petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Real Ocean Water

Petco Real Ocean Water

Natural sea water that's already filtered, sanitized, and pH balancedNo mixing, measuring or adjustingJust pour Real Ocean Water directly into your aquarium
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 30(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Real Ocean Water
Review 1 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Gotta get this stuff

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
watertite
from Newport, NH
I purchased ten gallons for my 55 gallon tank and the minute I got home I drained off 10 Gallons from my aquarium and put it to the test. In less than ten hours my fish( a purple tang) Got his beautiful colors back and seems to notice the difference right away. I love this product because I don't have to mix and I think my salt mixing is awful. I plan on buying all my aquarium water this way from now on. I can't wait to get the whole tank done and start doing corals and more live rock. I dreaded the thought of adding more pets because I was afraid I would hurt them. Tank you Catalina Water you are a Godsend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SIMPLY THE BEST !!!!

PostedMay 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
AllmyChildren
from Astor, FL.
I just recently set up a small saltwater tank and did much research before hand. I decided since I was a novice with saltwater and that this product was rated so good , I would start out using the best. I'm very pleased with this and my clown fish are very happy too!! It's really worth the money when you consider that you need not test it or anything. I use it for partial water changes and will never use anything else!! Water is absolutely crystal clear. Don't even consider using anything else!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
CichlidKeepr
from Huntsville, AL
This is just simply amazing. I ordered on Easter Sunday and got it Tuesday. Fast Shipping, and amazing product. You don't have to worry about cloudy water and ph and salinity and stupid crud like that. The only thing that was bad, is that boxes were in a bad shape, but who cares. This makes the saltwater hobby easier but more expensive:( I would totally recommend to any of you. Good Luck to you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Real Ocean Water

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
clover200
from Tennessee
This is my first saltwater tank experience and this product is the Best and Only real saltwater i will put in my saltwater tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When it is Free Shipping

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
shel1212
from Lockport Illinois
I can get this in the store but when it is free shipping sale I like to take advantage.
I suggest making sure your temp.is right before adding. Can't just add in with fish in there if the delivery was in winter.
I microwave the water to bring it up to tempish and watch my thermometer reading. It is alway around.024
when I started I would put it in for top off water and learned not to do that after all my fish were dying. I was told to use r.o but I just use distilled or drinking bottled water if I don't have r.o and alls fine. love petco for good prices.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick, Easy, & Reasonable

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
SWEETnSALTY
from Colorado Springs, CO
My premixed water arrived well packaged, just as described, & simple. Just remove the cap, and pour. That is it. A must for starters just like me! FYI ~ Allow time for the water to come to room temp, before adding/topping off your tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just like being there

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Psg42
from Pennsylvania
This product is excellent. Real Ocean water speeds up new tank start up by allowing quicker intro to fish in your aquarium. Great price also. Real Ocean water is already processed to give water free of contaminants and chemicals. Helps stabilize an existing system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easier Than Mixing!!

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gamjr19
from Lodi, CA
I gave this product a 3 out of five because first off, I ordered two 5 gallon jugs and one of the boxes was broken! It made it very difficult to pour, however, the one that wasn't broken was very easy to dump into the tank.
Second, the specific gravity of the water was at 1.030, even after it reached proper temp and cycled! Easy enough to fix though, just diluted it with some ro water. I guess it will probably be a hit and miss as far as the sg. Still much easier than mixing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick to respond to problem

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
REVAL
from Buffalo, NY
Petco was quick to respond to a problem I had with shipment. Unlike other Internet pet suppliers, that don't ever get back to you with a problem or concern.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Ocean Water works!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bikeguy73
from Wichita Falls, TX
Petco's Real Oceanwater takes the guesswork out of mixing saltwater. Perfect every time and my mixed reef is flourishing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Real Ocean Water

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
DTdr2
from San Antonio, Tx
Love it. Finally no more mixing, and water changes are simple. This product compares with Nutri-Sea Water, and it's always right around the corner when I need it. Give it a try if you haven't and you will notice a difference.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than mixing

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
sweetpurz
from NC
I'm glad I bought Petco's Real Ocean Water, I got tired of using a salt mix .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ocean water is great

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
tang12
from Desloge, mo
It is easy to use just add for water changes, the pH, water temp and salinity is already at the right amounts. Ready to use salt water in a box is the way to go
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Real Ocean Water

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DevilDog1775
from Cullman, Alabama
This Product is GREAT and I Have already Recommended it to a Few friends! I've got a 75gal Live Reef and Marine Tank that I have had for a little over two years now. A few months back I began experiencing some Death in some of my Coral. So Immediately began testing my Water but Everything checked out fine!? So I began asking around and a Friend of a Friend asked if I had done a Water change Recently and if I had to go ahead and do another one but this time using the "Petco Real Ocean Water"! So I Jumped on Line and Ordered 30gal... The Shipment was Fast... And the pH Levels was Right on the Dot all I had to do was allow the Temperature to Cool down a Little... Which by time I took out the 20+ gallons of old water out of my Tank the Temp was almost exact and Ready for me to Pour into my Tank Straight Out of the Box! Within jus a few days my Coral Started Looking a lot Better and now my Coral Reef is Back to looking Beautiful again!!! Again Great Product!!!
Thanks,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Surprise

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Syd91098
from Virginia
Worked out to be cheaper than the chemical filtration I was using plus the cost of salt. Changed 5 gallons from my Fish Only aquarium and fish colors changed immediately. Also brought a recurring cyano problem under control. Allowed me to add additional mechanical filtration since I was no longer using chemical and the polishing effect has been outstanding. I will use nothing but natural Ocean water from here on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Ocean Water... The Best

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
DanSaltMan
from AZ
I have used it in the past about 5 years ago, and was impressed then.
I have been away from the hobby for about 4 years.
Moved and got busy with STUFF
I am now getting back in with a Nano cube.
I have an RO/DI unit, but the time (wasted water) and storage are all not worth it. The convenience alone of Real Ocean Water, along with the consistency and PRICE, made it a no brainer for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Health Coral

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
allnsw
from Kansas City, MO
I use this product exclusively for weekly water changes in my 8 gal nano reef (lps and soft corals) tank. The coral love it, and I have great coralline algae on all live rock and have to scrape it off the tank. I do not run a protein skimmer or add any additional supplements, just a 2 gal water change every Saturday.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly the best there is!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marinebiologist
from Tennessee
I have used this water to propagate live rock and use it in my current now, along with water changes. I do not like salt mix because it is artificial and can cause damage to corals and the fishes gills. I will never buy anything other than the real ocean water, you can not go wrong buying this product. Hands down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Product & Choice

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
JohnJohn89
from Paterson, NJ
It already filtered, sanitized, and pH balanced for you. No mixing. No measuring. No adjusting. Phosphate free. Nitrate free. pH balanced at 8.3. let the fish tank cycle atleast 6 weeks.Start with cheap fishes then buy the expensive one because if you buy the expensive one they might die it better of buying the cheap one then you upgrade.I will definitely buy this product again and i recommends this product to anyone who is preparing a saltwater fish tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Real Ocean Water
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honestly..

PostedAugust 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
TraceyB
This product is THE best for any saltwater enthusiest! I put fish in the tank 2 hours after filling the tank up. No mixing no measuring.. it cant get any better than this! I've been buying this product for over a year, and I will not buy anything else.. seriously try it, you will not regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>