petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator

Kills fleas, ticks, flea eggs & flea larvaeKills and repels mosquitoesStarts killing fleas and ticks in 15 minutesSafe for dogs over 6 months of ageWater resistant -- remains effective after swimming or exposure to rain
Average Customer Rating:
2.4 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
5 out of 15(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Review 1 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective and WATERPROOF

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
newtoNJ
from New Jersey
I was very glad to discover Adams for my Labrador Retriever. It is effective now that we're living in deer tick country, and it is waterproof. Labs are water dogs, so this is an important feature for us. Perhaps those who complain about the oil should shop for a product that doesn't claim to be waterproof. The breeds they cite don't strike me as swimmers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BIG WASTE OF MONEY! ZERO STARS!

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angelicav29
from Russellville, Al
I live where its humid, and i have to constantly buy flea medication, and I usually use K9 Advantage II , which works awesome, but i decided to try something a little cheaper which was this Adams, because i was now taking care of two dogs. well anyways it was horrible! It didn't work at all! with the k9 my dogs get relief within 30 min, and Adams, they didn't get any type of relief what so ever! it was so disappointing! i was trying to save money, and ended up having to pay more because i had to go buy my k9 after. PLEASE dont waste your money on this, go with k9, a bit more expensive, but it actually works!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No don't waist your money.

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ilovemypetssoshouldyou
from Missouri
I wouldn't pay a dollar for it if it was. I put it on my pomeranians and it left her fur all greasy and oily feeling. It has been a week and my dogs fur is still a little oily and I brush it all the time. My dogs are also still itching!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE PRODUCT!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
cp007
from Charlotte, NC
Returning my unused product! Ran down my dogs backs, left oily residue and takes forever to dry! Horrible product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away from this product

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
JeffKS
from Wichita, KS
I ran out of my regular monthly medicine and in a piinch I tried the Adams brand...what a mistake. I applied it yesterday and tonight I'm giving both of my dogs a bath. It left horrible, greasy patches on their coats that rubs off on furniture, hands and everything else. Do yourself a favor and stick with more well known brands.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disatisfied

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Disenchanted
from Memphis, TN.
The applicator is messy. Although it easily opens the product, it is difficult to handle. In trying to handle the applicator, the medicine is easily pressed out of the applicator due to the inability to handle it.
Also, the medicine does not work well. I placed it on my dog, after much frustration due to mechanics of the applicator, and a week later, my dog still is battling fleas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

greasy

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
teach19508
from b-town, PA
left a greasy patch on the dog for over a week. No fleas or ticks though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Stuff

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dogfashion
from Jacksonville, Florida
I tried this because of the cost.I found ticks where I had applied the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Help on a tight budget

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
lildreamerku
from Hermitage, Tn.
I am not exactly sure at this point that I care much for this product. This is why.....A vet that I used to take my pets to told me to use the Adams line of products to treat my home, pets, etc. I did for a while but switched back to Frontline and Advantix later. I now have a "Chorkie" (Chihuahua/Yorkie mix) and I noticed a few fleas on her belly one day and got to talking with neighbors about their dogs. It sounded like everyone around me had an infestation of them and were treating their pets and yards, so I figured it was time to do mine because I didn't want their repellants sending the bugs my way. I gave my furry friend a good bath and later (after drying completely) applied the "Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs". I honestly used Adams because it was available in a single dose, was cheaper, and it was a brand that was recommended by a (now retired) trusted veterinarian. To make a long story short, it is now 3 days later and my sweet little Chorkie now has so many fleas on her that when she rolls over and I touch her "belly button" they scatter. It has gone from a very few that I spotted while in the yard playing, to a very small dog, with tons of fleas that are now getting in my home. On a very tight budget, I was SOOOO trying to avoid the problem of them getting in my home and now I am looking at getting sprays, cedar chips, and oils for repellant and a Capstar for my dog, because I can't retreat the dog and don't want the kids or our dog getting 'eaten up'. UGH, fleas drive me crazy!!! If by some chance the product DOES start working in the next day or 2, I WILL update this with a new post, but as for now, I do NOT recommend this product because the fleas have not died or diminished, but have gotten many times worse than they were to begin with. Almost as if it attracts them which is NOT what I expected to spend money on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flee&Tick

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
VAGirl
from South Carolian
THe new applicator is really nice to uses. It opens and makes it very easy to apply to your pet without getting it all over our hands. The applicator seprates the hair to get right down to the skin. I have two dogs one with short the other long hair worked great on both.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
TARAMMOM
from MEIGS CO. TN
I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY LAB HE IS AN OUTSIDE DOG. HE WAS COVERED IN TICKS. I USED THIS AND IT KILLED THEM ALL. THEY ARE DRIED UP AND FALLING OFF.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Listened to my vet

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
nicknamenickname
from FL
Reviews on fleat products are really a hit and miss.
My vet explained to me when a dog is on a flea product for awhile you need to switch around to a different one for awhile to get best results. E.g. for about six months Frontline worked; then I had to switch to Advantage and now I am going on the Adams for awhile then will probably start the rotation over again. It's kind of like when people get immune to medication.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

mommiesboys

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
mommiesboys
from Sumter,SC
DID NOT work on our 2 miniature daschshunds. Price was very appealing (along with coupons). Switched to K9 Advantage II which lived up to promise of killing fleas within first 12 hours.....amazing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

So far review.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
KandKinTX
from Corpus Christi, TX
It's been 24 hours since we applied this to our 7 month old Boxer who have very few fleas but we wanted to get rid of the few that we saw. It's been 24 hours so far and he still has the 'few' fleas on him. I'm hoping this product starts to work I followed all instructions and brushed him 12-24 hours after application for further disbursement. I will write a follow-up review in a couple days so that I can inform others of its worth in this area and its contagion of fleas. Also, we live in an apartment and he hasn't been in contact with any other dogs since application.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adams Flea & Tick Spot On for Dogs with Smart Shield Applicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Flea & Tick product

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
rcriley02
from St. Charles, MO
I bought this to use on my 2 dogs. One is a beagle and the other a lab. We live out in the country and have a terrible problem with fleas and ticks. The dogs constantly have fleas & ticks because they run thru the fields around our house. With the early warm temps. the fleas & especially the ticks are already a problem here in March. This year I decided to try the Adams drops on the dogs.
I was shocked, it really did start working right away. By the next day, no fleas and the ticks that were on them dropped off. It worked just as well as the more expensive brands. This is the product I will be using on my pets this summer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.