petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat

Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat

Tip-proof food dish, drip-proof water bottle and hay guardSafe, well-ventilated and comfortable home for small petsEasy access through wire top and wire door at the front of the habitatAssembles in minutes using four easy-to-use plastic clips - no tools requiredTwo sizes of habitats are ideal for use as rabbit cages, chinchilla enclosures and guinea pig cages
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
57 out of 62(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Review 1 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIG!!

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Falmouth,MA
Easy to put together...very spacious...the water bottle is not great so I bought another one but cage is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome value for the Money

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from L.I., NY
We adopted two male guinea pigs and we actually ordered both this in the large and extra large size. We ended up keeping the extra large, which is significantly large enough for the two of them. We still take them out to run around for exercise but the cage holds everything fine. The food bowl we keep on the floor because the piggies are not sure on how to get up on the roof of the house and with two of them trying to eat at the same time it was difficult. The water bottle does leak like the other reviews say on here, so we just bought a different one. Other then that the convenience of the top opening up completely makes life easier to grab the pigs in and out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

XL cage

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Jefferson,Ia
Love it I bought for my 2 rabbits Hoppy and Poppy they have lots of room to move around and turned the hideaway into a dinner mat to keep the food and bedding seperate they love it and i bought a wood nesting box/ hideaway that fits both of them at first they didn't like the water bottle so turned the dish into a water bowl for a couple days and then switched it back turns out they needed to teeth now they like it i bought the chews to chew on and no problems the dish is now used to put sliced carrots in hey come running to where i have to work around them lol shocked at how big it was when i got it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is every thing we expected

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Erwin
Easy to put together and love the way he has to climb around to get to his food and he loves to get on the ramp and slide down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cage Overall

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Aiea, HI
Cage has an abundance of room for our guinea pig. The build materials and overall design are well done. Cage comes with hay holder, bowl, water bottle, and shelf. My young daughter actually put it together by herself--no issues. My only grip is that the sliding front access "door" is quite difficult to open/close with a hurt finger waiting to happen. My goal was to give our critter more room to exercise and this cage exceeds my expectations. If you can get a discount and free shipping, it's an even better deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ginormously awesome cage!

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WV
My son's two little girlie guinea pigs were in need of a larger cage. It seemed overnight that they out grew the one we had (I'm assuming it's a 'starter' size sort). We do go a few days here and there unable to get them when we get busy so I certainly wanted them to have plenty of room to be comfortable at times like that. I searched and searched, being on a budget, for a cage that seemed fit for our two smaller guinea pigs and decided to settle on this one. Couldn't be happier. While we still try to let them free run dailly for exercise, I feel so much better that they have this HUGE cage. They run on the smaller side for being full grown piggies, and seem to have not figured out how to climb up on the landing of the built in hutch, but the food dish hasn't tipped yet even just on the floor level. I did replace the water bottle that came with, it would not stop leaking despite my efforts, but we had our previous one anyhow. Both my kids (5 and 2) fit comfortably in the cage, lid down, before we cleaned and set it up for the our pigs. My son is so happy to have his girls in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Small

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
This cage is too small for any animal.
1 guinea pig needs 7.5 square feet and 2 piggies: 10.5
1 rabbit needs 10.5 square feet and better yet are easier to house train than cats and dogs.
This is entirely unsuitable for a chinchilla because they need to be able to jump and climb and also need lots of space.
No animal wants to live in a small cage even if they seem happy they will be infinitely happier in a larger environment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Construction

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Panama City, Florida
This thing is huge, I ordered the largest size. My G.Pig and Bunny love it. The put together was a bit of a pain, because of the size. But that is to be expected. Easy to clean and the spill proof dish and hay manger are awesome. My kids love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect value

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South Florida
Bought this for my chinchilla and he really enjoys it! Good build quality and comes with a few helpful features. Definitely recommend for any small animal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kissimmee, FL
I purchased this habitat in the LARGE size. It is perfect for our guinea pig. She seems to enjoy it alot. Another guinea pig would fit just fine in my opinion however more than 2 would need the XL. She loves the large size of the hideout and this habitat has a great bottom for her feet (no bars) and is extremely easy to clean. The water bottle does leak however this habitat came with EVERY THING you need to start. I have not seen her try to climb on top of her hideaway home yet. LOVE this habitat--worth every dollar!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing Product, perfect size.

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from saint Charles, il
I had purchased this XL cage for my 3 year old guinea pig, and he loves it. Only issue is the height for the food dish, he makes it up there after some practice, but will his age ever be an issue in rhe future? Was pretty simple to assemble with another person help and it is pretty sturdy. Kinda tall for a guinea but would be great for a future pet that may need that extra room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage! So big!

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ak
This cage is amazing and so big! I got the XL and it fits my guinea pig perfectly. I was worried that it would not be big enough but it was. Plus my guinea pig loves the house it came with he sleeps inside and hangs out on top of it when he wants attention. The only downside is the water bottle and food bowl. Water bottles that you can buy separately are much better, they hold more and don't leak as much and the food bowl is a little awkward for a guinea pig to eat out of so I just use a short ceramic one. But other than those two things this cage is great and I recommend it and Petco shipping was fantastic!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good features

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Erie, PA
I bought this cage for my daughter's chinchilla and it was pretty easy to put together. He loves the hiding place under the ramp and spends a good chunk of the day in there. It also has plenty of room for him to get some exercise. Two cons that I have to mention, the bowl doesn't stay tightly in place like it should and the lid frame on the top of the cage is made of cheap plastic and has already cracked in one place. Overall, we love the design, but like all things made today, it could be more durable. I'm willing to pay a little more money for something that will last a long time. When will the manufacturers figure that out?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Loris, SC
The guinea pig cage is so roomy I love the way its made for the food, water and hay. My guinea pigs seem to love it also. They have so much room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Large and flimsy

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore
We bought this cage on-line as the stores don't carry cages of this size. When the first cage arrived, the top frame was broken and we had to send it back (Petco couldn't replace just one part). Within a week we received a replacement. Now that we assembled the cage, I realize that it's extremely flimsy. If I had a chance to feel it at a store, I probably wouldn't buy it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my guinea pigs

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Johnstown, PA
I first got the Large sized habitat when I adopted my three boy guinea pigs from my local Petco. They've gotten a lot bigger so I upgraded them to the XL size and its perfect! I can fit their hideaways , chew logs , toys and food dish in it with room to spare! We're now also using the L sized habitat for our three GIRL guinea pigs and its also an improvement over their old habitat. The only things I don't like are the snap in second level/hideaway fixtures that came with the habitats (they're too steep for my piggies) and the water bottles aren't exactly A grade. Other than that perfect habitats for guinea pigs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southern CA
Our bunny grew out of it 1st cage. Looked at several before purchasing this one. The bunny loves it! So much more room and allows for some small hoping. Easy to put together and the height is great. So glad we purchased!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All in one cage

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I bought the extra large cage and it is much more comfortable and roomy than the usual bunny cages. Comes with water bottle and hay dispenser attached to the outside of the cage which allows for more inside room for the bunny. Bunnys food is on a full length shelf with a ramp which keeps it away from the feces and bedding and bunny can also take cover under this shelf when nervous. The bottom of the cage must be detached to clean the cage but I would rather do this than have a drawer because I dont want the bunny to hurt his feet on a wire bottom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NMB, SC
Two months ago our family purchased two guinea pigs. When choosing a cage, this one was the most appealing for several reasons....it has plenty of room, it comes with all the necessary accessories, and it has access from the front or the top of the cage. My 13 year old daughter put the cage together herself. We definitely bought the perfect cage. It's large, but very easy to clean. We actually put down puppy training pads, lift the top right off & put it over the pads, put guinea pigs in & clean all the bottom parts. The cage is so roomy, we even added a large potty with training litter and they are actually learning to use it! We love this cage and our two new additions. I'm not sure if we have the large or x-large. Very highly recommend this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen Living World Deluxe Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing Cage

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland
To be honest, I have never written a review for a product, but I definitely needed to share my thoughts on this one! Before buying this cage, I had bought a really flimsy 28" cage by WARE because I was too eager to get my bunny. The cage was cheap, but after buying all the accessories for the cage, it started to add up. I decided to search around online and I came across this cage! I chose this one because it came with everything, which ended up totaling to be cheaper than my previous purchase. This cage is soo sturdy and you can definitely trust it! The entire top lifts open for easy access, it comes with really nice accessories, has a ton of room for your small pet, and is a really good quality build. Buying this cage that came with everything, compared to buying the cheaper cage and buying everything separate, this cage ended up being cheaper!! and its so much nicer. I was amazed at the price. I would recommend this for everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>