petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar

Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar

Reflective at nightReinforced seams for added strength & protectionMachine washableWater resistantFolds back for eating & drinkingStainless steel ring to attach your pet's leashAdjustable for a secure & custom fit
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Review 1 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kimmy0118
from Cincinnati, OH
Bought this for 20lb Boston Terrier. Semi Flexible smaller and more comfortable than traditional cones. After neutering ripped the plastic cone to shreds and vet had to duct tape (this was before I picked him up post surgery). Tolerates this collar well no fighting it (well not a lot). He is able to drink water and eat and NOT reach his wounds. Only negative is size is "smaller" than advertised (up to 12 inches) should say up to 10-11 inches. He could have used medium, but none in stock.
Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

All Four Paws Comfy Cone

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Derb522002
from New Hampshire
I thought this would be better then the cone my dog came home with from the vets. I went to the store to get the comfy cone and put in on my dog. He liked it but then got to the wound on his tail and started licking it. He had no trouble turning his head to the side.
The collar needs to be stiffer. the collar colasped when he moved his head. I would not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overwhelming chemical smell

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Barlowsmom
from Sterling Heights, MI
This product smells like t-shirts that have been freshly pressed with an iron on, but 10X worse. I can't try it on my dog until I get rid of the chemical smell, for fear of setting off his seizures. I have washed it in non-toxic detergent, detergent + baking soda, detergent + white vinegar, dawn (which is finally starting to help). My next attempt will be a baking soda paste and heat. It will tick me off it he can still get to his foot after all of this, but I will say, it has held up to all these gentle cycle machine washes. Ten more ought to do it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product can be very helpful

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ilovelucymae
from Warren, Michigan
I bought this for my Doberman Pincher to keep her from licking a wound on the top of her paw. It is a lot better than the plastic e collar because she does not bang into everything and is more comfortable. For us there was a down side to it. Our dog totally freezes up when any e collar was put on. We worked with her for a long time calming her down and finally getting her to lay down in it. As we watched her lying down we saw that she was still able to get to her front paw while wearing it. The up side was she was so upset with the collar that the paw issue was put on hold.
I think this collar would be great if the wound was not on her paw. I also think it would work great on another breed of dog, not a Doberman. It's easy to put on and off and washable. Our Petco store said we could return it if it did not work out which was so nice because it cost $39.99. We chose to keep it and when she starts licking the paw...we show her the collar and she stops. If you have to get an e collar, this is the one. The only way they could improve it would be to use material in a lighter color so your dog is not in a dark tunnel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cone Ever!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
GeorgeAndGraciesMom
from Seattle, WA
Our 85lb male lab has broken many a cone and left destruction in his path. When he recently had stitches again, I went looking for a softer cone and found this one. Uh-mazing!
I bought him an XL for length (he wears a 20+" collar) and it fits like a dream. I usually just slide it on and off him...not undoing the velcro each time. He is completely unable to get anywhere to lick. Trust me, he's tried.
Bonuses: it's washable, so I bought a second one and always have a clean one ready to go. Also, when he lays down, it collapses over his face so you get nminimal guilty looks! And he just goes to sleep :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MTOM
My dog was still able to lick his wound and one of the loops that holds the strap in place ripped off in less than a week. I would get the more traditional cone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as described

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
NotTheOne
from Tulsa, OK
The small collar is sized for 8"-10" neck even though the package says to 12". The collar portion will be bigger but the Velcro portion will not attach to a dog with an 11" neck. will be returned
The medium is way too large of a cone for a dog with an 11" neck, dog can't drink or eat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great alternative

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
CaroMina
I bought this for my cat after she was sent home from the vet with a traditional plastic "cone of shame." After 12 hours, she was clearly miserable, and unable to eat, sleep, or snuggle, let alone walk around without bumping into everything.
Even though she's still quite sad about having to wear anything at all, she's much happier in this one. The biggest benefit is the flexibility. She can lay down comfortably and snuggle with us, and when she inevitably runs into things, there isn't a jarring noise. The collar does fold back for eating and drinking, but I'm finding it easier to just take it off and supervise her at meal times.
Like other reviewers have noted, the collar does have a chemical smell to it, and definitely interferes with her peripheral vision and hearing. It's also a bit heavy, but not so much that she can't get around.
The reflective strip on the outside is kind of comical on an indoor cat, but I can see how this would be great for a dog.
E-collars and cones are a pain, no matter what, but I think this is a really nice alternative to what we got at the vet's office. My sad cat is slightly less sad now. Definitely recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChessyMommy
from Allentown, PA
I bought this for my 5 month old puppy. I had experience in the past with the clear hard plastic
ones given at the vet and they were not comfortable at all. For the amount of time my dog had to wear the collar the ProCone was perfect! Comfortable...flexible yet rigid. Dog can be comfortable in any position he lays. Worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from DFW, TX
I like how this is a soft dog cone, especially since the lack of a completely rigid edge means that the dog doesn't scuff up my walls!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the extra expense

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hayes, VA
If you have a big dog this soft cone is the ticket. My Irish Wolfhound keeps wounding his tail -- banging it on things -- then he tries to fix it himself by licking and chewing his tail. The collar has stopped his "self repair" so hopefully proper healing can take place. Because it's a soft cone, he can wear it around the house without knocking things over or damaging things in the house. I'm very satisfied and happy that I purchased this type of cone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Contech ProCone Soft Recovery Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wish I hadn't spent the money

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom2aRattie
from Vermont
Our local Petco has apparently been having issues getting in some stock, so after my Rat Terrier went through his neutering, I needed to get an e-collar so that he'd leave it alone. The only collar they had in stock was the ProCone Soft Recovery Collar. All of the more rigid plastic collars were sold out, and there was only one soft collar left in a small, which was right on the verge of his neck size. The label said fits up to 12 inch necks, he's an 11 1/2.
There's no way we can fasten the velco collar without choking him. I couldn't even get one finger between the collar and his neck. I ended up removing the collar part completely since I couldn't use it.
He absolutely hates the noise of the ripping velcro. It scares him, so the collar is now a source of terror rather than a tool to keep him from licking his stitches. Worse, we discovered that he's able to lick himself even with the collar on. The side collapses easily enough so there's no obstacle.
Granted, ratties are pretty flexible, but after paying the money I did, I would have expected to actually get some use out of this e-collar, instead, it's useless and store policy is that if the package has been opened or the item been used, you can't return it, so we're stuck with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.