petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System

Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System

Quick, clean, easy and odorless cat waste disposal systemA hygienic way to clean out your cat’s litter boxLitter Genie Pail features durable plastic constructionLitter Genie Plus comes with a litter scoop, scoop holder & refill bag dispenser cartridge that lasts up to 2 months per 1 cat
Average Customer Rating:
4.768 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 185 reviews
5 stars
156
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
179 out of 185(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Review 1 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter system yet

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicagoland
I purchased this cat litter system for our small space condo in Florida and it worked so well I purchased one for our home. After using a empty cat litter container, and opening the lid wrestling with the a garbage bag inside the box for years, I decided to try this. It does not smell as soon as you deposit the waste into the bottom, and does last up to a week before needing to change the bag. The scoop and scoop holder is connected to the side, and very convenient for use and storage. At first it may be a little awkward setting it up, with the disposable liners, but when you have it in place, it works great! Buy this you won't be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
Works like it says. Saves from having to take the waste out to the trash everyday. I have used mine for right at a week now and no odor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Happy So Far

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Riva, MD
So many reviewers received this product for free, so I was skeptical about their positive reviews. I bought one anyway and so far, after one week, I am very happy. I do not have a convenient out of the way spot for the litter box, and the Genie has pretty much eliminated 90% of the odor. My only complaint is the price of the refills. I have two cats (and they do tend to fill the box frequently) so I anticipate going thru bags pretty quickly and if that winds up being the case, I will be back in about a month to add another review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is convenient

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
This reminds me of the Diaper Genie I had for my babies so I decided to try the pet version. I'm very happy with my purchase. It keeps odors hidden away and I don't have to dump the pail out every 2 days. I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
Because Litter Locker II is no longer available in the U.S., I purchased Litter Genie Plus. It's sturdier than the Litter Locker. Both are effective at containing litter smells and very easy to use. I'd definitely recommend it whether you have one or multiple cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best invention for cat litter disposal

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boca Raton, FL
My new kittens use the clumping litter and go often. I was afraid that scooping into the toilet would clog the plumbing and there is no way the smelly waste could go into the household trash can. This litter genie is the best invention ever! I keep it next to their box and there is no smell in that area and no more waste disposal problem. Everyone that has multiple cats should get this device.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Odor-Free Litter Disposal System

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southern California
Why did I wait so long to get this? I guess I thought it was too good to be true, but it isn't! It works quite effectively and holds 2-weeks worth of litter from one cat before needing to be changed--odor free! With many communities banning plastic shopping bags these days, this is the answer to pet owners' litter disposal needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convenient!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Compact & convenient! I didn't realized how annoying it was to run to the outside trash every day until I had the convenience of this little miracle. Smells stay inside and are only mild once completely emptied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genie Really Works

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Central Arkansas
I was not convinced this product would work. But I was pleasantly surprised to see it really does! There really is no odor. I can get about 2 days of two cats usage into the bag before I have to remove it.
Removing the filled bag is a little awkward for me. I guess I just need more practice. There seem to be no cleaning issues for me either. I wipe down the inside top occasionally when I miss the big hole in the middle.
I will be using this product regularly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oak Creek
This is a great product, it seals in odors and is great for apartments. I have 3 cats and 1 refill lasts for about a month (give or take) I love the litter genie
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is great! Waste is hidden, smell is minimal. I have two kitties and cut off the bag a couple times a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

100% Odor eliminator

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tampa
Love this product! I was so tired of trying to find my garbage bags for my cats waste and they always smelled. I had to make a trip out to the garbage can to get rid of the smell. This product totaly eliminates the odor and is so convient to use. I have given several to other cat owners and they all love them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, But Too Small

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rockville, MD
PROs: Does an excellent job containing any odor.
CONs: (1) The unit also needs to be available in a larger size/capacity, i.e., need a larger size receptacle for multi-cat households, and (2) need larger bags that would work in those units (the standard refill would need to be replaced too often), and (3) the opening at the top needs to be larger (wider and/or deeper) as it is difficult to empty scoops of gummy, soiled litter into the "funnel" without some spilling out onto the floor, and (4) the bag refills are expensive.
I have three cats and this size unit fills up much too quickly.
Additionally, (5) the unit I purchased has a problem in that the bottom part of the unit falls open (the locking mechanism doesn't work well, especially when a full or partially full bag of soiled litter is in it) when the unit is picked up to be moved from one location to another. I tested other (new) units in the store, and the majority of them seem to have the same problem when I simulated the weight of a partially full/full litter bag by putting downward pressure with my hand on the lower (container) part of the unit. The latch is plastic and does not exert enough pressure to keep the locking nub engaged when something heavy (as in soiled litter) is in the bag lining the container.
OVERALL: The standard size unit would be very adequate for a single or two-cat household, but is inadequate for a multi-cat household of three or more cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Keeps the smell 100% away. Way better than using grocery bags. Make sure you have extra liners.. you'll go through the bags quick!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea, cheap product.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Truckee, CA
I bought one of these as I have several cats that require frequent litter box cleanings. The lid broke off its hinge within a month. The liner bags are thin and cheap. Also there is supposed to be a black line indicating when you are about to run out of liner bag from the cartridge. Well not always. This means that you think you have a knotted bag still attached to the cartridge but you find out you don't when you open the Litter Genie when it is full. You find the bottom of the Genie filled with feces and poo and a squashed bag. A total stinky yucky mess! Really a great idea but cheaply made and the cartridges are very expensive.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Litter Genie Rocks!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Klamath Falls, OR
I love the litter Genie. It is so convenient to be able to dispose of kitty poo fast. You put the poo in and pull the handle and it goes down into the bag. Then it closes back up and seals so you don't have any foul odors! I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does exactly what it should

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from minneapolis MN
I keep this right next to my litter box and its super easy to just scoop and dump wastes at the same time I feed every day. Controls odors and only has to be changed every month or month and a half for one juvenile cat. No complaints, good value especially for the ease of use. refills seem expensive but they last a LONG time. Would buy another if i ever needed it but I don't think the one I have will ever break.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bergen County, NJ
I thought that this might be a time saver.. wondered thought it was really going to contain the smell. Anyone that has ever come into my house has never known that I have a cat b/c they cannot 'smell' it - and I like to keep it that way. Everyday the waste goes into a bag and out the door - if you own a cat, you know that potty time can be smelly :-P I wanted to try this 'new technology' of the Litter Genie - IT WORKS! I love it!! That's all I can say - I used it for between one and two weeks w/out having to empty it - no odor - none! So it works plus it's a time saver - AWESOME!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Litter Genie

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from michigan
This is actually a great idea and assists in the litter box cleaning process quite nicely. However the 'bagging' system could be better designed. It's awkward to set up and to remove. But overall, the system does seem to cut down on odor and provide a help to keeping the litter box clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Litter Genie Plus Cat Litter Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convenient and Easy

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
This has made such a difference with litterbox cleaning. I got this to use with the Omega Paw n Roll litter box and I'm very pleased with it. I used to use old grocery bags or small trash bags when doing daily litterbox cleaning and then have to hall it out to the outside trashcan because of the smell. Then my cat started urinating half in and half outside the box which was another issue. Once I got this, clean up was a breeze. I now clean her litterbox twice a day and she no longer pees outside the box. Big plus is, I only have to take out "her trash" bag to the garbage can every two weeks. Life is good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>