petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States Stairway Pet Gate

North States Stairway Pet Gate

Versatile hardware-mounted safety indoor dog gatePerfect at the top of stairs or for a variety of room openingsEasy one-handed operationSwings on hinges like a door with a smooth and simple motionWill not swing over stairs with proper installationDurable, weather-resistant plastic dog gate
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Review 1 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baby gates

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
We bought 3 of these gates to keep our puppy out of where he shouldn't be until he learns. The gates are great, Easy to assemble but just a little awkward to close but do the job very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

North States Sairway Pet Gate

PostedMay 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chesterfield, VA
Great gate at a fantastic price. We use our gate to block the bathroom door. Our dogs stay in there during the day. When we are home the gate easily comes off and is stored against the wall. Very sturdy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

community

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Flushing, Mi.
where I live we arr now in a gated community. I purchsed 4 and they work great
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from LA
Works as expected..................................
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog gate

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Whitewater, WI
When you buy cheap that is what you get.
It works just fine except for the latch needs a little works. It sure makes it easier to go up and down the stairs. I would include two paper temp-lets for drill holes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So-so gate

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Haven, CT
I am OK with the gate I bought, although is not as perfect as I imagined it. I wanted the gate so that the cats do not go upstairs to an office area. The gate has two major flaws: 1) it only swings one way, which might not be the way you want it to swing, and 2) the hinges and pegs are not flexible or allow for extension, so if your walls are not perfectly straight or if there is a baseboard, you have a problem. Eventually, I figured a way to set the gate to serve my purposes, but it only has 3 hinges in place instead of 4 and it swings in a way that it is not the desired one. Oh, well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good child gate

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Suffolk,ny
Gate takes getting use to opening and closing. I breed Maltese, so when younger children visited they couldn't operate the gate. And don't leave open, the puppies will chew the cupped plastic hinge like a new toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Returning it...

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I just got this gate and the first thing I noticed was it's hard to open. It's an okay gate for the price. I'm returning it and buying a better one. Definitely not worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

North States Stairway Pet Gate Flimsy

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ferndale, WA
It was a great deal on the price but the quality is not good. It is very flimsy and not constructed well. I don't believe I will be purchasing one of these again. Not recommended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stairway Pet Gate

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from C Islip
The gate is great, but it's a little awkward trying to get it closed and lining up the pegs, especiallly when you have your puppy trying to get downstairs. Because of my doorway leading downstairs, and the instructions as to not having the gate open towards the stairs, I first had to put it upside down, but that didn't work for me. So I have to have it open onto the steps, but it's okay, because it's a white stoop-like step.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from s.e. wis
We have Had the same one for many years and still working as it should. Good item for the price, not fancy to look at, but really does the job. For taller dogs install alittle higher off the floor, thats what I did for my shepherds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light and Easy

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
The set up isn't hard at all especially for someone like myself who goes weird when I hear nails and drill. Easy open and easy close. I love it because my pom can see me through the holes when we're separated and I'm in the kitchen while he's in the living room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You get what you pay for!

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hillsborough, NJ
Gate is not very sturdy, but will do the job of keeping our lab puppy in her secured area. It's a good thing we don't expect to keep her confined for an extended period of time since I don't think (my opinion) the gate will withstand the test of time with our expected constant opening/closing of the gate!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for North States Stairway Pet Gate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

decent for price

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from michigan
This gate does the trick, but it is difficult to re-align the closing hinges. For the price, it's a decent gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.