petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black

Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black

Fully adjustable for a snug & custom fitBreathable, lightly padded mesh for the utmost in comfortNylon strap has two metal D-rings to attach a leash & extra tab for attaching an ID tag or charmBold color & gunmetal finish metal hardware to showcase your dog's sense of style
Average Customer Rating:
3.267 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
8 out of 15(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Review 1 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
mickeymoto
from dallas pa
I have 2 pugs and a puggle and these are the only harnesses I will use on my dogs. They are sturdy and they dont choke them as they have 2 hooks on them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke after a month

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stephanie21
from PA
I bought this literally one month ago maybe less. The whole side is ripping. Wish I had my receipt so I could get my money back because this is honestly not worth a dime.
I have a medium sized dog and he doesn't pull or drag me or anything so I'm really surprised it's already ripping.
Not recommended for any dog over 20 lbs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Seriously?

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
AngelanMarknPino
from Beverly, MA
I initially ordered the harness online... a couple of sizes too small, oopsie! My fault for not measuring him properly.
I brought it into the store to exchange it for the proper size, no problem, paid the difference and was happy as can be. My dog seemed to like the harness (we had another we bought from petco that he HATED with a passion...I'm gonna be returning that one today cause I just found the receipt. I loved this one, it seemed comfy and he really liked it, we thought it was a good fit, not too loose or too tight, nice and cushy. We had it for all of one day before the neck adjustment thingy broke off on one side. One walk. That's all we took him on before it broke. Just one walk. Ugh. I'm hoping it's just a defective one cause I really really like Petco and the staff at my Danvers, MA store and really don't wanna have to go somewhere else. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable harness

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cmquinte
from Canoga Park, CA
This harness fits great on my 11 lb maltipoo puppy. She appears to be very comfortable in it and enjoys her walks. It could be tricky to put on if you don't figure out a good way to do it. Keeping one side buckled and the other unbuckled works great for me.Hope it will last a while
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good idea, poorly designed

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
TrueGemini615
from NYC
a few yrs back i bought the original mesh harness for my basset and its great. i recently bought this new model and find that its hard to adjust the waist straps and the neck strap is heavy. It has this heavy plastic ridged strip that has 2 sliders so u can adjust the width of the neck, which i thought was great b/c bassets have big rolls everywhere....but even when i was able to loosen the waist straps so it didnt fit snug, the adjustable plastic neck strip was pressed firmly against the back of her neck and its heavy.....returning it and trying petsmart since Petco doesnt have much variety anymore
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Purple10
from Iowa City, IA
I wanted a mesh harness for my 55lb Weimaraner for her comfort. The plastic adjustment piece broke in less than 3 weeks. The store replaced it without problem. Now 2 1/2 weeks later the same plastic piece broke on the replacement. I will be returning the harness and will have to find a better mesh harness somewhere else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adjustable Mesh Harness

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
robnham
from Modesto, CA
It is very well made and Sammy is wearing it proudly. He is prancing around with it on. Much easier to go for his morning and afternoon walks. No more tugging on the neck which I love and I am sure he does too. He is a great partner in our walks but now an even better partner now that he isn't straining on the end of the collar. More comfortable with the harness. Thanks!!!! Absolutely Great
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Harness!!!!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMyTucker
from Lakota, Iowa
This is a great harness! I have a 9 lb. bishon/poodle puppy and this fits him perfectly! I can finally take him on walks without having to worry that he will choke himself. I was a little worried that we might have gotten him the wrong size, but we estimated correctly and adjusted the straps. This is such a good product that I'm getting another one for our house on the lake!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The video is misleading, the strap does not slide through with ease

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MylesPetParents
from Maryland
We purchased the black mesh harness as few weeks ago. While it seems to fit, once you get the darn thing on! It is incredibly difficult to slide through the interlocking D-rings. The video is very misleading the strap does not slide through with such ease.
The button and strip of material prevents the plastic strap from sliding through, often times the tip gets caught under the material or stopped by the button.
If this piece is modified, you will have an excellent product.
Otherwise, get ready to spend time trying to angle the end of the strap, while holding down the material down, sliding the strap through, oh and don't forget calming your terrier long enough to execute this with precision.
We celebrate every-time we get the darn harness on!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bloodpressure Alert....

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveWireFoxTerriers
from Atlanta GA
I usually shop online and THEN go to the store after reading the reviews. Yesterday I did not.
I impulsively bought this harness for my Schnauzer puppy. After many attempts to re-thread the plastic fastener strap back through the clip....my husband found the secret to it. It shouldn't be a SECRET! The other clip is excessively difficult to fasten also.
This harness is way under or over-engineered and not easy to use. The comfort seemed questionable for the puppy....but perhaps that was because it was his first time with a harness and mine. I will say that this harness is going back and I will make a better choice in my quest for a secure, comfortable and easy to use harness. If I can't find one then maybe you'll see me on Shark Tank....looks like the variety of harnesses available may indicate there is room for a very good harness.
This harness may be good for walking your Komodo dragon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cavalier King Charles Owner

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Retweet
from Pa
I have used 2 of these harnesses for over 6 mo.
and like them very much. Have had no problems with the quality. Can be a bit confusing to put on at first, but once you get the hang of it, it is very easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

harness

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
tyke
from new york,ny
It very sturdy and gives lots of options for leash angle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gentle harness with small flaws

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
VictoriaG
from Vista,CA
Pros:
-variety of colors
-highly adjustable
-mesh chest piece is flexible so it doesn't limit their movement.
-loophole for i.d. tag
-comfortable enough for dog to nap in
Cons:
- the plastic clips that keep the chest piece up can be difficult to use, especially if the dog is squirming, the way they're riveted onto the harness leave a little flap of fabric that can make putting it on a real hassle
- Its not easily escapable but it seems like the mesh stretches if the dog pulls frequently
- when I was shopping for our puppy I was looking for one that was Reflective AND Fully Adjustable.... the packaging is really confusing. Some say Reflective and some say Fully Adjustable... they all have the same design so they're all fully adjustable but some aren't reflective... its so hard to tell which are and aren't. VERY CONFUSING
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality, Two Broken in One Week

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarkF
from San Francisco, CA
When the Petco employee was fitting my dog for the harness in store, a plastic piece broke, rendering the harness unusable. I should have taken this as a warning sign. The employee kindly replaced the broken harness with a new one and we were on our way.
Now, less than a week later, a different plastic clip on the second harness is broken. While my dog loves the harness, I will be replacing it with a different brand!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Adjustable Mesh Harness for Dogs in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
ItalianGreyhoundOwner
from Connecticut
I have an Italian Greyhound that is a little difficult to find harness' that fit good for him in the chest area. This harness has a higher neck/chest than others that I have tried on him and works great! The only downfall I have found to this product is the plastic straps on the back that secure the chest part in place. The way it was designed, there is a piece of sewn fabric that tends to catch the plastic when you're trying to get it through to secure the harness. It can be pretty frustrating after a few tries, you have to get it at just the right angle so it doesn't snag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.