petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding

Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding

Completely safe for your small pet's habitatKaytee pet bedding is 99.9% dust freePaper-based substrate is 20% more absorbent than other leading brandsPremium small animal bedding with guaranteed odor controlCompressed packaging offers greater value and easier shipping
Average Customer Rating:
3.919 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
28 out of 36(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Review 1 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
ravenzmom
from Eugene Oregon
Really works well.it's soft and absorbent. My mice love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
DogCatFerretHamster
from Atlanta, GA
This bedding is always great. I have two hamsters (in separate cages of course) and they both love it. There isn't a problem with odor and it is very absorbent. It's also very soft and they love pushing it into big piles and making little nests with it. It definitely keeps them "clean and cozy" just as advertised. Also dust-free.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bedding

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luvmypig
from Allen Park, MI
This bedding is very soft. Our guinea pig likes to make a nest with it. Soft and fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile! Great To Use Under Other Litters For Rabbits

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
LSPF
from NE
I use this, along with pine pellets and hay, for my rabbit litter. I pack down a 1" layer of Clean & Cozy in the litter box first. Then a layer of Feline Pine pellets. Just enough to cover the Clean & Cozy. And finally a layer of hay. Any hay will do. Prairie hay etc. I use the brown timothy hay they won't eat and leave behind. It works great. The Clean & Cozy is very absorbent. The pine keeps the odor away. And the hay keeps it neat and protects them from having to come in contact with the pine pellets. The litter stays fresh much longer and is easier to clean with the Clean & Cozy on the bottom. Great for hamsters also. Put a pile in the corner and they will make a little cozy hut.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rabbit Bedding

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
simbazipp
from Montana
When I was in 4-H, our show rabbits were housed outside in hutches and we used straw for their bedding/litter. Straw is messy and gross when a rabbit goes to the bathroom on it and I was recommended paper bedding when I adopted my new bun - so naturally I was eager to use the paper bedding. After looking through Petco's selection, I decided on this because it looks clean and soft. I. LOVE IT. I clean out my bun's soiled bedding/litter twice a day and I tell you, I can't smell a thing! It's super easy to distinguish the soiled bedding from the clean so I don't waste a ton of bedding when I clean her cage. Also, it's easy for my bun to push around with her nose and feet to make a nest out of it. I'll be purchasing this stuff again and again! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORTH EVERY PENNY!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
rodentlover1
from AZ
First of all, I just want to say the type of bedding you get for your rodent depends on how many you have and what their preference is.
I used Carefresh Natural for the first few weeks I had my hamster and she liked it, but I saw so many people with Kaytee clean and cozy so I tried it out. I had different sections and levels of her cage mixed half and half with each bedding to see what she perferred and she was always sleeping in the Kaytee one. Even when I put only the carefresh in her aquarium that she is ALWAYS in, and the Kayytee on her second level all over, she has now converted to the second level of her house because of the bedding. Get the smaller bag for your first time to test it, but after I finish the Carefresh, I am only buying this Kaytee one.:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome stuff!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gannyaan
from Ontario/Michigan
I use this for my four rats. I find it keeps smell down way better than care fresh and is softer than care fresh! I have been using this for 10 months. Even more important, rats are VERY prone to respiratory infections and irritation, and carefresh is incredibly dusty, which is horrible for rat lungs.
LOVE this product! Keep it dust free, keep it odorless, and I will be a customer for life.
Only downside is the price, which for the first few months deterred me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yeah, It Absorbs Alright

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
RONSDOE
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this bedding when I first got my hamster and wasn't happy with the bedding at all. When they say "Absorbent" They really mean it. In fact, because its a paper bedding, It gets mushy, Smelly and rotten when it picks up after the hamster used the restroom. (And trust me, It isn't a pleasant smell after 2-3 days) I would recommend this bedding if your willing to change the bedding everyday! Other words, Don't Waste You Money!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Flamegurl
from Plano
I love this bedding. Its really soft and absorbs like no other bedding. I like the color white, as i can easily pick it up whenever it gets spilled outside of cage because it stands out so much in contrast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is great

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
janeyb42
from Vermont
When I first got the hampster, I tried a generic brand and it wasn't that great. then I found this product and my hampster cage stayed clean and the odor was hardly there
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bedding stays damp

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
stmumom
from San Antonio, TX
I purchased this to replace the aspen bedding we had been using when my hamster became ill. I placed this bedding in the area where he slept and the aspen bedding on the bottom part of the cage. The night before he passed away I cleaned out the bedding as I had been doing rather frequently. The next morning when I checked on him, he was sprawled out and seemed to be cold. The bedding was very damp. I don't feel like it is as absorbent as they say. If you don't have time to constantly change bedding than do not purchase this product. Hamsters can't get cold. Their body temperatures drop and they decline very quickly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's all right

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda47
I had a thorough review, but couldn't figure out what the "inappropriate language" was keeping it from being approved.
Overall, Kaytee is not good enough.
Can I say that, petco?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

bedding

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvrodents9785
from Denver,Colorado
This hamster bedding is really soft and my hamster really loves to sleeping in it,but it can be really pricey so if you do not have a lot of money this is not the bedding for you. Another option is just to use it as nesting. It also will get on the floor and around the house but other than that it is by far a good bedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
pinetreegurl
from Colt, AR
This bedding is the best I have been able to find for my rats. It has less dust than most others and it is also soft and has decent odor control. Overall this is my favorite and I will continue to buy it from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft and allergy free

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hamsterville
from WI
This bedding is wonderful. I have allergies and the wood shavings are bad for me. This is the best paper bedding that is allergy friendly. The Carefresh is nice but it is dusty and I don't like the smell. My hamsters love to make nests out of this. I mix it with a little bit of aspen and it is great. You can also use aspen on one side of the cage and use the Clean and Cozy on the sleeping side of the cage if the wood shavings don't bother you. Or you can add some for nesting material. I use this for my Robo's and they love it too. If you have allergies I really recommend this product. It is a great bedding for nesting as well. It won't harm the hamsters if they accidentally ingest it like cotton bedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bedding!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
7SightedMice
from Pittsburgh, PA
My seven mice love this stuff; they make all kinds of tunnels and nests in it. I love that it controls odors and with the nice bright white color, I can easily see my mice as well as where I need to remove soiled bedding. Perfect for everyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jordy95
from South Thomaston, ME
My Guinea Pig doesnt like any other bedding but the Clean and Cozy bedding...we will never buy any other kind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kaytee Clean & Cozy Bedding

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Poogie6
from Alameda, CA
In the past I purchased Care Fresh. I bought a pack of Kaytee Clean & Cozy just to try it out because it was less expensive. I love this stuff and so does my guinea pig. It's not only cheaper, but the bedding is very soft and breaks down easier instead of staying in hard clumps. Seems like it would be more comfy for them to sleep on and I would buy it now even if it cost more. Definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bedding works!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
melindianajones1
from Valencia, CA
I have a guinea pig and both he and I would recommend Kaytee bedding. He loves the comfy and soft features it provides and I appreciate the odor control. I prefer this brand over the other brands I've tried.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Clean & Cozy Small Animal Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A MUST HAVE!!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
BunnyLuv2012
from Seattle, WA
I absolutely love Kaytee Clean & Cozy! It does not smell and is super absorbant and easy to clean, it is very soft and my baby bunny loves it! I would highly recommend Kaytee Clean & Cozy small animal beddinng to every small animal pet owner I know!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>