petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat

Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat

Tip-proof food dish, drip-proof water bottle and hay guardSafe, well-ventilated and comfortable home for small petsEasy access through wire top and wire door at the front of the habitatAssembles in minutes using four easy-to-use plastic clips - no tools requiredTwo sizes of habitats are ideal for use as rabbit cages, chinchilla enclosures and guinea pig cages
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
44 out of 48(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 70 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Review 1 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Large and flimsy

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rusabrik
from Baltimore
We bought this cage on-line as the stores don't carry cages of this size. When the first cage arrived, the top frame was broken and we had to send it back (Petco couldn't replace just one part). Within a week we received a replacement. Now that we assembled the cage, I realize that it's extremely flimsy. If I had a chance to feel it at a store, I probably wouldn't buy it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my guinea pigs

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
matthorner
from Johnstown, PA
I first got the Large sized habitat when I adopted my three boy guinea pigs from my local Petco. They've gotten a lot bigger so I upgraded them to the XL size and its perfect! I can fit their hideaways , chew logs , toys and food dish in it with room to spare! We're now also using the L sized habitat for our three GIRL guinea pigs and its also an improvement over their old habitat. The only things I don't like are the snap in second level/hideaway fixtures that came with the habitats (they're too steep for my piggies) and the water bottles aren't exactly A grade. Other than that perfect habitats for guinea pigs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Spencersfamily
from Southern CA
Our bunny grew out of it 1st cage. Looked at several before purchasing this one. The bunny loves it! So much more room and allows for some small hoping. Easy to put together and the height is great. So glad we purchased!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All in one cage

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
1HappyBunny
from Florida
I bought the extra large cage and it is much more comfortable and roomy than the usual bunny cages. Comes with water bottle and hay dispenser attached to the outside of the cage which allows for more inside room for the bunny. Bunnys food is on a full length shelf with a ramp which keeps it away from the feces and bedding and bunny can also take cover under this shelf when nervous. The bottom of the cage must be detached to clean the cage but I would rather do this than have a drawer because I dont want the bunny to hurt his feet on a wire bottom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
BeachPetLover
from NMB, SC
Two months ago our family purchased two guinea pigs. When choosing a cage, this one was the most appealing for several reasons....it has plenty of room, it comes with all the necessary accessories, and it has access from the front or the top of the cage. My 13 year old daughter put the cage together herself. We definitely bought the perfect cage. It's large, but very easy to clean. We actually put down puppy training pads, lift the top right off & put it over the pads, put guinea pigs in & clean all the bottom parts. The cage is so roomy, we even added a large potty with training litter and they are actually learning to use it! We love this cage and our two new additions. I'm not sure if we have the large or x-large. Very highly recommend this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing Cage

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Johna
from Cleveland
To be honest, I have never written a review for a product, but I definitely needed to share my thoughts on this one! Before buying this cage, I had bought a really flimsy 28" cage by WARE because I was too eager to get my bunny. The cage was cheap, but after buying all the accessories for the cage, it started to add up. I decided to search around online and I came across this cage! I chose this one because it came with everything, which ended up totaling to be cheaper than my previous purchase. This cage is soo sturdy and you can definitely trust it! The entire top lifts open for easy access, it comes with really nice accessories, has a ton of room for your small pet, and is a really good quality build. Buying this cage that came with everything, compared to buying the cheaper cage and buying everything separate, this cage ended up being cheaper!! and its so much nicer. I was amazed at the price. I would recommend this for everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

alright

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
doe0430
from oak creek,Wisconsin
My rabbits definitely like their new extra large cage better than their old cage! I personally really like that its more roomy with the waterbottle and hay on the outside.I also like that its easier to clean. The only thing I dont like about it is that the instructions for assembly were for the smaller versions of the cage and I had to figure some parts out on my own and it was confusing. Other than that its a great habitat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cage

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
theproms
from WA
It's big. It's really bulky. We have 1 guinea pig in it, and he has space to roam...but still too small to climb the sleep area where the food is suppose to sit--so it's down in the sawdust. When he grows as is able to climb the hideout, it'll make for more space to roam. The top easily unclips for easy cage cleanup, the top unlatches for easy entry from the top, and having the water bottle and food bowl is a nice touch. The bottle, however, does leak, and it doesn't always stay attached. After a long weekend, we almost had a dead guinea pig, due to the water bottle falling off sometime while we were gone. So take precautions if you leave, with this water bottle. Also, with the side hay container, make sure the bottom is 'sitting' in the cage, not out of the cage, or you'll have an even bigger grassy mess to clean up.
Happy with this cage, and so is the 'pig.'
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TOO MANY PIECES/THIN PLASTIC

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ivyrose
from LSVL CO
THIS CAGE IS NOT MEANT FOR A CHINCHILLA!!!!!
THESE CHINS WILL EAT THEIR WAY OUT IN ONE DAY!!
NOT FOR A PET THAT CHEWS.........
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for hedgehog!

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveMyHedgie
I was worried at first that the large would be too big for my hedgehog, but it's the perfect size! He also can't climb up the side and injure himself because of the high plastic walls. Love it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
ReggieTHedgie
from Green Bay, WI
I purchased the large sized cage for my Hedgehog, and by far this is better than I hoped for. Love that the entire top opens to allow access and that the deep plastic base keeps him from getting the bedding everywhere.
Definitely recommend keeping the ledge/cave addition out and using an igloo instead. Makes it much easier to find your little friend and leaves much more space for them to run around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
honore00
from Seattle
Please Please do not keep your rabbit in this. Rabbits require so much more space than this. Unless your'e only having them in there for a few hours, please consider investing on something larger.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Bunny

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Meowbaby
from LA
My 4.8 lb. rabbit seems very happy in his new cage. His previous one was smaller and he seemed bored whenever he wasn't loose. We didn't use the hay holder or water bottle (he already had better ones). We also didn't install the hidey house/ platform because he has a house already that he likes. The top openings are great. Easily my favorite feature of the new cage. The front door is probably too small to remove my rabbit through; I've never used it. Also, my teenage daughter assembled the cage without reading the instructions, so assembly is easy. Having also owned guinea pigs in the past, I can say this cage would be a great size for a guinea pig too. I'm happy with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone with a house Bun this size or smaller.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Depends which size you get

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cinnamonbun1
from New York
I was recommended the large size for my guinea pig. As the requirement stated by the Humane Society, this size would be too small! I had to remove the hideout because my GP kept hiding under there. The XL is still a questionable size. You're better off making a C&C cage or going with the Midwest one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
BerthaMae
from Friendship, Me
Cage was larger and better than I expected! Easy to put together. The price was very affordable and worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
BirdBaby
from Virginia
I needed a cage to keep sick or newly hatched birds in. This cage is great. Easy to clean, Bars are spaced close enough together, side sliding door or top opens (this I love). Comes with a little Sleeping area, bowl, and Hay holder for those needing them (I only used the bowl).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than expected

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
stupidmonkey
from Arizona
I was using a critter nation cage and had issue with my Chin. Once I switched over to the new cage it was much easier to clean up spills and messes. I also believe it is much easier for Chins, as it does not have a wired floor.
It does have some neat features like the ability to open from the top, which allows for better accessibility. It also has a spot to attach a dust house which is quite useful.
The large model is sufficient for one, possible two Chins, but I would probably recommend another cage for those who have more than two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happiest Bunny in all the City!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ToriB
from New York, NY
I first got my bunny when he was barely two months old, and so now that he's almost seven months old, he'd outgrown the cage.
I wanted to get something spacier for him, and this cage has fit the bill and so much more! I adore how the top opens, it makes cleaning and feeding an absolute breeze. My bun loves the shelf, he'll sit on it and just watch the world.
It was a bit of a challenge to put together, but once it was done it was just an absolute charm. My only complaint is the walls are very high, so his corner-litterbox couldn't clip to the cage bars. (It's also a plus though, since the high walls keep him from kicking bedding out!)
I already recommended this cage to two of my friends, and both of them say their buns love it as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rabbit house

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lovesbunnies
from Mn
It was a little hard to put together. Once together it was a big house for my bunny. She loves the tunnel under food holder!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great looking cage, add-ons are pretty cheap

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
GPMan
from Washington, DC
I think this is by far the coolest looking cage out there for your small animal. We have guinea pigs so that's where my comments are coming from. If you have one guinea pig don't the "Medium" (it should be called small) model if at all possible. Give your GP room to roam! Their Large is great for a single GP and the X-Large is great for two. The design and quality of this cage is great. It is easy to clean by simply lifting the top wire part off and the built-in quiet place beats having to take up a lot of space with an igloo or other in-cage shelter. The only downside is the water bottle and the hay tray are basically throw-aways. I think Hagen may actually sell more of these if they left out the cheap add-ins. The quality of the add-ons cheapens the feel of the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>