petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies

Kills fleas, ticks and chewing liceEasy-to-use topical applicationFast-acting, waterproof formulaContains Fipronil, the same active ingredient in FRONTLINE (R) Top Spot
Average Customer Rating:
4.668 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(651 Reviews) 651
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 651 reviews
5 stars
519
4 stars
97
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
24
622 out of 645(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Review 1 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This Product Works

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scozie
from Indianapolis, IN
This product works well and for the price, is the most economical choice. The only thing I noticed was that it left a white film when it dried and it flaked off a bit. At first I thought it was dandruff, but I noticed both of our dogs had the same film where the product was applied. They don't seem to mind it. I haven't noticed any irritation. We applied this product about a week ago. I am hoping it performs as well as I expect. So far, so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
717LOVEMYDOG
from Lebanon, PA
I used this on my 8yr old yorkie I was scared at first and to my shock there was no bad reactions at all! I was so glad and she is fine and healthy! Will be using this again and again and alot cheaper than frontline. My other dog had an allergic reaction to frontline so that is why I shied away from frontline.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Economical

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kahlua
from Englewood, fl
Pet Armor has the same ingredients as Frontline, but for less cost. Easy to apply, lasts for at least a couple of months for fleas, one month for ticks.
The manufacturer was very helpful when I called them on the 'phone with a question relating to the application.
Great product and customer service
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

North Vs. South: PetArmor

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
doyouwannagotothestore
from Loganville, GA
As I read the customer reviews I noticed all the positive reviews came from people in the north-east part of the US. The negative reviews came mainly from the south (Arkansas, Virginia and below) where, as I am sure you will agree, we have fleas that give whole new meaning to survival of the fittest. I tried PetArmor this summer and I don't think it killed the first egg, larve, or flea on any of my 3 dogs. The active ingredient compares to Frontline which I have been told by my vet that fleas can become immune to if every dog around is on the same thing. I have always used Advantix which is great but pricey. Last year I did buy Adams flea control and I found that it was fine. All dogs are different though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Location, location, location

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
caseysjs
from Arkansas
I have read some of the negative reviews on this product and have some suggestions. Most negatives were from Florida, where they have had lots of rain. Maybe if the parents treated the yards, then bathed the dogs and added flea protection, it would work better for them. My vet has told me too that some products that work here will not work in other states (same with heartworm meds). It is just a "trial and error" deal depending on where you live. I used this product and does just fine. Wish they had it in Plus like Frontline, but understand that there is a legal issue involved at the moment with that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love PetArmor

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
LouLou50
from Philadelphia PA
This product works great. I don't have to worry about fleas anymore, Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product works great if used properly

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yoschon
from NY
I have read some of the bad reviews and it's clear that these customers aren't using the product correctly. If you already have a flea infestation, you need a product that kills eggs. If your pet doesn't have an infestation, you should be perfectly fine with this product. I've been using it for a year religiously on my yo-shons and they have been perfect. Great product for less. Can't beat that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ticks hate PetArmor

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
thankful16
from East Lansing, MI
Ticks are horrible up north this year! On a different preventative, I was picking ticks off my golden retriever for hours every up north weekend. Eww! I switched to PetArmor in June. I still find a few ticks, but not nearly as many and they don't seem to be attaching. We're very happy:) Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - Great Price

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from West Palm Beach, FL
Been using this product for over a year. Use every month so the fleas won't nest, works great. AND I love the price, saves me a bunch since I switched from Frontline.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money and a epic let down

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doggiemom1
from Little Rock, AR
I was recommended this product after my Advantix 2 stopped effectively shielding my indoor dog from fleas. The employees of a local petco store recommended PetArmor and compared its active ingredients to Frontline plus. I used two installments of this product and it was as though my dog wore a badge saying “fleas inhabit here.”While on these drops my dog experienced the worst flea infestation of her life. As a parent I sat back powerlessly to stop her agony and incessant scratching. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND this product to anyone!!! The affordable pricing is attractive given the cost of other leading flea and tick treatments.. However, you will pay much more in vet bills and deworming after your dog swallows a host of fleas that are tormenting them. PetArmor was a major disappointment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product needs to be taken OFF the shelves !!!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dstyle
from Kissimmee, Florida
I purchased this Pet Armour thinking that i would save a little money. Boy was i wrong ! I can't even say that you get what you paid for . I got nothing ! I will go back to Advantage , happily .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Greatly Disappointed

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
FleaWarrior
from Hampton Roads, VA
Not only has it not worked, the flea population exploded only a few days after administering.The directions say that you might see more fleas on the back but only because the medication is making them excited....come on not after a week! This stuff is garbage. I should have seen the negative reviews on the internet before I bought this. Have used other brands with better results.Also didn't notice initially but this brand does not kill flea eggs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
lm2005
from Cocoa Fl
It doesnt work....purchase a 3 pk, on the second dose and has not worked at all. Do not buy this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Preventative!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
AliciaPETCO
from San Diego, CA
I have been alternating between the advtange and frontline plus for the last couple years....and the PetArmour is just as effective at Flea and Tick prevention as the original. The key is prevention! we have not any need fleas pop up since giving this new brand a try!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PETARMOR Topical Flea & Tick Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvmydakl
from Sarasota, FL
I have 3 dogs, two large and one small, bought 2 packages of Petarmor in hopes of killing the fleas, put it on two times, one time the first week I got it after their bath, nothing happened. I reapplied it another time a week later and we still have fleas. It seems like a deal, but don't waste your money. I am now going to have to spend double to get the drops that work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
21of 36voted this as helpful.