petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand

Designed to support 29 gallon aquariums or terrariums Handsome wood fish tank stand with dark brown finishSpacious cabinet with shelf and two sliding doors for discreet storageElegant aquarium furniture showcases your freshwater or saltwater setupAssembles in minutes - instructions included
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
12 out of 18(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Review 1 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Construction

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vic29
from MD
I was very surprised and pleased that the entire product was solid wood (no filler products). Assembly was easy and only took a few minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stand

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
buddylovers
from Hoover al
I ordered this stand after looking at many in stores and on-line. Quality was far better than most I have seen-solid wood vs. pressed wood/particle board etc. Assembled by myself in less than an hour from the time I opened the box. Looks like a nice piece of furniture-have had co-workers say they would like one for their home. Price reasonable for quality of product! Quick shipping
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, fast shipment, reasonable price.

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
groovysun2001
from Georgia, U.S.A.
Just purchased this stand for my mouse tank. It is true to the picture; a very dark brown sort of rustic finish. The assembly was ridiculously simple. By far the easiest assemble yourself product I have ever put together. Took me about half hour to do while watching T.V. True measurements and solid construction. The storage underneath is great for all his wheels, food and bedding supplies. Petco had it to me in 2 days. Wonderful shipping department! Only thing I would change are the handles which are kind of tacky, but I could tell that from the pics anyhow. Definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING QUALITY, GREAT VALUE, EASY TO CONSTRUCT

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
GSaint
from Louisville, KY
After reading the other reviews, I was very apprehensive about purchasing this aquarium stand. I received the package two days after ordering, and was impressed how well packaged it was. I never opened the instructions, and set-up took less than twenty minutes. It is made of solid wood (not pressboard like many other pieces of furniture), and looks amazing. There are a grand total of eight bolts to install, and only 9 pieces to the stand (including two doors in front, two panels in the back and a shelf with support pins). It is extremely sturdy, and absolutely beautiful in our living room.
I cannot understand why others were having problems putting this together or having sturdiness issues. I would have gladly paid much more knowing the quality of this product. I would recommend it to family and friends, and assure you that the only things you need to know about construction in order to assemble this is how to hold a hex key (Allen wrench), and "righty-tighty".
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very poorly made

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
tersermomof2
from Los Angeles
Horrible stand, nothing lined up. Back panels too big that they had to be cut and shaved down. Shelf was damaged. If it wasn't for my husband who has tools to fix I would have taken it back for a full refund. I still don't think i should have paid 109.00 for it and have to modify it to make it work. This will be the last piece of furniture we ever buy from petco
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wobbles

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
fishfriend1
from Phoenix Arizona
After receiving this stand with a 29 gallon tank for X-mas we were excited to set it up. It matches our decor nicely and was reasonably priced. Our excitement turned to dissapointment when we noticed that the front doors do not slide easily, the interior shelf does not fit snug and the cabinet itself wobbles from side to side. I would say that this cabinet is unsafe if you have young children as it appears top heavy and may tip (Not a chance we are willing to take with toddlers in the house). We plan to return the stand tomorrow for a better model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Packaged, Excellent Value

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnTheReviewer
from Boston
I was concerned with the wood being damaged during delivery, but the item was well packaged. the wood was packed with protection for each piece, then 4 one inch thick cardboard corners suspended all pieces in the middle of the container.
The piece looks very nice and very easy to put together. Only complaint I have is that the doors do not slide quite as smoothly as I would like. The shelf inside is only about 10" deep as the measurements are only for the table top. It appears to be sufficiently sturdy. One advice I do have is that you put the doors in when you assemble the sides, before you put the screws in place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice but wobbles

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnCK
from Arlington, VA
While visually appealing, the stand is not particularly stable without additional reinforcement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks nice

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
tigshop
from Houston, TX
Looks like a nice piece of furniture, blended in with my living room furniture much better than those standard issue metal stands. I only had one disappointment, there were no holes in the back as mentioned in the description for airlines, cords, etc. This was easily remedied by my husband, however and it still looks better & costs less than a lot of options out there (including making your own).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Madcowpaul
from SW Corner of Minnesota
This stand was a breeze to put together! It took about 15 minutes to get done. It is beautiful and sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would recommend this product

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gulietta
from Ozark Region in Missouri
This aquarium stand is a piece of furniture that is well made. I have gotten so many compliments on finding something this nice to put a fish tank on, when I tell them that it IS an aquarium stand, they are incredulous. The only problem I had in putting this together is that the sides were labeled in reverse so I had to redo a few of the beginning steps over again. It holds ALL my equipment nicely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than what most people think

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jay4321
from yonkers
the stand is awesome. looks great, surface is smooth, and easy to assemble. took about 15 minutes to put it all together. highly recommend this stand!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is easy to assemble

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DiMarco
This product was very simple to assemble, took less than 30 minutes. It's perfect for a 29 gallon aquarium. Althought it doesn't have as much storage room as I was hoping it's works great for out turtle supplies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If your a carpenter.... or PE

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Triton
from Lafayette, CA
If your a carpenter and have a full arsenal of tools... or a professional civil engineer... this is an ok purchase. I had to sand, shape and rework the wood to slide, fit and generally just work. I was not about to return it but I put a full day into making it acceptable. Previous reviews are correct in that the directions are incorrect. If you want a plug and play... do not purchase. If you do not mind "modifying", it is all hardwood at a good price comparatively speaking. I am happy with my end product but I could have built my own from scratch with the same time and effort that would have been of much higher quality. Unbelievably bad construction. Bottom line pull from the product line.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't Bother

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvmyFurBabies03
I put this together today and it was all wrong. I couldn't get one of the back panels in because it was too wide for the space left. After all was said and done it wobbles, which is not ideal when placing a large fish tank on top, and one of the doors doesn't fit quite right. The door has about a 1/2 inch space in the corner. Unfortunately I live too far away from a Petco to return it, but I can save someone else the trouble.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As advertised

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
gbste
from Lamar, CO
The stand arrived quickly and was easy enough to put together. Two parts were marked backwards, but once I figured that out the directions were easy to follow. The stand is sturdy, looks nice, and is just the right size for the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad construction

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yoshi89
from Elmhurst,NY
The product came fairly quick but whoever made it was in a hurry because the hole where the screw goes in the bottom was half a inch too high and one side is now crooked. It still works great for what i need it but i wouldn't buy it again. This product had potential.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Kingston 29 Gallon Wood Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stand

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casa
from Northern NJ
Easy to assemble stand. Looks great and seems sturdy. It's made of real wood not dense fiberboard. It has a removable shelf and the sliding doors pop out for full access to the interior. There is no annoying center brace either so you have access to the entire length of the interior which is a little over 24 inches. My only gripe is that the interior is only about 8 inches deep which limits sump options but it should accommodate most canisters with the shelf removed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.