petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser

A corn-based waste pick-up solutionNatural odor control with baking sodaWorks best with the Essentials Waste Bag DispenserEasy-to-load rollsFast, convenient, easy waste pick-up
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
3 out of 8(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Review 1 for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheHurd
from New York, NY
Yes they get holes in them when taking them apart to fast, but really are you ever in that big of a hurry. Worth the extra seconds to stay plastic free.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Willing To Trade Ease Of Use For Biodegradability

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oly1Eye
from Germantown, MD
Hey there. Totally agree with everyone here about the bags being easy to ruin if you're not careful when separating from the roll. But to us it's worth it to take a few extra seconds in exchange for keeping plastic out of the landfills. On occasion when I've accidentally torn into the bottom of one of the bags, I simply tie a knot in the bottom to tie up the hole, and I can still use it. We've used a different brand of bag that was great but more expensive and not in a roll; saving a few bucks and having the convenience of carrying them in the little container on the leash is a good trade-off for us. So yeah -- just be careful tearing! Really not a big deal in our opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tears very easily

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
GingerB85
from Seattle, WA
I picked these bags up because I wanted to use a bag that was biodegradable. If you do not tear the bags apart very, very slowly and carefully, they split on the bottom. I wasted four or five when I first tried to use this. I will certainly not be using this brand again because of this flaw.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible for Dog Poo, Great for the Earth

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karbi
from Washington, DC
Cons:
The bags tear very, very easily. Unless you exercise an extreme level of caution while pulling out a baggie, it will tear at the bottom. This creates a hole at the bottom of the bag, making it likely that you will get poo on your hands. (Sort of defeating the purpose of the bag).
The bags are, relatively speaking, huge. This is great if you have a huge dog with huge poos, but for an average dog, what this really means is that you are getting a reduced number of bags per roll.
Pros:
The bags, I assume, are biodegradable. I assume because I have not tested this premise.
Neutrals:
The roll is small and fits easily into the dispenser I purchased separately (not the same brand). It means I have to re-load the dispenser more frequently, but at least it means I'll go through these bags quickly and now know to never, ever purchase them again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
stockha0
from Manchester, TN
I bought these bags due to their biodegradable nature. However, I wasn't aware that biodegradable in this case apparently means flimsy. On multiple occasions, I have poked a hole through one of the bags in the simple process of tearing one off the roll. And a doggy waste bag is not something that I want to break easily.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice but....

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
IndianaDogLover
from Valparaiso, IN
I love that this product is biodegradeable however, the bags are very difficult to seperate and often rip up into the bag you are tearing off. You must slowlly, very slowly, tear the bags apart. It takes too much time. Also, I have large dogs and sometimes the bag is just not big enough.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tear Carefully!

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
PuggleMom23
Tear these slowly and carefully or else you will regret it! Got doggy excrements on my hands...not good if you're in a rush!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arm & Hammer Essentials Biodegradable Refill Waste Bags for the Essentials Dispenser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dotster
from San Jose, CA
Welcome back to biodegradable waste bags! This product has an interesting taffy-like tear-off feel to it, but it does the job. Tear the bags off carefully, as this cornstarch-based product can tear in the wrong place ...just take your time and you'll be fine. So happy to see biodegradable back!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.