petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges

Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges

Ready-to-use filter cartridges for Penguin Power FiltersPre-assembled cartridges are packed with Black Diamond Pure Activated Carbon--works twice as fast and keeps working long after other carbons quitMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
28 out of 32(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Review 1 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best for less

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Akron, OH
Great price, fast shipping, buy in bulk saved me $$
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A carbon mess

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Package is always full of loose carbon which easily falls out of the box. - both when is is closed or open.
I do regret buying the filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready to Use Filter Cartridges

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, TX
These make changing the filter so easy. Just take out the old one, pop in a new one and your done.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from seattle, wa
Love the simplicity of these. Take out of the package, rinse and insert into filter. Works great. Much cheaper to buy online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not what I expected, but still a great product

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
I ordered the largest pack online & when I received it, a lot of the carbon was spilt all over the box. The cartridges work fine as they still had plenty of carbon in them, but I noticed the quality of the plastic that keeps carbon in was poor. I've bought them from the store before & they had been solid & firm. These ones were kind of flimsy & looked a little melted. The cartridges are working fine & doing they're job of keeping the tank crystal clear, so it's still a great product. I'd buy them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Carmichael, California
I have no choice, but to use these as they are the only ones that fit my filter. But I have no complaints. They work really well and are very simple to replace. Buy with confidence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great price for six Marineland Penguin A size filter

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bronx NY
it is less expensive to get the 6 in a box marineland penguin size A filter cartridge and Petco had a good price on it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filters

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St.Louis, Mo.
Price was excellent, shipping was fast and accurate
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish filters

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Valdez, Ak
These filters work good and I rinse them off every week or two and make them last longer than suggested. We have no pet store here so I am forced to do most of my shopping on line, as I can't get to Anchorage much. Not too many folks have tanks here, due to not having supplies close at hand. These filters hold up well and last for months, if kept cleaned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland is high quality for fish

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sioux City, Iowa
I only use Marineland filters they keep fish best!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to use

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Racine, WI
I change my Marineland Penguin Rite-size Ready to use Filter Cartridges approximately every two weeks in my 29 gallon tank. I just take it out of the package, rinse it off under running water and pop it in. Quick and easy. The filter keeps the water sparkling clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from bowling green, ky
Great product, would highly recommend to a friend and will continue purchasing in the future
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chiclids make a mess

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from RI
The product is a bit on the expensive side and I do go thru two filters a week. However I have an overstocked 55 gallon assorted chiclid tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento CA
A little expensive but is still a high quality product. Last a long time and is easy to wash off and reuse. Reusing the filter doesn't mean the carbon is still useful but it stretches the budget.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Stuck with these

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
If you own a Penguin your kind of stuck with these. They are very poorly made for the money. Low quality batting material with a little sprinkle of carbon in them. These things are way overpriced! I have found a few alternatives but there is just no getting around the fact the filter is cheap so that you will buy these things for the rest of your life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best filter

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from westerly ri
i try two other filter and they did'nt work.this is the the only filter that keeps my tank clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More for the buck

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
Best price on the internet. Petco beats the competitors easily with their on-line prices.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CA
These filters are the best I've bought. They keep my aquarium nice and clean between water changes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland -- improved

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from SW FL
I purchase Marineland Penguin Rite-Size filters in bulk and on sale to make them affordable. Last time I purchased was a couple years ago. Recent purchase shows an improved product. The filter fabric is more substantial now and the charcoal tends to stay in the filter (where it belongs). Thanks, Marineland! Now if they could just get the retail price down…
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Penguin Rite-Size Ready-To-Use Filter Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland filter cartridges

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Marathon fl
I have been using Marineland products for over 20 years and have never been dissapointed.If you are a serious aquarium hobbist there is no better equiptment than theres.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>