wider opening. It is easy to open and closes with a light push. Works really well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built Strong

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Destrehan, LA
This product was easy to install and is built really well. This gate helps to keep my American Bulldog contained without any failure. Great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gate and very nice looking

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
This is my second North States gate purchase for our home, and I'm very happy with both (they are different gates). Well made and thought out. It mounts and locks securely, is easy to open with one hand (with a little practice) and very easy to close. Lightweight, easy to adjust to the desired width and very nice looking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

DOES THE JOB

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ROCHESTER, WA.
SPACE BETWEEN THE BARS COULD BE SMALLER FOR TINY DOGS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New mexico
Great product works great! Wish there was a way to connect between the bars for the weird size door areas in our older home. But we got the gate to work and we love it!! No more stepping over a bar on the floor!!! THANKS!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate - Top of Deck Steps

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Glenside, PA
We needed to stop our dogs from going down the steps to the yard, but we wanted them to be outside on the deck. This Gate works great. It easy to unlatch, even when your hands our full. The install for us, allows us to press down the release latch and the gate swings open. It is also easy to shut, we just push it back over the latch. You do need 1 hand to open and close it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
The gate is affordable and effective. Took a bit of time to put it up but well worth the effort. My dog no longer has free access to lounge on my sofa and love seat! Thank God!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog proof

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Keene, NH
At least they can't chew through this gate.
I have gone through 2 wooden gates and decided to get a metal one. It works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

North States Pet Gate

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Carlisle, PA
Classy looking & functional gates. My husband had no problem installing them. We have them outside so I can't say how they'll hold up to the elements just yet but I think they'll be fine for at least few years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Elgin, IL
I ordered this gate after a wooden gate I had ordered came in horribly warped. I like the functionality of this gate and the fact that there is no bar across the floor when you open it. Be warned that you need at least some level of technical ability to install it. If the hinge side doesn't match up exactly on level with the latch side, it won't latch properly. And the directions don't really tell you how to go about making sure it's level. It took me two tries and I had to patch the first holes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice...but

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
the gate itself was decent, but my 3lbs. yorkie could squeeze between the bars and escape....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

descriptive, does what it says

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Studio City CA
Looks great, slim profile, fits our decor. Easy to install, does the job perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for North States Easy Swing & Lock Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to install and use

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chesterfield, VA
saves us tons of time from having to put the regular gate back up all of the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.