petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer

PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer

1000-yard range - ideal for training in backyards and parksAdjustable and waterproof receiver collarRemote delivers correction signals to electronic training collarMulti-level dog training collar with 15 different correction settingsDesigned for pets 40 lbs or more and 6 months or older
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
22 out of 25(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product/terrible manufacturer

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I spent $200 on this product and it quit working after less than 6 months. It was replaced and the replacement quit working after a year. I called PetSafe customer service and the told me that it was not under warranty and that even though two of their products had failed to work, they could do nothing but sell me another $200 replacement. I will never buy another product with the PetSafe name on it. Save your money and buy another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Training Tool for difficult dogs

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
My beagle is all nose to the ground and controlling him can be difficult if not impossible around squirrels, deer, rabbits, turkeys... I LOVE the audio feature of this product which is usually enough to snap him out of his hunting and bring him back on command. I also use it at puppy parks that aren't fenced in as a safety tool so his chasing squirrels doesn't take him in the way of traffic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dual control

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
I purchased this longer than a year ago and still works great. I purchased the two dog model. We have a large dog 100 lbs and a medium dog, 30lbs. The large dog hikes, swims, bikes with me and I use it when we are going anywhere we will be with other people and dogs. I use the beep function mostly, since he's learned he doesn't like the shock function. A series of beeps is all it take. Also, when he gets to far away from me on a hike, I beep it and he knows to come right back. The smaller dog uses the collar when he isn't listening to commands and 'forgets" the rules of the house. Most of the time a beep is all it takes but once in a while he needs to be "reminded". It's great to have the dual function and not to have to worry about which controller goes to what dog. The setting are different for each dog and easy to change on the spot if needed. Great product and I'd recommend the rechargeable kind. I can't imagine having to pay for the batteries.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
I own two pit bulls, both are rescues. My male is a big 85 pound meatball. On walks, we pass numerous houses with dogs who bark up a storm as we go by. He would pull like crazy every time. I bought this to curb that response. Now, as we pass those same houses, he stays right by my side as the other dogs bark. I highly recommend spending a little extra for this rechargeable one. I bought the cheaper one that is not rechargeable and had to return it. Definitely worth the money here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally shocked how well it works!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brigantine, NJ
Wow, what can I say?! I can easily say both myself and my dog were shocked at how well this collar works. Not only was it easy to use but the battery life last super long too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So useful and helpful

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Henrietta, NY
I bought this to help reinforce boundaries outside, along with helping control excitement when people come to visit. I have a 20 month old 100lbs American Bulldog. He is a great dog, but he is as big as I am and doesn't realize it. So he would intimidate people that would come to visit because he would jump at them. This has help solve the problem. I give him a warning beep when I tell him down and now that I have had it a few weeks he rarely jumps when anyone comes in. We have even been able to train him to wait at the top of the steps so people can get to the living space before he greats them. I gave it a 4/5 paws because I need the volume level to be at the max but the volume control and the shock control are the same. So I have to remember before I use the shock to lower it from the highest setting. If those controls were not dependent on each other than it would be for sure a 5/5 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Elite Large dog trainer

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I have a now 2 ½ year old Lab, when she was a year old we “took her off the hands” of someone that was unable to take care of her. The Lab was crazy, no training and a complete nightmare. She took me on walks. I bought this Elite Big Dog that is rechargeable; after 3 months of training her on my own with little success. This has made a huge difference. She no longer jumps on people, tries to jump on counter to eat food, nips at our heels and I take her for a walk to name a few of the great changes. Plus- We do not use the shocker. The sound of the beep warned her enough that is all we need. I still use the collar but more so if I introduce her to new settings as in the campground.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for my dog

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tx
I have a 10 month 100 lb mastiff. It wasn't sufficient at the highest setting (15) to even startle my puppy. It might work for another dog/breed but not for my pup who is actually well behaved. Just wanted the collar because im starting to take her around smaller children now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool!

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CF, Wisconsin
In conjunction with professional training this has helped tremendously. I like the beep only feature and after two short weeks we rarely use the shock function because the beep is sufficient. It has helped the most with jumping and nipping. I wouldnt recommend any other brand. Our puppy is 55lbs and 7mos old. No issus at all. Great range and durability. NO CONS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be sure to use only when needed

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Santa Clarita,CA
We just rescued a German Shepherd 3 years old. She had only been used as a breeder and had no experience with living as a family member. We purchased this for use only to save our cat from living under the bed. It worked right away and we hardly had to use it at all. Strength 7 seems to do the trick for her. Expensive but well worth it. Our new baby no longer chases the cat she just ignores her which is just fine. This is easy to use and set up and reliable as well. But it could easily be abused so be sure to test it on yourself first. I am thrilled that it is now gathering dust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice product that works:)

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Temperance, MI
I searched awhile before I choose the Pet Safe big dog collar. I am very happy with it! It is made nice, the battery holds for a week (I use it 12 hrs a day & shut it off overnight), the range is very good (I have 5 acres & my dog is naughty trying to sneak next door), It actually works to even teach old dogs new tricks! I have a 4 year old Rottweiler, he gets one warning beep & then a zap (level 15 or he wont react at all). After just 3 days of that he does what he is suppose to with just the beep right away. Good Luck!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Collar Was A Lifesaver

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mableton, GA
I had tried every training method that I could find on my 1 year old shelter rescue Whippet mix with no luck. After he bolted from the yard after getting around the fence and almost getting hit by a car, I was ready to take him back to the shelter and hope that he would get adopted by a family with a large fenced in yard.
Then while browsing through the site, I saw this collar and because I love my dog, I decided to give this a try first. By the end of the first day he learned the boundaries of the yard. By the end of the second day it put and end to him having avoidable accidents in the house, and over the next couple days he learned no to chew shoes and other items.
In a week I was able to teach him all the things I couldn't in a month. Now he is great even when he isn't wearing the collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remote trainer

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
This works great. I have a XL dog & it has worked wonders. My dog has not left my yard once!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I can actually take my Boxers to a park now. Before this, they'd pull and would run off. I don't even need to have the collar on, just it being on my dog makes him behave because he knows what it feels like. It will go up pretty high(shock wise) but I never have to take it above a 3 or 4 even when they do miss behave, heck even just the 'beep' correction will work a lot of the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Reedsburg, WI
I have a collie. A large dog. And this item works great. I have taught him to sit in on command in 3days where as verbal and treats never worked for me. I am stating to work on "come" next. I expect great things. Now only if PETCO customer service was this good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sarasota, Fl
This is a great tool in training a dog. Works as designed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Danville, Va
This is an excellent product. You need no batteries, it comes with a plug-in cord for recharging every night! Wonderful 15 levels to work with. I have changed my dogs behavior the day I bought it!! Its just wonderful. Even though its pricey and I HIGHLY recommend this because I have tried others. Enjoy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Maybe mine's defective

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
After reading these other reviews I'm starting to think I got a defective one because I have a 55 lb Siberian Husky and even on the highest setting she just looks around curiously as if someone tapped her on the shoulder!! I have her pretty well trained but she's a stubborn dog and this is not enough to keep her from chasing a squirrel out of our yard.
I decided to ease her into it making sure to slowly move up in severity and by the time I realized how useless mine was it was far too late to return it!! Very frustrating.I mean if a red light didn't blink when it was "shocking" I would have no way of knowing it was working from her response. What a waste of time and money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

training

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Keedysville, MD
Hoping to give this a 5 star rating after we get to train Buddy using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-22points
2of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
I recommend this product and we use it with our dog everyday. The only problem I have is our collar is just over a year old and we starting having troubles. Sometimes when we go to shock her it doesn't shock anymore. Overall, the product is great, it just maybe time for us to replace with a new one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>