petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges

Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges

Ready-to-use filter cartridges for Penguin Power FiltersPre-assembled cartridges are packed with Black Diamond Pure Activated Carbon--works twice as fast and keeps working long after other carbons quit
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
22 out of 25(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Review 1 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filters

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dabigmoe
from St.Louis, Mo.
Price was excellent, shipping was fast and accurate
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish filters

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
akwoman
from Valdez, Ak
These filters work good and I rinse them off every week or two and make them last longer than suggested. We have no pet store here so I am forced to do most of my shopping on line, as I can't get to Anchorage much. Not too many folks have tanks here, due to not having supplies close at hand. These filters hold up well and last for months, if kept cleaned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland is high quality for fish

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
RickyandNatsu
from Sioux City, Iowa
I only use Marineland filters they keep fish best!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to use

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mahdigurl
from Racine, WI
I change my Marineland Penguin Rite-size Ready to use Filter Cartridges approximately every two weeks in my 29 gallon tank. I just take it out of the package, rinse it off under running water and pop it in. Quick and easy. The filter keeps the water sparkling clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
wjstone
from bowling green, ky
Great product, would highly recommend to a friend and will continue purchasing in the future
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chiclids make a mess

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ryter138
from RI
The product is a bit on the expensive side and I do go thru two filters a week. However I have an overstocked 55 gallon assorted chiclid tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JetBlack
from Sacramento CA
A little expensive but is still a high quality product. Last a long time and is easy to wash off and reuse. Reusing the filter doesn't mean the carbon is still useful but it stretches the budget.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Stuck with these

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
If you own a Penguin your kind of stuck with these. They are very poorly made for the money. Low quality batting material with a little sprinkle of carbon in them. These things are way overpriced! I have found a few alternatives but there is just no getting around the fact the filter is cheap so that you will buy these things for the rest of your life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best filter

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
skier1980
from westerly ri
i try two other filter and they did'nt work.this is the the only filter that keeps my tank clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More for the buck

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
btdt
from Missouri
Best price on the internet. Petco beats the competitors easily with their on-line prices.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fishluvr7
from CA
These filters are the best I've bought. They keep my aquarium nice and clean between water changes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland -- improved

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lettersandnumbers
from SW FL
I purchase Marineland Penguin Rite-Size filters in bulk and on sale to make them affordable. Last time I purchased was a couple years ago. Recent purchase shows an improved product. The filter fabric is more substantial now and the charcoal tends to stay in the filter (where it belongs). Thanks, Marineland! Now if they could just get the retail price down…
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland filter cartridges

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reefmanchad
from Marathon fl
I have been using Marineland products for over 20 years and have never been dissapointed.If you are a serious aquarium hobbist there is no better equiptment than theres.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrSmackDown
from MIAMI, FL
Keeps the tank very clean, highly recommended!! Marineland filters best out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Helderbeck
from Chicago,IL
We have been using these for just about a year now. They work great. I would recommend them to anyone. Just don't forget to change them regularly. That is very important.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great filter

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
tagey
from wpb fl
easy to set up- quiet- nice flow. we have a 15 gal and water moves all around the tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steveshop
from Rockville, MD
Easy to use and effective at cleaning the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Good

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
ShinAsuka
from Mars
I like this product because it make the tank crystal clear and maintain good health for my fishes. I would reccommend this product to anyone who willing to go and pick up one straight from the shelves rather order it. I think it work really well but the price is a little high.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filters for the price!

PostedJanuary 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Have to say I am completely happy with the bio-wheel filtration system! It does a great job for the price and the replaceable filter cartridges are a fair price as well. I have sometimes gone a bit longer with changing the cartridges and still have a crystal clear tank! My only caveat is that the cartridges aren't so readily available at local stores anymore. It looks like I will eventually have to buy a different filter system, unless I am able to continue buying these online at a good price (incl. shipping).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not fit

PostedOctober 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Penguin300
from missouri
The packages and information on Penguin filter cartridges on this website say that size C fits 330s and 300s, but I bought this six pack and the cartridges are too big for my 300. Maybe the single packs and 3 packs are different, but I doubt it. Just a warning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>