petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs

Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs

Professional quality dog nail clippersStainless steel blade for precise, properly trimmed nailsCuts through the toughest nails quickly and effortlesslyRubber gripped handles for a non-slip, comfortable gripPet nail clippers ideal for household grooming and nail trimming
Average Customer Rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
4 out of 13(31%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't work

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I have 4 dogs. These got the first dog trimmed with difficulty. Second dog was smaller, so it was a LITTLE easier. Third dog came along and the trimmers BROKE! I definitely don't recommend these.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Clippers

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nampa, ID
I got a pair of these today and brought them home to trim my dog's claws. I stopped after trying to trim two nails. These did not cut at all, instead twisting the nail until it split. It was horrible for my dog and for me. I will be looking elsewhere, as these nail trimmers are terrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product to trim my bloodhounds nails for the first time at home as he gets too stressed out going to the groomer to get them done. These literally broke on the first try and did not even cut the nail at all, just left a dent in it. It was as if they broke without even trying , awful. I will be taking them back today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Warren, MI
used it twice, handles broke from cheap plastic. Did not cut well
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
Used twice before they broke. Very disappointed in this product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog Nail Clipper

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from IOWA
I was looking for the guillotine style nail clipper for my dogs. The dogs are 60-70 pounds and these really don't work very well for them. They aren't quite strong enough. I have to really squeeze hard to get them to cut the toenails. they might be great for a medium sized dog. Not so great for the bigger ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless!! - Won't cut a single nail

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Peoria, IL
This would not cut through a single claw tip. The leverage is bad and the blade cutting angle is too steep. They are worthless. If it did not take gasoline to take them back, I would. I recommend you buy something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse product ever!!! DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
my owners bought these clippers for me to trim my nails. I really don't like getting my nails trimmed in the first place and when they tried to cut them using these clippers it was a joke. I think I would rather they use a dull butter knife to cut my nails. The clippers are flimsy and can't cut through anything. The only good thing about these clippers is that when my owners go back to return them, I will hopefully get to go with for a car ride. You have been warned...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Flexible

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington
I couldn't successfully cut even one toenail on my hound with these clippers. The second the blade contacted the nail, the handle flexed so much that the most I achieved was making a dent in the nail. My hound's nails are tough, but not that tough! We tossed them without cutting any nails.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Clip

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I use this nail clipper on my Australian Shepherd puppies and works like a dream. It is very easy to use and handle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Pass Go

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought this product and returned it the same day. The Guillotine Nail Clipper seems to be an appropriate name, because it is more pain and gore than it is worth. It makes a loud cracking noise when trimming nails that alarms dogs. Also the edges of the cuts are not clean. I must say I was really disappointed after reading the previous positive reviews on the product. Maybe I just received the reject out of the group. However I will not be buying from this brand again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Guillotine Nail Clippers

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
These clippers are very user friendly, nice and sharp as well. Very minimal pressure is put on my dogs nails during the actual cutting of the nail.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Guillotine Nail Clipper for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
This product was easy to use and did a great job. It was sharp enough to go through my dogs tough nails. It has a nice grip and does not hurt your hand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.