petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver

Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver

Quick, clean, easy and odorlessA hygienic way to dispose of cat wasteBag dispenser cartridge can last up to 2 months per catDurable plastic constructionComes with a litter scoop, holder and refill
Average Customer Rating:
4.754 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
67 out of 69(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Review 1 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
dberg
from centuria, WI
I was tired of the smell, where to put the scooper and trying to find bags to put the waste in. The litter genie covers all those issues, I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent odor control

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
ScuttledCuttle
from Nashville, TN
Guests are amazed when I tell them what this thing is, just due to the lack of any odor, even when full. It's a bit cumbersome at times, and I do dislike the waste of the plastic cartridges, but using the Litter Genie is so much easier than anything else I've tried.
It's also not too unsightly and doesn't take up much room. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seals Odor Perfectly

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
AppleSky
from Pasadena, CA
Great idea and works very well as promised for effectively seals in odor. The only issue we encountered was we still use a large scoop that we've been using for years, and because the width of the scoop is same size as the lid, some dust and debris will fall over the place if not careful enough. We custom made a larger funnel-like opening and problem solved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's just ok

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phiney
from Naples, Florida
If you have more then 2 litter boxes or litter boxes in different rooms stick with the grocery bags, cause this isn't for you. I have 5 boxes in one room and one in the other. This just doesn't cut it. If it was made of stainless steel or maybe even a stronger type plastic and if it was on wheels and had a bigger mouth and a bigger holding capacity it would be fabulous. The concept is great, it just doesn't work for large amounts of clumped urine or #2. I cannot use it for the initial big scoop of the day because the capacity is just to small and it kind of falls apart when it gets heavy and you have to move it. But it is good for when one of the cats make a real stinkey one or you just happen to pass by and want to scoop cause you have a litter Genie.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GENIUS GENIE!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Princess4ever
from Parsippany NJ
I absolutely love the Litter Genie. I'm sure you're a bit sceptical about this product, but seriously, it doesn't smell up the house. It's as simple as tying a knot! I have 2 persians and I usually empty the genie once a week garbage night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
smg1
from rising sun, md
bought this and the clever cat litter box. Love them both! One keeps the litter in the box and off the floor, one makes it almost fun to clean the litter box out. No muss, no fuss. Clean, toss, pull the tab, and it's out of sight, out of mind unitl it's time to take the garbage out. My bathroom has been reclaimed by the 2 leggeds who are now happy to share with the 4 legged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

100% satisfaction!!!

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Orangekittylove
from Los Angeles
Let me start by saying that I was very skeptical about this Litter Genie because I used the Diaper Genie for babies and wasn't too impressed with the smell blockage. Well, I decided to try it anyway. YES! I love it... I still use the small poo bags to put the waste in first, then put it in the genie. I was using a small galvanized steal 6 gallon trash can with a locking lid to dispose of my litter. Every time I would open it to dispose of the litter, I got a smell that would permeate the room for at least an hour. Now, with the Litter Genie, NOTHING!!! I am so happy I got this. I just wish I hadn't waited 2 months after getting 2 new kittens! I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product that Works

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sophiethecat
from Fort Pierce
I had a friend buy the Genie who has a nose like a dog, can spell anything. Siad this worked. I have 3 cats,
so I bought one to try liked it so well bought another. Now I only have to take out litter once a week instead of every day. What an improvement. Highly recommend. I now have two. These work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the genie.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
EmiLou
from Westlake, OH
I love the genie because there's no odor in the bathroom where I have to keep the litter box. I can empty it once a week and take it out with the garbage.
.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!!

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BCHernandez
from Baton Rouge, LA
I have always had cats in my life...always used the grocery bags...hated that - holes in bags, had to walk outside every time I scoop to put in garbage can...the Litter Genie is PERFECT...it is right next to the litter box, easy to use...just use their scooper provided...change weekly or even longer (I only have one cat)...no smell, no grocery bags, no trails of litter or spillage from litter box to Genie...LOVE IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
mobilemarie
from Salt Lake City, UT
I have two cats and I used to use the plastic bags from the grocery store and went crazy trying to find bags without holes, with this that hassle is gone. I now only have to scoop and close. The ONLY problem I've had with it is that I can't use the cutter but I keep a pair of scissors close by. It's a great product, buy it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Try it...you'll love it!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
cll1764
from Granger, IN
I recently purchased this product with a slight bit of hesitance, feeling it was probably not going to meet my expectations. I have 3 cats, and 4 litter boxes. I try to scoop everyday, but admittedly, it can be less frequent. Previously I just used plastic grocery store bags to scoop and discard. But found that these type of bags often had holes in them that I wasn't aware of until the litter starting leaving trails in my home. It was just a messy way to scoop and discard their waste.
I put the new CatGenie next to the boxes and I simply love it. It eliminates multiple trips to my trash can, odor is gone from my basement and the litter trails are gone too. It was easy to set up and 1 bag takes almost a week to fill to the top. Very satisified with this product, definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Litter Genie - GREAT!

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
JeffB
from Indy
I read all the reviews before purchasing a Litter Genie. Most of the few complaints were about the directions and some were about the construction. When mine arrived, I noticed that the directions were indeed sparse ... but I also found them VERY easy to understand and considering the simplicity of the Genie, the instructions were plenty and easily understood by anyone. The materials used are just fine for their intended use. One rater said the upper entrance wasn't big enough. I suppose this could be true ... if you use a snow-shovel as a litter scoop! Use the scoop included! I still use a larger scoop that we've been using for years and it creates ZERO issues, so it can be done. For ease of operation, I do use a little more of the plastic than the 12" recommended, but the extra few inches simply make it easier to tie the knot for preparing the "bag" for use. We have 2 cats and the Genie has easily held everything for over a week's use. This is a very handy item. Time will tell if the construction holds up to years of use, but it sure looks good now! The Litter Genie is an excellent product that works as advertised
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BEWARE - Do NOT buy

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
hwyspike
from CA
Instructions were not clear as to assembly and tried calling their number and it is NO good! Belongs to somone else. Filter does NOT fit to where we can close the lid. and cannot contact anyone for help so would NOT reccommend to any one
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just fantastic!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
mrsklm
from Pasadena, MD
When we started using the diaper genie for our newborn 3 years ago, I was thinking, wouldn't it be awesome if they had such a thing for litter? Well, come to find out, they do! It works just as well as the diaper genie. Pet parents will be very pleased I'm sure. It's just brilliant!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LITTER GENIE

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
ALANA269
from Cleveland, Ohio
LOVE IT; NO MORE STINKY LITTER BOX. IT ALSO KEEPS THE WASTE CONTAINED AND THE DECANTER DOES N OT STINK EITHER. TRUST ME I HAVE FOUR CATS AND THEY GO TO THE BATHROOM A LOT; LOL; I WOULD SUGGEST THIS FOR EVERYONE. THE CONTAINER IS LARGER THAN I THOUGHT, BUT I WAS PLEASED IN THAT I HAVE MULTIPLE CATS. LUV IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Litter Genie

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Golpher
Just bought the item and it seems to satisfy the need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
nstarlight
from Hartford CT
I have three cats and the recommended four litter boxes, and was throwing out many many plastic bags of cat waste a week. One of the litter boxes is within the house, so, even though it's an automatic scooper, we could still smell it and I was changing the bag almost daily. The litter "locker" is amazing! It allows you to empty the litter tray in an automatic box or scoop a "passive" box daily. There is absolutely no smell, and we have reduced our plastic bag waste to less than a bag a week. There is virtually no contact with the litter or the waste, short of scooping or dumping the automatic trays into the bin.
Amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not exactly what I expected

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Olddlady
from Alpena, MI
The Genie is an attractive container & much better than the covered pail I was using. However, the "mouth" is too small. When the litter is put in, it often slips off & sits on the edge.
I am trying to be more careful in the process to avoid the dusty mess on the Genie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
beaglechaser
from Michigan
Fabulous!!! Living in an apartment that opens on to the lawn I sometimes just let my beagle outside to do his "business".
Before getting my genie, after picking up there was the long walk to the nearest dumpster to get rid of the package-not bad except during the winters we get here. With the Genie I can just pick up the mess, dispose of it by the apartment and not worry about the smell.
Because it doesn't get used constantly, it also takes weeks before it needs emptying.
I strongly recommend it for not just cats, but foe small/medium size apartment living dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>