petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners

As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners

Filters clean litter faster & easierNo more scooping! Just lift, sift & tossEnjoy a fresh litter box everydayExtends the life of your litterBonus 14 scent-lock disposal bags included
Average Customer Rating:
2.286 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
5 out of 14(36%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Review 1 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs a bit or re-engineering

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
PurrPurr
from California
When these came out I wanted to try them. They worked so-so. My main complaints are: Not big enough for jumbo boxes; The mess is strong, but where it is attached to the plastic is not, causing the two to separate when lifting up; Need a lot of litter to hold it down (though for me this isn't a big deal as I always put 4-5" of litter in the box; Some clumps will be underneath the mesh but most will be sifted out. I am going to try another brand to see if they have addressed these negatives.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The straight p*o*o*p (...and urine clumps)

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
giantELF
from Los Angeles
Let me preface by saying this is a GREAT idea...but sometimes even great ideas don't work.
I see that this product has gotten some positive reviews from some and I am glad it is working for them. But this is a product that will work for some but not all and a good product should work for all.
Issues:
Fit -- I have an average to small resized litter box and the large are a tight squeeze. I measured my box and it falls within the parameters outlined on the box. Maybe if I went with Extra large it would work better but maybe they should make them bigger or be truthful about what size box it fits. It is very difficult to put any more than two or three in the box which defeats the purpose of the liners -- to extend the use of the litter. With my old rollover litter box I could go weeks with the same base litter.
Diggers - If you cats digs -- mine do and all of my cats have -- don't get these. The sides are not as sturdy as any run of the mill liner you can get at the supermarket. Also the mesh just plain rips. I put over 3 inches of sand over the mesh and they were still able to get at it and rip it. I was able to get the big clumps out but the smaller ones forget it. And try to get the liner off without but half the mess is now sitting on top of the sand.
When you add up the effort to place down the main liner, try to squeeze on 4 or 5 of the mesh liners, gingerly pulling out a used liner so you don't mess the other liners and the clumps don't fall out of the ripped holes -- you are suddenly struck by the realization that it is so much easier and less messy to just scoop out the p**p and p** clumps.
I would loooooove for this to work. But they don't. And those advertising their success have to admit that they have some related issues and it it not 100%. And at this price the should work 150%. You know what word 100%?
Scooping. With a scooper. Never have my scoopers broke down or failed me.
We have cats because we love them. Part of the deal if being their excrement slave which involves scooping. Auto scooping machines, toilet training - we search for any savior to avoid this consequence of our feline love. I've tried them all and my advice is this - scoop. You're just going to have to scoop.
That's the p**p.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Catlovers
from Miami,fl
I tried this because it seemed like a good idea, but it doesn't work. It would come off when she 's covering up when she's done. It does not stay in place. Another thing you need a rally amazing clumping litter because it sips through the mesh unless it's hard as a rock
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

good idea horrible product

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
kittymom87
from va
I have 2 kittens and they are declawed so when they dig it pulls the mesh right up. You have to cover the sifter but it takes almost half a 30lb box to do that if it will stay under the litter. I wanted something to make clean up easy and this is not it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Concept - Impossible Design

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becca82
from New York, NY
I had high hopes for this one! When your cat digs / buries in the box, they rip the netting up with their claws. After one use, the net was on the top of the litter - and instead of the "stuff" going into the litter it just laid on top of the net. Sad. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

As long as your cat doesn't urinate, then they're great.

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilbethynoname
from Southern California
I kept plenty of litter in the box, and my cat's urine would always end up clumping and sticking to the mesh liner, causing several layers of liners stick together. It was a total mess trying to pull them apart. I do not recommend!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fast & quick for cleaning up after 2

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
FurKidMom13
from Seattle
I have two cats and back problems so this product is worth it for me. The large size works best for the smaller litter box with the removable open top cover (that way the liner & sifters stay in/on the box even with the most active burying). I also only use 1/2 of one set of sifters at a time. I have mixed feelings about the size of the sifting holes-sometimes they leave quite a bit of the liquid waste behind at times but not enough to use another sifter, could be the litter but I also use a good name brand & multi-cat formula. I chosse this product after having a horrible experience with a popular automated litter box and figured if I am going to be touching a litter box every day, there has to be a better way. So I sift every day & it only takes a minute to do, plus there isn't much competition out there in sifting liners so this is pretty much it.......
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not my bag

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
lynbeth
from Near Branson, MO
The large might work if you have a dinner plate size liter box. There is no way to secure this product to the sides. The mesh is to big and creeps up the sides of the box. The trash containers are to small, the plastic bags from a store work much better. Not my bag..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
catx2
from iowa
I made sure the measurements on the box matched the size litter box I have and they fit perfectly. I keep at least 3 inches of litter in the box, lift out a sheet at least every other day, and I have had no trouble with sheets sticking together. This product works much better than other sifting liners I have tried (easier to put in box and quicker to sift.) A bit more expensive, but worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it...just use a scooper

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lanie31
Okay, so I got these because I was leaveing for a week long vacation and my dad said he'd take care of my kitten. My dad dosen't like cleaning litter boxes though. So I thought I'd be nice and get these to make it easy. He said they actually made it hard to clean. That the waste and liter would paste all the layers together so he had trouble pulling a layer up. He said he'd just scoop next time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use, but...

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMyOzzyCat
from PlanetEarth
The concept is brilliant. They're so easy to use. However, my kitten doesn't like it. Since I started using those in his box, he chose to use everything but the box, so I took them out. If your cat is not as picky as mine is, I would definitely recommend this. At least, it would be worth a try anyway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

product not large enough

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
skowt14
from 29palms, CA
I have the top entry cat boxes & even the XL size isn't tall enough. when I used them in a regular box they worked great, just would like some that could be used in top entry boxes also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is amazing...

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
CGLG
from Salt Lake City
I completely disagree with the previous reviewer. This product is amazing for my household. Even my husband will clean the cat box without complaint!
I have 4 adult cats, and bending over cleaning out 4 cat boxes was always a pain, not to mention that with clumping litter, things always stuck to the side of the box creating a mess. My cats all steer away from the edges of the box now due to the liners, and it's as easy as pulling up one of the liners every other day to clean the box. What used to take 15+ minutes a day now takes about 3 minutes for all the boxes. Well worth the money for a multi-cat household. As long as you keep the box full with the proper amount of litter, the netting won't catch kitty's claws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for As Seen On TV Sift & Toss Mesh Litter Liners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Maybe for cats without claws?

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hh21
from U.S.
This didn't work at all for my cats. They ended up catching the netting in their claws and pulling it up and out of the litter. Since you put several of these liners in at once (enough for the number of times you expect to "scoop" between full box changes, so if you do a full box change monthly and a scoop once a week, you put four on the box before putting the litter in it), it was a real problem. The cats ended up with almost no litter above the netting, and the netting and plastic were all tangled up leaving almost no accessible room in the box.
This is a great idea, but it just really doesn't work in practice.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.