petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer

PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer

1000-yard range - ideal for training in backyards and parksAdjustable and waterproof receiver collarRemote delivers correction signals to electronic training collarMulti-level dog training collar with 15 different correction settingsDesigned for pets 40 lbs or more and 6 months or older
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So useful and helpful

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
SarahBeanNY
from Henrietta, NY
I bought this to help reinforce boundaries outside, along with helping control excitement when people come to visit. I have a 20 month old 100lbs American Bulldog. He is a great dog, but he is as big as I am and doesn't realize it. So he would intimidate people that would come to visit because he would jump at them. This has help solve the problem. I give him a warning beep when I tell him down and now that I have had it a few weeks he rarely jumps when anyone comes in. We have even been able to train him to wait at the top of the steps so people can get to the living space before he greats them. I gave it a 4/5 paws because I need the volume level to be at the max but the volume control and the shock control are the same. So I have to remember before I use the shock to lower it from the highest setting. If those controls were not dependent on each other than it would be for sure a 5/5 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Elite Large dog trainer

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
snaperfish
from Massachusetts
I have a now 2 ½ year old Lab, when she was a year old we “took her off the hands” of someone that was unable to take care of her. The Lab was crazy, no training and a complete nightmare. She took me on walks. I bought this Elite Big Dog that is rechargeable; after 3 months of training her on my own with little success. This has made a huge difference. She no longer jumps on people, tries to jump on counter to eat food, nips at our heels and I take her for a walk to name a few of the great changes. Plus- We do not use the shocker. The sound of the beep warned her enough that is all we need. I still use the collar but more so if I introduce her to new settings as in the campground.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for my dog

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
BossHog
from Tx
I have a 10 month 100 lb mastiff. It wasn't sufficient at the highest setting (15) to even startle my puppy. It might work for another dog/breed but not for my pup who is actually well behaved. Just wanted the collar because im starting to take her around smaller children now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool!

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
PipesMum
from CF, Wisconsin
In conjunction with professional training this has helped tremendously. I like the beep only feature and after two short weeks we rarely use the shock function because the beep is sufficient. It has helped the most with jumping and nipping. I wouldnt recommend any other brand. Our puppy is 55lbs and 7mos old. No issus at all. Great range and durability. NO CONS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be sure to use only when needed

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sheez
from Santa Clarita,CA
We just rescued a German Shepherd 3 years old. She had only been used as a breeder and had no experience with living as a family member. We purchased this for use only to save our cat from living under the bed. It worked right away and we hardly had to use it at all. Strength 7 seems to do the trick for her. Expensive but well worth it. Our new baby no longer chases the cat she just ignores her which is just fine. This is easy to use and set up and reliable as well. But it could easily be abused so be sure to test it on yourself first. I am thrilled that it is now gathering dust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice product that works:)

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mandarella
from Temperance, MI
I searched awhile before I choose the Pet Safe big dog collar. I am very happy with it! It is made nice, the battery holds for a week (I use it 12 hrs a day & shut it off overnight), the range is very good (I have 5 acres & my dog is naughty trying to sneak next door), It actually works to even teach old dogs new tricks! I have a 4 year old Rottweiler, he gets one warning beep & then a zap (level 15 or he wont react at all). After just 3 days of that he does what he is suppose to with just the beep right away. Good Luck!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Collar Was A Lifesaver

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
tboome
from Mableton, GA
I had tried every training method that I could find on my 1 year old shelter rescue Whippet mix with no luck. After he bolted from the yard after getting around the fence and almost getting hit by a car, I was ready to take him back to the shelter and hope that he would get adopted by a family with a large fenced in yard.
Then while browsing through the site, I saw this collar and because I love my dog, I decided to give this a try first. By the end of the first day he learned the boundaries of the yard. By the end of the second day it put and end to him having avoidable accidents in the house, and over the next couple days he learned no to chew shoes and other items.
In a week I was able to teach him all the things I couldn't in a month. Now he is great even when he isn't wearing the collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remote trainer

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jklovespets
This works great. I have a XL dog & it has worked wonders. My dog has not left my yard once!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
APRICHARD
from Georgia
I can actually take my Boxers to a park now. Before this, they'd pull and would run off. I don't even need to have the collar on, just it being on my dog makes him behave because he knows what it feels like. It will go up pretty high(shock wise) but I never have to take it above a 3 or 4 even when they do miss behave, heck even just the 'beep' correction will work a lot of the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sparky27
from Reedsburg, WI
I have a collie. A large dog. And this item works great. I have taught him to sit in on command in 3days where as verbal and treats never worked for me. I am stating to work on "come" next. I expect great things. Now only if PETCO customer service was this good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
rabbitgator
from Sarasota, Fl
This is a great tool in training a dog. Works as designed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
my2shepards
from Danville, Va
This is an excellent product. You need no batteries, it comes with a plug-in cord for recharging every night! Wonderful 15 levels to work with. I have changed my dogs behavior the day I bought it!! Its just wonderful. Even though its pricey and I HIGHLY recommend this because I have tried others. Enjoy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Maybe mine's defective

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
rick117
from Atlanta, GA
After reading these other reviews I'm starting to think I got a defective one because I have a 55 lb Siberian Husky and even on the highest setting she just looks around curiously as if someone tapped her on the shoulder!! I have her pretty well trained but she's a stubborn dog and this is not enough to keep her from chasing a squirrel out of our yard.
I decided to ease her into it making sure to slowly move up in severity and by the time I realized how useless mine was it was far too late to return it!! Very frustrating.I mean if a red light didn't blink when it was "shocking" I would have no way of knowing it was working from her response. What a waste of time and money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

training

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Briansbuddy
from Keedysville, MD
Hoping to give this a 5 star rating after we get to train Buddy using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-21points
2of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ashley091985
I recommend this product and we use it with our dog everyday. The only problem I have is our collar is just over a year old and we starting having troubles. Sometimes when we go to shock her it doesn't shock anymore. Overall, the product is great, it just maybe time for us to replace with a new one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very very nice dog trainer!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kari7143
from Omaha NE
Recently purchased this for my 10 month old boxer pup who would get up on the counter and eat whatever the kids left laying around. After a few shocks for different bad behaviors the beeping alone gets her to stop doing whatever we are telling her to stop. The best part about it is that it's rechargable, those batteries get expensive!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What's the truth!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
DogBuster
from NC
Let me tell you what's the truth. Recently got a one-year-old pit bull/lab mix, male dog that was crazy wild. Opened our gate and he would bolt. Tried everything--tender loving care, bonding, and clicker with treats. Last straw I bought this collar. The dog got out, had the collar on him, and was ready and gave him a zap. Jumped around, called him to come back, and to my amazement he came. Did this three times in two days and have a new family pet. Can open the gate, tell him to stay, and he will sit down and makes no attempt to bolt. I can go through the gate, move vehicles in and out or whatever I need to do and he stays in back yard. It's amazing! 100% happy. I believe you get what you pay for. Totally recommend this unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
34of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and effective training tool

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
XxShadowOfTheWolfxX
from Haughton,Louisiana
We've tried a few different methods with our 8 month old Catahoula Cur (your typical stubborn teenage dog).The clicker and target training are good for general obedience,they couldn't touch the major problem: Shadow's a runner,any open gate and shes off across he neighborhood.Now with this collar we can finally enjoy off-leash walks or just having her loose and roaming around the yard with us.She sticks close to us and its easy to redirect her when she tries to go off in the wrong direction.Also worked well to stop her from digging and chasing small animals.Saw positive results on the first day of use.
Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a fast,safe and (in my opinion,having tested it on myself up to a lv.8) humane way of correcting/redirecting their dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long range really works!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
krmn8r
from VT
This remote trainer claims to work up to 1000 yards and it really does! We have used this in our woods with our walker hound --- give her the tone and she immediately returns to us even when she's hot on the trail of some interesting critter (often we can't even see where she is due to the trees and bushes).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for quick training, no more yelling " Bad Dog"

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
TBear47
from Brook Park, Ohio
I have trained dogs for 30 years, and have come across some very stubborn dogs. After I purchased a Irish Wolfhound, that was very stubborn and laught at anything I tried to train her to do (very misbehaved) On a leash she was great and did everything I wanted her to do, but as soon as the leash was off and we were in the house , her behavior changed (BAD) I purchased the collor to see if it would help, I was always againts these collar's and felt they were torture to an animal, But I soon realized what a great help it became, after a few caution beeps and then as I call it zapped!, she soon new who was the boss, and started to pay more attention to me talking to her and trying to train her. Its alot better then always yelling to get her attention.Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+13points
33of 53voted this as helpful.