petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black

Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black

Ideal tool for housetraining puppies and new dogsSturdy wire construction for safetyRust-resistant black coating for durabilityLeak-proof removable pan for easy cleaningSingle front door with double latch for control and security as well as easy in and out accessIndoor dog kennels have a convenient handle on top to make moving from room to room easyFeatures an adjustable divider that enables the kennel to grow with your petWire dog kennels available in a variety of sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.136 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
16 out of 22(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Review 1 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

large dog cage

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
cincygirl
from cincinnati oh
had to get the large dog cage since the medium size plastic one was not large enough for my 6 month old puppy. apparently she grew larger that I thought in the time I've had her! large dog cage is strong enough for her to not break out and has that extra latch on the side to keep the door closed. this item only has one door so you have to position it so the dog can get in and out easily. easy to set up and place the new dog bed in as well. easier to clean than the standard metal base one I have for my other dog and it has some texture on the bottom as well so the rug doesn't slide out when she comes out too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not purchase the cage

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
bigpop87
from Richmond, VA
Purchased this cage on nye 2013, it's only been used for a month. Reason for purchase my APBT outgrew her puppy crate and purchased this one due to the price. You know the old saying you get what you pay for in less than a month the cage is twisted and mangled she's 60-70 lbs and you would think a dog twice her size resided in the cage. Spend your money on another crate that you use while you are out of the house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kennel up

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ajax23
from Aspen, CO
This kennel is sturdy and well made. The door latches might be a bit easier to operate, but on the up side there's no way your pooch is going to liberate itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everything promised

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
yabby
from Oklahoma
The crate is very easy to assemble once you find the tab that holds it closed. It's almost funny that the assembly instructions are inside but not quite. I have found that the medium size I need for when my puppy is grown is still too tall to make him comfortable even with the divider during crate training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Can't find replacement tray

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
BrunoMers
My 70-lb dog shredded the tray the first day and I can't find a replacement... this crate is 38x25 and I haven't been able to find anything but 36x23 to replace it. If your dog doesn't break trays, this crate might be ok for you.
After a few days of use, my dog has bent some of the wires on the lower part of the door. Waiting till he destroys it to upgrade.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wrong information

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
AAglitata
from Metuchen NJ
When I ordered this I ordered it because of the size. When I finally got it. It looked so small. It said that the size is 25 inches. It does not measure 25inches. I am so annoyed my poor dog has to stuck in there at night till I can get a new one delivered which is another 3-4 weeks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Giant Wire Kennel

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
ilmkids
from Greers Ferry, AR
This kennel is perfect for my 55 lb lap dog. ;) He has plenty of room to move around and I am able to put his food and water bowl in there , without getting the bedding wet. He loves it and goes right in, to eat or sleep. It is well made and with a few zip ties for security, it is just another piece of furniture in the house. Thanks Petco!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crate, Great price

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kasattack
from Brooklyn NY
I purchased this crate 2 years ago and loved it, after traveling with it for a year I decided to pick up another and couldn't be happier the double lock is perfect my dog can open a normal crate but not this one. The latches are curved at the end and provides extra security. The tray is removable and the crate folds easily,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and well priced

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brandisch
from Tacoma, Wa
I was worried being cheaper it wouldnt be as nice and sturdy as some of the others. It was larger than i was thinking it would be but was easy to set up, even the divider insert is easy, its easy to clean and I see it lasting untill my pup has grown into it plus some! Hes only 4 lbs right now but will get to 90 some day!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crate

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
dickk8
from San Diego
This is a sturdy crate, and the sale price is fantastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not strong enough

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
JAlva
from Houston, Tx
My 8 month old Australian Shepherd/Husky has pretty much destroyed it. She's bent the bars back far enough to squeeze through and escape. We came home, she greeted us at the front door and the kennel resembled the shark cage from the movie jaws! Prior to that we had to replace the plastic floor because she chewed into little pieces.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Wire Kennel

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
TaffysMom
from WV
My puppy and I like the new kennel very much. Was quite easy to assemble as most of it was just a matter of unfolding the mostly preassembled unit. This was good as all the instructions were located under all the wire sections. The outside of the box gives good information on picking the correct size kennel for when the dog is full grown. The packing slip on the outside of the box gives a toll free phone number and also an e-mail address if there are any questions. Great value, and a great place to shop online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for the long haul

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
NewDogMom
from NC
We ordered this cage online without seeing it in the store first. It is very lightweight metal and the entire frame is slightly twisted so it is difficult to slide the latches back and forth. There is the possibility that the frame was bent in shipping but I think it is just not that well made. While we like that it is lightweight, it just doesn't seem that well put together.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crate

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
MooshuMom
from Kissimmee, FL
I purchased this crate to crate train my new puppy Mooshu (shitz tzu). It arrived when promised and it was easy to set up. Two weeks later and crate training is going great. Mooshu loves his new house.
Great value!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog kennel

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
CrazyO
from Upstate NY
Great value when bought online. Very sturdy, well made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
chestermom
from georgia
The price and quality makes this wire crate a perfect match for my little lakeland terrier. I like to put him in at night but want good air circulation and this crate works great. Not to mention it keeps him in a secure place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong and easy to put together

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MetroDetroiter
from Metro Detroi
The kennel arrived and we put together in about 5 minutes. Super easy, yet well constructed.
We have a Doberman puppy that grew out of an old kennel. The door latches (2) are re-enforced with extra wire. Solid kennel.
Would like a rubber floor, but the plastic one works fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

rusty when received

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
beccaO
from North Chesterfield, VA
I was incredibly disappointed that the hinges were already rusty (the ad says it is rust resistant) and odd to work. Plus the instructions were encased IN the cage....so......um...we have a kennel to put together but can't get to the instructions!!! DUH!!!
Its also incredibly flimsy. Not worth the $$. I'll never buy again from Petco. Would love to be able to return, but already disposed of the box. We have fish, birds and now a puppy...will drive the extra 20 minutes to get to another store before we EVER go to petco again!.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crate

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
KRipple
from St. Louis
Sturdy, easy to assemble, easy to disassemble, easy to clean, comes with two handles although the crate we bought is so large it is awkward to try to carry through the house if it needs to be moved so I just take it down and put it back up, divider included for training, one crate for puppyhood to adult dog. Perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Training Retreat Wire Dog Kennel in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT KENNEL FOR LARGER DOGS

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kmartinez
from Oakdale, CA
We bought this Kennel for our boxer. He has been trained to sleep in it everynight. It is perfect. He has plenty of room to move around. His bed and water dish fit perfectly inside with him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>